Dallas County Community College District Reviews | Glassdoor

Dallas County Community College District Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Dallas County Community College District CEO Joe D. May (no image)
Joe D. May
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits, including vacation time during the holidays and spring break off(in 6 reviews)

  • "Teaching can be very rewarding and provides a flexible schedule(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't offer full time jobs(in 6 reviews)

  • "Part-time, not many classes available for pick up(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Success at SBDC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive work environment, good salaries and benefits, chance to help business owners to achieve great success.

    Cons

    Micro-management, bureaucratic organization, weighed down by excessive regula- tions.

    Advice to Management

    Wherever possible, work to reduce bureaucratic procedures and give employees more authority to carry out their responsibilities.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-08-16
  2. "Worked with all the computer faculty and students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Instructional Associate in Dallas, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like the setting, being around all the college students with all that energy and everybody likes you because you help them.

    Cons

    my only con was one day i worked till 10:00 pm and then i might have to be there at 6:30 the next morning. My schedule would change without notice.

    Advice to Management

    They created that position for me and I did not know a thing about it. 2 weeks before Christmas my boss gave me all the teachers assignments and let me work at home . I studied and learned at 5 assignments before I would leave my house. It worked and when I went back to work I could help the students. I took all kinds of classes and got my certificates. It was a win win situation.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-10-14
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Dallas County Community College District part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good software! A lot of support.

    Cons

    Prefer fulltime and online opportunities.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-08-29
  4. "Love Dallas County College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Faculty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dallas County Community College District part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of training, students, helpful professors, environment

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great training!

    Dallas County Community College District2019-07-25
  5. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Professional Development in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyable work. Great people. Great purpose.

    Cons

    Office politics among some top leaders.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-06-25
  6. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Support Specialist III in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Insurance is covered by the district ( For yourself) - Full time employees can take College courses for free - Various training opportunities

    Cons

    - Tittle/ Job functions can be murky. There isn't a universal standard for duties being performed.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-06-07
  7. "My time at the district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a great mission

    Cons

    Mission is sometime lost in the business operations

    Dallas County Community College District2019-06-07
  8. "DCCCD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    communication could be better from upper management.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-06-18
  9. "Careers in education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Librarian in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dallas County Community College District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Student and labor market focused education

    Cons

    The Top administrator management heavy.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-06-12
  10. "Slow to change, but changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dallas County Community College District part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Area community college district with vast industry and local partnerships, in addition to strong tax base, high enrollment and student success rates. As a part-time student employee, you're getting work that helps pay the bills - nothing more.

    Cons

    Hourly pay should be more.

    Advice to Management

    If you get paid a lot to do what you do, or if you don't, take time to listen to what students have to say.

    Dallas County Community College District2019-05-08
Found 99 reviews