KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Darigold

Engaged Employer

Darigold

Add a Review

Darigold Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 278 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Darigold President and CEO  Stan Ryan
Stan Ryan
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great pay and benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "Good pay, excellent insurance, good 401k(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No one knows how to achieve a raise or bonus unless of course you are in the favorites team which is very obvious(in 9 reviews)

  • "You may or may not matter to your direct supervisors but upper management could not care less about you, no matter your contributions(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Darigold and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent wages and benefits, broken culture

      Sep 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent and the benefits and 401k are above average. I had a good experience with my coworkers and immediate management team.

      Cons

      The organization is extremely top heavy and there is a huge divide between employees and management. The culture encourages these differences and there is an us-vs-them mentality. Management intentionally sets themselves apart and hold themselves above employees. My personal interactions have revealed a condescending attitude from corporate, perhaps as a result of the plant/warehouse being more blue collar. You cannot make high level production decisions from a spreadsheet, you have to know what is going on out on the floor day to day. Darigold's biggest problem is that the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing and there is very little effort at communication between the two. There is very little room for advancement and much of the opportunity for growth ends in cronyism, especially at the plant level. If you are not in management, you are very much just a number to them. You may or may not matter to your direct supervisors but upper management could not care less about you, no matter your contributions. Its not that you are mistreated, its that you do not matter to them at all. Think that scene from Mad Men when an underling goes off on Don Draper and says "I feel bad for you" and Don replies, "I don't think about you at all."

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Darigold Response

      HR Generalist

      Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear that you felt compensated fairly for your work and had a positive experience with your immediate team. We are, however, disappointed that you felt your contributions were not recognized by upper management — since that is the opposite of what we strive to do at Darigold. Instead, we are working very hard to encourage a collaborative culture where everyone feels that their voices and ideas are both heard and valued. To that end we have instituted many avenues for people to share their feedback. That said, there is always room for improvement and we welcome further details. While some people aren’t comfortable sharing their thoughts and feelings in the exit interview we give all departing employees, we would appreciate if you could reach out to us at feedback@darigold.com with any ideas you have for improving communication throughout our facilities or leverage the anonymous hotline. We can then incorporate this feedback into the mechanisms we have in place to encourage continuous improvement. Thanks!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Trying to be a CPG ? OMG LOL

      Nov 16, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The dairy farmers are the best, the CEO is trying but undermined by upper management

      Cons

      No culture, management by intimidation

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Darigold Response

      Talent Acquisiton and Employee Engagement Specialist

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're happy to hear that your relationship with our farmer-owners was a positive one, however we're disappointed to hear your relationships with upper management were less than ideal. We'd appreciate your insight on how we can improve if you wouldn't mind contacting our confidential Ethicspoint hotline, which can be reached via phone at 1-877-204-2775 or at https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/25317/index.html. Thanks!

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Hard Place To Work With No Long Term Future

      Feb 22, 2017 - Factory in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay in valley, lots and lots of overtime, superior benefits, matched 401K, professional upper management

      Cons

      Worked very hard, fluctuating shift, practically on call on your days off, possible terminated at any time, mandatory meetings on days off, majority workers hate their job so moral is low and not friendly place to work, high turnover except the tight niche group that has been there forever. No older 50+ years worker. If you work here please just understand that your fate could be like mine...I was a superior employee for Darigold for 3+ years but let go for one 15 minute mistake; but I think it was also to save company money, politics to give my position as a favor to friend, etc.. but I am not sure...

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Darigold Response

      feedback@darigold.com

      Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns and for your 3+ years of service. We agree that we offer a comprehensive benefits package, and are committed to offering our employees benefits that are competitive with the market. We're sorry to hear that you have concerns about Darigold as an employer. We take your concerns very seriously, and have zero tolerance for behavior that can lead to unsafe working conditions. We encourage you to directly connect with us at feedback@darigold.com so that we may look into and address your concerns.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Keeping it real

      Aug 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Twin Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people who work hard and care in production. Occasional small rewards for benchmarks met, such as safety. Overtime

      Cons

      1950's mentality from upper management with management style (yelling, cursing, threatening, but done out of camera view, and one on one with minimal witnesses). Lots of favorites and games played just because. Seriously demented manager who had great fun mind mangling and firing people.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good 401k, but not much else.

      Jun 4, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      401k, and just typing some words to meet the five word minimum.

      Cons

      Upper management is in a constant state of flux, so consistency, no accountability at the corporate level (but employees at the plant level are held accountable despite the lack of resources and leadership), no direction, no interest in paying competitive salaries.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great benefits, good people; some poor management

      Mar 3, 2010 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Best benefits i have had in a while -Some great people to work with -during profitable years a very satisfactory bonus (program) -Good work environment (office space)

      Cons

      -some upper management persons were ineffective -Employee comments (suggestions/ideas) are not received easily/well -a bit political -strategic planning can be lacking at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      THIS COMPANY IS AS CUTHROAT AS THEY GET, STAY AWAY!!!

      Nov 1, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You know the hourly folks and some management are honest, good people being brought down in connection with some of the worst upper management/corp mgmt I/we have ever seen.

      Cons

      I think it's wise to write this so everyone can see who this company is. I recently saw a fantastic, smart, someone we really needed hired as a tech mgr at the Issaquah Plant. He was let go after only 7 weeks on the job for helping make the plant safe from asbestos. He was trying to help, his hourly team really liked him, other mgrs told us what a great job he was doing, then let him go. Who does this anymore. So all should be very careful working here. They, Darigold, use the "at will" excuse to ruin people's lives. Next, know that this company, and the plant at Issaquah Washington, had in 2009 criminal charges against them for discharging ammonia in a near by creek and killing spawning salmon. Now, the same plant is under investigation by the Washington labor and relations board for exposing a large number of employees to asbestos and that OSHA is investigating work on current piping and roofing material thats made of asbestos without permits nor using the right people to do asbestos removal. Last, the EPA is investigating them for dumping roofing material that contained asbestos into local landfill. So, stay away or you too could become just another person they get to destroy their life over a job. They don't care as you are just a number and thay you are but a end to a goal for farm owners to make money.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Management

      May 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly- there is not one pro about working for this company. I have never written a review on anything but I am so in awe of how backwards and dysfunctional this company is that I feel compelled to share it. Beware!

      Cons

      No training on any level. Hazing from your peers and subordinates. The culture is the worst I've ever seen. Upper management on the plant level is a joke. Huge divide between employees and management. The list could go on.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Darigold Response

      feedback@darigold.com

      Thank you for your candid feedback. We would like to take this moment to address your concerns regarding Darigold’s management and culture. It is our top priority to provide our employees an environment where everyone feels safe, respected & enabled to be their best. Over the past year we have taken steps to create a culture of teamwork & celebrating everyone’s successes through programs such as “Employee Spotlight”, but it takes everyone’s participation. We are committed to empowering our employees to receive additional education and training, and offer educational assistance to do so. We have undergone many leadership changes over the past year, and with these new leaders comes new ideas that will continue to improve our company at all levels. We have zero-tolerance for threatening behavior, and encourage you to connect directly with us at feedback@darigold.com so that we may look into your concerns.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Darigold review

      Jul 13, 2016 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Low stress environment. Good 401k benefits.

      Cons

      Either really old or really young employees. Constant change in upper management positions. Pay is not competitive for most Darigold corporate positions.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Darigold Response

      feedback@darigold.com

      Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you feel Darigold is a low stress environment and that you are pleased with the benefits we offer. We also believe a work/life balance is critical to employees success! We are working to ensure we have open communication by implementing monthly town hall meetings where the vision for the company is shared, and employees have a chance to be heard. We would love to hear any ideas you may have, so please feel free to connect with us at feedback@darigold.com

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Finance

      Jan 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance culture and very flexible scheduling!

      Cons

      Upper management can sometimes be set in their ways. Resistant to change.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Darigold Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Darigold? Share Your Experiences

    or