Darktrace Employee Reviews about "darktrace"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 567 reviews

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Darktrace Chief Executive Officer Nicole Eagan
Nicole Eagan
168 Ratings

What people are saying about Darktrace

Join the conversation on

Tech

211.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Darktrace~1059406
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people, really fun times at the office but that's about it, they also hire with no experience(in 34 reviews)
  • "Great colleagues & regular social events(in 20 reviews)
  • "Great team to work with and for.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Great benefits(in 16 reviews)
  • "Darktrace offers a great opportunity for you to learn a lot!(in 13 reviews)
Cons
  • "poor management and don't care about employees(in 66 reviews)
  • "Feels like a reality tv show because of the toxic culture and workplace drama.(in 37 reviews)
  • "There is no training for leaders.(in 29 reviews)
  • "Low salary, few products to sell(in 20 reviews)
  • "very low pay for tech team(in 19 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Darktrace and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "darktrace"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent company, amazing first job

    Mar 5, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Darktrace is unique in that you are given an enormous amount of responsibility at a young age, all of which is applicable to future careers as well. Day to day work is both challenging and rewarding, which is difficult to achieve in a job right out of college. The work life balance is unmatched, the people are impeccable, and working for a company as successful as Darktrace is always a bonus. It's rare that you find a company with great employees, great hours, great pay, that also provides tremendous experience.

    Cons

    At any company that is looking to be successful there will be pressure on the employees. Darktrace is reasonable about this, but it's important to come into this position knowing that you will be held to standards. It's not a walk in the park, and having a competitive spirit and a yearning to perform is critical.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Micromanagers, Babysitting, and Cold Calling

    Dec 1, 2021 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting product and seems like EU office employees are somewhat happy

    Cons

    - Calls once sometimes twice a day with managers to review how your meetings went for the day and if you booked any meetings "babysitting extremes" - Felt like AEs are measured by # calls, # emails per day solely - Horrible training and absolutely no resources to learn/minimal shadow opportunities - Toxic environment where you are put on the spot in front of peers to discuss your performance and pipeline with management - Unrealistic quota - Favorites game - Zero inbound leads--- as an account executive you will be cold calling 100 percent of your prospects to generate opportunities. Yes there is an SDR team, but the leads they bring forward are good about 10 percent of the time - Worst CRM I've ever seen. Homegrown, Terrible task management, no clarity on stages, managing accounts/opportunites/contacts in excel worksheets - No office culture or team building exercises - Very limited opportunity to travel for work *if anything Overall it was hard to get my work mentality back to the right place after leaving Darktrace. I was lured in by a recruiter promising 120k+ first year salary and its the worst decision I've made for my career as a young professional

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Not as advertised

    Oct 12, 2021 - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The potential to make money here is astronomical, the prices Darktrace charges is high and they can get away with it. The product itself is amazing, and actually does what its intended to do and is unique in a sense. Having ISR book meetings for you (although very rare)

    Cons

    Been meaning to make a review for month snow. There is a lot of things that are not right with Darktrace. For starts, when I was being interviewed over a year ago, I was promised that I would not make cold calls and have meetings booked for me, and that I'd be raking in commission. I was hooked because it sounded too good. Fast forward to 4 months into my role, I am being asked to make around 40-60 cold calls a day (as an AE this is abysmal), and with my manager pressuring me to call prospect's personal cell phones with no regard for privacy. The micromanagement in this company is at points unbearable, granted could be unique for my region, but getting constantly bombarded by your managers about whether you sent an email can be demoralizing. Commission with Darktrace is borderline theft. In my previous roles I was seeing 10% commission rates, with darktrace, youre realistically getting 2.5% on a deal, despite being an AE and doing the heavy lifting, you get 2.5%. Now they say its 5%, but they give you 2.5% now and the rest in a year, but if you're no longer employed they're no longer obligated to pay you, so a nice catch for them. But obviously the more you sell, the higher % you enter, with the highest being 9% in my region, but youd have to sell almost a mil to get there. Regarding expectations, they're very high. After 6-7 months you're expected to sell around 100k minimum monthly. All of this should have been a red flag to me, when all of the veterans in my office were gone in a span of a month. The company went public during my tenor, and despite multiple requests from reps and myself, nothing regarding employee well being has been instituted. Reps in other offices were dropping like flies because of the mental health aspect. My dismissal aswel was very questioable, despite being set for a good month and being on good terms with my management, one day, out of nowhere I get a call that its been decided that I was let go. Despite the troubles I went through to secure and revive deals, it was already all set in stone with nothing that can be done, felt like a really cold way to end, further plays into the demoralizing culture here. Advice to a job seeker: if you're one of those salespeople that only cares about money and truly nothing else, you will strive here. However if you want a place that offers more than just compensation, look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Steer clear

    Aug 13, 2021 - Account Executive in Marina del Rey, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Product. Inspiring co-workers. Cybersec industry is growing rapidly and this company is at the cusp of the AI movement.

    Cons

    I can’t even put into words how awful the sales management is. Within the first 6 months that no matter how much revenue I brought, I would always be looked at as nothing more than a foot soldier; a cog of the Darktrace sales machine. Favoritism runs rampant in this organization. If management doesn’t like you, it doesn’t matter how successful you are. You’ll always be treated like you’re worthless.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible company

    Aug 11, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DARKTRACE is have an Excellent Technology and position itself as a really Disruptive Company

    Cons

    Terrible internal policies only based on pressure and unfair compensation plan. Really limited on terms of management. Only numbers matter.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away. No matter how well you perform Darktrace will never care about you.

    Jul 19, 2021 - ISR- Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Healthcare -Amazing group of coworkers. You will bond with your coworkers over how toxic and terrible Darktrace is -When you want to leave (and you will trust me) you will be able to get another sales job in the cybersecurity industry quickly

    Cons

    -Toxic and corrupt work culture trickling down from upper level managmenet -Promotions are based on performance, not on the ability to actually lead a team -Being a top performer still isn’t good enough -Unattainable expectations -Low sales salaries compared to cybersecurity market -Upper level management will harass and belittle you if you are not a top performer -High favoritism. If you’re not a favorite, you’re treated poorly -PTO days are your sick days -No sales automation tools, makes the job very hard -Was not given the proper resources to succeed during work from home. Upper level managment refused to give me a laptop to work, even though the new employees on the team were offered laptops

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Many Promises, None Kept

    May 17, 2021 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The ability to travel for the company and meet customers in person

    Cons

    I took about a 50% salary cut out of the promise for ability to quickly rise up the ranks and the glamour of traveling and being able to make sales face to face. While I personally enjoyed the traveling portion, I quickly discovered from fellow employees that the ability to travel comes at a cost. That cost will be your work/life balance and happiness. Management doesn't care if you have been traveling until 2am, they still expect you to be in office at 8 am. Doesnt't matter if you have a flight at 10:30 am, you should still be coming into the office beforehand. You are really just another dispensable employee to them. That concept was emphasized by the horrendous training experience and onboarding, all the way to my departure. While the training is normally difficult and takes about 3 months to complete, I did it on my own and got fully certified to be in the field in about a month. That says a lot considering all the information they throw at you and the fact that I wasn't assigned a mentor (like everyone is) and didn't have a team for a few weeks. I then came to find that the team I was placed on was with a new manager (who was still working on her own deals) and we didn't have a team lead (every other team had one). I still made it work though and kept pushing through thinking that I could perserve and that the glassdoor reviews "wouldn't apply to me"...how naive I was. Turns out working hard wasn't even going to save me from the dispensable mentality they had towards their employees. I was the first to be cut due to Covid, which came as a complete shock for many reasons. 1. I went over and beyond to get my training done on my own, despite all my issues. 2. I had been already booking meetings within a month. I learned that must've been abnormally quick, given the amount of comments from coworkers and management. 3. When we all started working from home, I voiced my tech issues and not being able to get onto our internal system. Our system frequently timed out because it was so overloaded by all the employees working remotely so this wasn't new news to them. When I asked for help though, I would often go hours without any assistance so I could not even login for work. 4. When the rumor mill started about people being spoken to about their performance (keep in mind, this company consists of a bunch of 20 year olds so yes there is a full-time rumor mill and even private text thread to talk about other employees), I was not one of them. Members of my small team were even spoken to about their metrics, but I was never addressed as I was consistently reaching out. Then came my layoff. In what I thought was going to be my 60 day check in from our VP, he instead bomboarded me on a call with the legal team. Luckily, my partner is a lawyer and he was able to get on the call with me as what they were asking was unethical. In addition to that, I had multiple employees tell me and then even send me a video of the VP telling everyone on a conference that I was laid off because "I wasn't working at all when we went remote." Even though I was there for 2 months, the employees clearly trusted me more than their own VP as they wanted to let me know because it was so clearly not true. He just used me as a scapegoat to ensure there wasn't a covid layoff panic. At no point during a call with legal did he mention performance issues (he said it was a covid layoff) and my manager even called me after saying she did not expect this, that I was a "hardworker", apologized and even offered to give me a recommendation. Quite frankly, Darktrace is lucky I didn't sue them for famation. I would have if the VP consented to himself being recorded, but I wouldn't have been able to use it in court. Hope this story helps anyone considering this company. I thought I would be different than all these other stories. My experience just confirms it.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company

    Apr 13, 2021 - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great and I loved a lot of what Darktrace could provide, it was very fast paced

    Cons

    If you dont like cybersecurity, REALLY DONT JOIN THIS COMPANY.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    An abusive company with a culture and business practices tainted by Autonomy

    Apr 26, 2021 - Marketing Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My immediate colleagues were some of the brightest, hardest working people I’ve been fortunate enough to work with

    Cons

    TW: self-harm Darktrace almost killed me. Literally. The verbal abuse, public disrespect, and cutthroat politics beat me to a pulp. Every day coming into work, I considered jumping in front of the train. I would take bathroom breaks to cry and scratch my arms. And I was lucky. I was a man, so I wasn’t subject to the ogling, groping, harassment, and sexual assault that my female colleagues were forced to deal with on a regular basis. This kind of culture doesn’t come from nowhere. In the case of Darktrace, it came from another company: Autonomy. Darktrace’s senior leadership, including the CEO, CMO, and CFO, were all ex-Autonomy. They brought with them a win-at-all-costs ethos that expected — and sometimes demanded — up to 14-hour work days. Minor mistakes were punished with public humiliation. Managers would do firings in public and would cc colleagues in verbally abusive emails. Darktrace's lead investors were also ex-Autonomy, and in many ways, they were the source of these practices. While they were ostensibly mere investors, one of the first things I learned in onboarding was that the CEO was a figurehead. The real power base was in these investors. Darktrace has tried to distance themselves from them, likely because many of them are facing (or have already been convicted of) conspiracy, wire fraud, and criminally over-inflating the value of Autonomy. I have no knowledge of whether or not they oversaw similar fraud at Darktrace. What I do know is that they directly oversaw the day-to-day operations of the business, even personally approving or denying individual expenses. Their influence over the company might have waned by now. Perhaps the culture has gotten better. I can only hope. Because if it’s even a fraction as bad as it used to be, Darktrace remains one of the most toxic workplaces imaginable. Either way, it cannot erase the fact that Darktrace has left me and many of my former colleagues with permanent scars. Literally.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Earning Potential, Solid Product, High Pressure Sales Environment

    Feb 19, 2021 - Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Darktrace offers a premium product in the cyber security space which is in high demand. The go to market strategy supports swift deal cycles for software. Earning potential is unlimited if you can handle the intense pressure of the high quotas.

    Cons

    Management will pressure you into making deals at all costs. Sink or swim environment, non-performers don’t last more than six months.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

Popular Careers with Darktrace Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Darktrace? Share Your Experiences

or