Daimler Trucks North America Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor

Daimler Trucks North America Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Decent benefits - Depending on manager very flexible work/life balance - WFH days

    Cons

    - policies not always consistent across all teams - salaries lag behind industry standard

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-05-05
  2. "Working for Freightliner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Truck Assembler in Cleveland, NC

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really liked working for Daimler the pay is good, benefits are good

    Cons

    Job can be physically challenging depending on which job you are assigned. Usually you're are required to do a 2 persons job alone. They lay off every 1 to 2 years. I really hate this last lay off was done sloppy. There were no TAA benefits or severance pay for this layoff like they did for the last layoff

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-17
  3. "Awesome experience and great people to work with !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America

    Pros

    great pay and good benefits!

    Cons

    don’t have any cons. everything was great

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-14
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, insurance, time off, pay

    Cons

    Management doesn’t promote people that deserve it.

    Advice to Management

    Promote those that deserve it.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company, Challenging Org. Structure & Business Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many pros to working at DTNA. Total Compensation is good, they pay fairly, have a bonus structure (based on Company performance, which is cyclical), 401K match is good, but has a 5 year vesting period, and the PTO is 20 days with a required 4 day use at the July 4th Shutdown. The Company also shuts down during the Christmas Holiday so you have a week or more paid time off. That is truly amazing. The... people I worked with work great.

    Show More

    Cons

    I was in the HR organization, and I would say the leadership was hit/miss. There were a lot of initiatives rolled out, but they seemed to fall off over time and just fade away. The other con is that this is a subsidiary of Daimler AG, and they follow a lot of the German hierarchy structure. This to me was the biggest negative as moving into a Director role (E3 as they're called) was near impossible unless you... had tenure. While there are opportunities to advance your career, it is more lateral versus upwards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your High Potentials and engage them. When we rolled out the strength assessment there was minimal follow up with the HiPo's, which I heard a lot of negative feedback on. If you're going to roll out these type of tools, act on it and keep the talented people there.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-09-30
  6. "Fire fighting, with no real plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ... not many, vacation right up front

    Cons

    Too many to count .. .

    Advice to Management

    Ey have ancient manufacturing equipment, they do not have plans to replace so are hugely surprised when things bread...

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-10-17
  7. "Overall, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible benefits (401k and vacation are especially good)

    Cons

    Substandard salary Impossible to get promoted without applying to a different internal position, usually on a different team and with different responsibilities

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-08-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Just don’t."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America

    Pros

    Great vacation and 401k package.

    Cons

    Management will either make or break you. 90 percent of the organization has never worked for any other company, therefore very little outside perspective. Want to be innovative but move at super slow speed.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-08-31
  9. "Summer Help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Help in Mount Holly, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daimler Trucks North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great for student summer jobs

    Cons

    management is poor in communication

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-07-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Very difficult work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daimler Trucks North America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good vacation time, good chances for lateral moves

    Cons

    Very large gap between management and ground level employees, over-reliance on contractors, bad history of racial and sexual harassment

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason your great places to work survey has ~60% dissatisfied.

    Daimler Trucks North America2019-08-30
Found 383 reviews