KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Daily Press

Is this your company?

Daily Press

Add a Review

Daily Press Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 23 reviews

3.0
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Daily Press Interim General Manager Par Ridder (no image)
Par Ridder
0 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Over 20 years of experience with the Daily Press.

    Jan 7, 2021 - Senior Executive Secretary in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my job and there was/is an excellent group of co-workers.

    Cons

    There has been no stability or security for employees for a number of years.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Used to be a great place to work

    Sep 10, 2020 - Editor in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people I worked with were great

    Cons

    Working for Tribune is not so great.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Expect employees to more and more....but give them less and less.....

    Feb 27, 2019 - Pagination Coordinator in Victorville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff to work with! Everyone realizes they are all in the same boat and make the best of it.

    Cons

    Management should treat employees as THEY would like to be treated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Daily Press Response

    Talent Engagement Manager

    Thank you for your review and service. Our management team believes all our employees, at all levels of the organization, are vitally important to our continued success.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Rewarding experience

    Nov 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Open workspace; friendly co-workers; extremely efficient.

    Cons

    Management could sometimes be intimidating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    sales mgr

    Mar 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people - non managers - they work hard and care - had a good VP but ran her off

    Cons

    drama, constant cuts, focusing on things that dont really matter - protecting poor performers

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Daily Press Response

    Talent Engagement Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you acknowledging the hard work of your colleagues. The Daily Press is in the midst of an ongoing transformation as we respond to changes in our rapidly changing industry; however, we remain committed to our mission and are strategically working to increase innovation, leverage technology and maximize our powerful, award-winning content. Our business leaders continue to partner with Human Resources to ensure we attract, reward and retain high-performing talent.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good opportunity

    Oct 30, 2017 - Writer/Editor in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's always interesting being in a news-gathering environment. Most of the people are friendly and committed to their jobs. Marisa is incredibly committed to "watchdog" journalism and is an incredibly understanding publisher. Being in City Center is fun -- lots going on in the neighborhood.

    Cons

    The hours are long and nobody's getting absurdly rich, but that's just the entire industry. Because it's a lot of trial and error with products, sometimes roles switch quickly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Doing important work

    Oct 24, 2017 - Editor in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Times are tough for news organizations, but this place is fighting the good fight. The Daily Press still engages in serious journalism that makes a difference. Sounds corny, but it's true -- and something to be proud of. High achievers here are rewarded with roles of increasing responsibility and opportunities to stretch their wings.

    Cons

    The hours are bad, and nobody's getting rich. But what did you expect? You're looking for a job in a newsroom.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to work!

    Sep 7, 2017 - Sales Representative in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Up to date training programs Solid benefits - can anyone say "unlimited time off"? Pleasant co-workers Perks - who doesn't like Friday's at Four?

    Cons

    Typical corporate cons, i.e. less people do more work, increased time between raises, etc. but this is happening everywhere.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a happy place

    Mar 14, 2017 - Advertising in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent people Nice office Benefits are ok

    Cons

    Inexperienced Publisher, constant shuffling of sales managers, and low pay make this a challenging place to work in sales. The newspaper industry is in decline which makes it hard but the internal politics and other distractions do not help. In just the last year the VP of Advertising was replaced and several sales managers have left or been forced to leave. There is no consistency in leadership in the sales department. Anyone who is good at their jobs have left or are planning to leave.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Awful experience

    Feb 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Newport News, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some very good people that work here who are passionate about the newspaper and care about the community.

    Cons

    The toxic work environment is created from the top down. Their has been no consistency in sales management for years and that continues to be the case. The sales department has been treated as second rate employees for years under past and current management. Constant drama from corporate was a huge distraction and has been for years but has been increased with the change to tronc leadership. Salespeople are underpaid and it is hard to earn a living. Even good reps struggle to make ends meet. If you absolutely need a job then okay, but don't leave a decent one to work here.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Daily Press Response

    Talent Engagement Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. As a company we strive to create a dynamic environment where all employees can take pride in their work, collaborate with others to meet their shared objectives and be accountable for results. To that end, we have changed the commission structure to more closely tie an employee’s commission to the revenue he/she brings into the organization, allowing an employee to earn commission on every dollar they bring into the organization. We have made critical investments in digital sales training and certifications for all our sellers across the company to not only help us better retain our talent, but become an employer of choice.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Work at Daily Press? Share Your Experiences

Daily Press logo
or