Darling International "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Darling International Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Darling International Chairman and CEO Randall C. Stuewe
Randall C. Stuewe
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-workers, good benefits and the latest gadgets-Ipad, Iphone(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, good pay, annual pay raises(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours most times, very hard to balance work and family life(in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management lacks fundamental leadership skills(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "good company good pay good time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Mechanical Design Engineer in Florence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Darling International for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, solid company, great staff

    Cons

    Long hours, high stress job

    Darling International2020-01-05
  2. "Too much politics involved in keeping your job. Lack respect for employees. Management treats you like you don't matter."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Newberry, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Darling International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Seniority means nothing, long hours, micromanaging, lack of respect, safety only matters if it doesn't interfere with your job

    Advice to Management

    Fire the fleet management that has no experience driving a truck

    Darling International2019-11-19
  3. "Maintenance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Maintenance Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Darling International for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for promotion and increased responsibilities

    Cons

    Long hours most times, very hard to balance work and family life

    Advice to Management

    Cut down overtime for hourly employees to increase profit margin.

    Darling International2017-06-22
  4. "Truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Driver in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Darling International

    Pros

    Very good company good people and friends

    Cons

    Long hours and nights but worth it come pay day

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees better

    Darling International2016-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dilapidated trucks, low pay and horrible working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Darling International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We get a lot of overtime, also home every night and most weekends off. We don't have our boss in our face.

    Cons

    Is the money there? Yes and no, the rate of pay has not nor will it ever keep up with the rate of inflation because of deep seated greed within Darling. During negotiations we're fighting for nickels and dimes. Several of their trucks do not have air conditioning for the 80+ degree days during summer and now your driving a sweat shop on wheels, this is not only dangerous for a persons health but also a reason to contact OSHA. I have been to the ER already this summer complaining of extreme heat related illness. Someone could die under these long hours and working conditions and believe me, my wife will sue you for wrongful death because this matter has been brought to managements attention for years going unaddressed. Your drivers are the backbone to your company and deserve better working conditions and pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I want the trucks without air conditioning to be replaced with newer models equipped with air conditioning. This company according to this website makes over 2 billion dollars a year so you can afford it.

    Darling International2016-08-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Can't wait to leave! I have been working here only because it is a job that only a dimwit could lose."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Darling International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are happy doing the same job for the rest of your career, this is the place for you!

    Cons

    No advancement, no bonuses, yearly pay raise lower than the inflation rate, management sucks, long hours, no gratitude for hard work performed- the list goes on and on.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to hiring uneducated, unmotivated employees and your job and yearly bonuses will be safe and secure!

    Darling International2015-04-03
  7. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Darling International

    Pros

    Great people, great work place

    Cons

    Low Pay and working long hours

    Advice to Management

    need to quit micro managing

    Darling International2015-01-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "absolutely horrible, nothing told to you, horrible work conditions and expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Darling International

    Pros

    no reason to work with them.

    Cons

    long hours, huge expectations, expect you to be a slave to you work, no personal life, horrible management, poor ethics and integrity of leadership and management.

    Advice to Management

    look at some other professional companies, and follow

    Darling International2012-03-26
  9. "Good pay, Excellent 401(k) & Profit Sharing, Outstanding Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Darling International full-time

    Pros

    The company keeps growing, especially after buying Griffin. The work seems to keep increasing at all plants, this translates into a very steady job. The pay is really good, especially for low skill positions. They match retirement contributions and have profit sharing. The health insurance has become outstanding.

    Cons

    The work is very physical with long hours and harsh environments; hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It can be a dirty and smelly environment. Also, management has earned a bad reputation as being non-responsive, defensive and malicious. In fairness, I see that changing incrementally.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to change the rendering and recycling culture from monarchical leadership toward teamwork and inclusion; your people can really help you achieve your goals.

    Darling International2012-08-06
Found 9 reviews