Dan Klores Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Dan Klores Communications Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Sean F Cassidy
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Is it a place that values people, creativity entrepreneurship, and hard work(in 9 reviews)

  • "Exposure to great clients, a lot of people who want to help you learn and grow, often an expedited path to Account Executive(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The last year has presented difficult business challenges and DKC has had to be efficient and make some hard business decisions(in 19 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of support in some departments, overactive account loads, not much encouragement from upper management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Clients, Incredible Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The portfolio of clients is incredible. There's so much to learn here, and I feel part of a team that delivers for our clients.

    Cons

    The agency life isn't for everyone. It's a fast paced, always-on job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. I am proud to be part of DKC and know that I am making a difference for our clients.

    Dan Klores Communications2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Full Time Publicity Assistant at DKC one year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publicity Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Learning a lot and quickly involved in client work.

    Cons

    Pay could be better but you can work overtime that you get paid for which can help.

    Advice to Management

    More company gatherings/social events to build relationships with people outside of my team.

    Dan Klores Communications2019-04-22
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Let's be real here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time

      Pros

      I've worked for 3 other PR agencies in my career (big and small) and I am easily the most at home at DKC. Yes I am extremely busy, but I work on Fortune 500 clients and don't just feel like another link in the chain. Some groups are better than others, but this is a place you can grow. Also, new office space Spring '19!!

      Cons

      As I already mentioned: workload is no joke. Some supervisors better than others.

      Advice to Management

      New review system is great Please put cold brew in the new office spaces!

      Dan Klores Communications2019-04-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good basic experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern 

        I worked at Dan Klores Communications part-time

        Pros

        Work with top clients Exposed to basics of PR--media relations, pitching, media monitoring Genuine, talented people

        Cons

        Office and number of employees is small Only HR department in NYC

        Advice to Management

        Expand in other office locations

        Dan Klores Communications2019-04-22
      • Helpful (4)

        "Hard work but a good place to learn"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Publicity Assistant in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Exposure to great clients, a lot of people who want to help you learn and grow, often an expedited path to Account Executive

        Cons

        Pretty low salary, experience heavily depends on who your supervisors are (not necessarily a con), often a very heavy workload

        Dan Klores Communications2019-04-11
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great agency!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY

          I worked at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Good team of people working with you and some amazing clients

          Cons

          Pay isn't up to industry standard

          Dan Klores Communications2019-03-25
        • Helpful (1)

          "Micromanagement and no work flexibility"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Summer Fridays, Co-workers and great client list!

          Cons

          Very old school top-heavy organization. Some managers have no trust in employees and want to know your every move. They speak to junior staff like they are beneath them as if they are not the ones who do a bulk of the work. Salary for entry/Mid-level is so pitiful. You can email HR, and they will get back to you weeks later if they even answer.

          Advice to Management

          Give more opportunities to switch sectors and listen when staff expresses an interest in doing something different. While it makes no sense to reinvent the while, it's okay to take ideas to be innovated. Benefits are needed if they want to stay competitive in the PR business, especially in the NYC and LA office.

          Dan Klores Communications2019-05-06
        • Helpful (8)

          "Great Mix of Responsibilities. Fast Pace"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          I work across two divisions. This has given me an interesting mix of accounts across several industries. This place plays hard and likes to win. It operates at a higher level and faster pace than my last agency.

          Cons

          I'd like there to be greater connectivity across the offices. I don't know many of the people who work outside of New York especially since we handle great accounts out of these offices.

          Advice to Management

          I like it here. I'd like a stronger relationship with my colleagues in other cities. You guys should look at how to do that better - perhaps regular summits, etc.

          Dan Klores Communications2019-03-04
        • Helpful (8)

          "Made My Career Here"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - EVP in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          I have developed lifelong friendships here. The company is led by individuals who not only care about their clients but do the work. Hey, PR is a tough business and not for everyone - as you can tell by some of the reviews - but I have grown trenendously thanks to the leadership and the great mix of clients.

          Cons

          The company delivers and is growing during a crazy time. You have to love this business and be willing to work. If not, it’s not for you and thus a Con.

          Advice to Management

          You guys are not only great at what you do but kind. Create more situations where the middle and lower levels can get to know the real you.

          Dan Klores Communications2019-02-23
        • Helpful (7)

          "Really Like It Here"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Dan Klores Communications full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Challenging with great colleagues. We all sit together and help each other. President and management team keep an open door and jump into help us. Amazing clients.

          Cons

          New York office doesn't look great but we are moving up a floor into an open plan type office.

          Advice to Management

          More frequent staff meetings and perhaps some offsite outings.

          Dan Klores Communications2019-02-27
        Found 99 reviews