Dana-Farber Cancer Institute "postdocs" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Employee Reviews about "postdocs"

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute President and CEO Laurie H. Glimcher (no image)
Laurie H. Glimcher
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and entry level vacation time(in 41 reviews)

  • "Nice people, inspiring mission, fair salary, good benefits(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, can get pidgeonholed in role(in 23 reviews)

  • "Commute can be a night mare, not a lot of room for growth in the institute(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "postdocs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Being a postdoc at Dana-Farber is nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    26 days of vacation per year. Nice environment. Good ethics.

    Cons

    Being a postdoc isn't great anywhere...

    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2017-11-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Genuinely rotten place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    location was close to T

    Cons

    rotten management, no opportunity to advance, pointless make-work research, very rude postdocs and graduate students, bad smell

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2019-09-05
  3. "Cutting edge research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great faculties who publish in top tier journals. Core facilities and departments with state of the art equipment. Some opportunities for intramural funding, including postdoc fellowships. Cafeteria with cheap, but delicious, pizza. Lots of opportunities of collaborations with surgeons and clinical investigators. Many seminars with internationally recognized researchers. The best animal research facility I know. The CEO is an inspiring professional.

    Cons

    Many, if not most, of the research administrative staff are really immature and unprofessional. They act like bossing around even if they have no clue of what is going on. They do not listen to suggestions, but want researchers to obey them. Unfortunately, I also feel that many staff and supervisors (including faculties) at Dana-Farber are racist and undervalue foreigners who are not from North America or Europe. I do not know if that is common in the U.S. or if it is more specific to this institution. Although in my lab I had exceptional achievements, I was humiliated publicly in several occasions (during seminars, labmeetings, etc). Also, numerous times I saw that people who use English as second language like me are constantly ignored in meetings/seminars and their opinions are not taken into account. Once I and an Asian co-worker were requested to do one thing that was refused by an European in the lab, but different from this person we were not given a choice. I think that at Dana-Farber, tasks which may diminish a professional are assigned with preconception to certain people based on their origin (but not on their skills). Overall, although I was successful here and thank them for the support, I do not recommend this institution for international postdocs from developing countries because Dana-Faber has a very toxic work environment.

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2019-05-16
  4. "Great place to conduct research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top laboratories in the world for cancer research. Inspiring place to work.

    Cons

    Some buildings are old and run down. Postdocs are paid low and not treated with the respect they deserve.

    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2019-02-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Postdoc review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time

    Pros

    A lot of great chemistry collaborations new animal facility 12 weeks maternity paid time off

    Cons

    Typical postdoc salary makes it hard to manage childcare in Boston.

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2018-11-01
  6. "Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Fellow in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good research resources high level science

    Cons

    Big disparity of treatment between Postdocs and the rest of employees (e.g. retirement plan, salary) very low level of interaction/collaboration between labs Often PIs are very bad to manage postdocs. the only goal often is the high impact publication No help on career development for Postdoc The Postdoc office does a great job trying to help postdoc but they have limited resource and time

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2017-07-21
  7. "Poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Feels good to work for organization that does such wonderful work for the society.

    Cons

    Poor pay. Gender bias. Poor benefits for postdocs.

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2016-02-18
  8. "A place of angel and evil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    prestigious institute, smart coworkers, exposure to cutting-edge technology and ideas, good location, the institute is committed to advance patient care and research, good facility

    Cons

    Postdoctoral research fellows are treated very badly. The postdoc are not treated well as a whole but DFCI is the worst among three prestigious universities I have been working or studying at. The relationship between faculty and postdoc is like master/apprentice in the dark age. The career of a apprentice is heavily dependent on the master, which gives PI a superior power over postdoc. The consequence is often arrogance, rudeness and misuse of the power on the PI side. One mean PI could ruin a few years of a postdoc's life or even worse totally ruin the scientific career of the postdoc. DFCI did little to protect the group.

    Continue reading
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2016-02-13
  9. "Great hospital and science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great science, opportunities to collaborate with clinicians, friendly colleagues, networking opportunities with Harvard community and alumni

    Cons

    Boston's winner is a disaster, living is very expensive whereas salary for postdoc is not increasing accordingly

    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2015-05-29
  10. "Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    this is a great place to do a PostDoc in the field of Cancer Biology with a lot of possibilities for collaborations

    Cons

    High Pressure environment with low salaries. The interaction between PostDocs could be better, but probably depends on the exact group you are working in

    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute2014-01-30
Found 12 reviews