KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Daimler Trucks North America

Part of Daimler
Is this your company?

Daimler Trucks North America

Add a Review

Daimler Trucks North America Employee Reviews about "lay offs"

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 639 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Daimler Trucks North America President and CEO Roger Nielsen
Roger Nielsen
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, good culture, nice building(in 49 reviews)

  • "Good pay, great benefits, recognition for doing a good job(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lay offs, unstable, sometimes to fast of pace(in 12 reviews)

  • "Portland traffic was often a challenge(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Daimler Trucks North America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "lay offs"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A good place to work

      Jan 22, 2017 - Truck Assembler in Mount Holly, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, friendly coworkers, paid lunch, paid holidays and overtime

      Cons

      Lay offs, unstable, sometimes to fast of pace

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good gig

      May 15, 2020 - Pressline Operator in Gastonia, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, good hours, great benefits

      Cons

      Seniority based company Multiple lay offs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Not just a job.. a life long CAREER.

      Dec 26, 2016 - Senior Painter/Team Leader in Mount Holly, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was hired on at the Freightliner, (Mt.Holly, NC) plant in 1987. I dedicated 27 years to working for Freightliner. I spent the majority of those 27 years in the "off-line", paint department as a team leader. Worked 1st, 2nd and 3rd shift. Mainly 1st. I loved my job. As hectic and stressful the job may have been at times.. I very much enjoyed it. I made excellent money, considering I had no college education, (at that time), and was fresh out of the military when I started. Of course, seniority is key when it comes to pay and moving up the job ladder. I was able to provide a good life for my family, that was of course with 20+ hours of overtime every week for 8+ of those last few years. With no college, and about 10 years under my belt, I was averaging (bringing home after taxes) around $120,000 a year.

      Cons

      Of the 27 years I put in at Daimler/Freightliner, I was laid off 3 times. 2 of those lay offs were relatively longer and hard hitting. I was lucky that I worked in a skilled labor position, lucky that not just anyone could do my job as a painter. So, typically skilled labor jobs are called back faster. Daimler definitely needs to stop over-hiring when the demand is solid. That way when demand is at a lower rate, there isn't a need to lay off so many people. I, many times only felt like a "number" to corporate. Layoffs are financially devastating to families. But to corporate, laying off is easy when they are the ones that get to keep their jobs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Intern, more than 10 years

      Good place to work

      Jan 9, 2016 - Anonymous in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of opportunities for those who want to move forward. Flexible work schedules for non-union employees. Some visual metrics that help steer the direction for the better. Good benefits. Paid Holidays Christmas to New years off paid.

      Cons

      Often times to keep your position you may have to relocate. Shutdowns, and lay-offs are almost certain for union employees. Sometimes quantity gets in the way of quality.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Assembler

      Sep 15, 2016 - Truck Assembler in Cleveland, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits when working. Fast paced work. Feel pride at the site of finished products driving down the road.

      Cons

      Lay offs are frequent. I'm heading into my seventh lay off from this employer in less than 14 years. Basically, you will rotate between working at least 50 hours a week (often more) and getting laid off; sometimes just long enough to start job searching, others may be for years.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Assembler, Material Handler

      Sep 7, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits, insurance, etc...

      Cons

      Lay-offs every 3 to 4 years.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good and Bad!

      Mar 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Shelby, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job to work at. Very laid back atmosphere. Great pay, great benefits.

      Cons

      So not a place to try to build your life off of. No stability! Lay Offs! So not cool! Besides that its a great job. BUT NO STABILITY!!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good money, easy job, no job security.

      Dec 9, 2014 - Pre Delivery Inspection Tech in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Money, easy work, decent hours. Union jobs if your into that sort of thing.

      Cons

      Union job doesn't matter how hard you work when it comes to lay offs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Truck assembler

      Jun 3, 2016 - Truck Assembler in Cleveland, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good paid time off such as vacation, pto, sick and okay money

      Cons

      Too many lay offs, they use you till they get what they what then kick you to the side when there done .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Material handler

      Feb 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Gastonia, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Lay offs , bad for family

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Daimler Trucks North America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Daimler Trucks North America? Share Your Experiences

    or