Daryl Flood, Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor

Daryl Flood, Inc. Reviews

Updated January 4, 2018
46 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Daryl Flood
31 Ratings

46 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Open Book Management, relaxed work environment, family feel, great culture. Everyone is friends and knows each other. Safe place to learn and grow in your field. Senior management listens to their teams and they are always making changes.

    Cons

    Small teams so earning an opportunity for advancement is very competitive. Traditional mindset- yearly reviews, strict dress code, and high importance on tenure

    Advice to Management

    Start taking steps to bring the Company to a more modern work age and space

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Dec 29, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive comments regarding the company and its culture. We will continue to make changes to make the company a great place to work.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Upper management won't adapt..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, and it's easy to get to know everyone. Lots of team interactions.

    Cons

    Poor compensation, traditional mindset keeps the company from progressing, no innovative thinking, lots of office gossip, being a private company prevents proper protocol from happening, poor communication from the top level down even though transparency is preached. The company will fire people just to make their profit plan, then rehire different people the year after. What a waste.

    Advice to Management

    Many of the company's problems stem from the unwillingness for change to happen. Focus on your employees first, make them happy and they will make the customers happy. It's not always about money.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Dec 29, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your comments. I also appreciate the family atmosphere. I would be interested in hearing your suggestions for change. Please contact the VP of HR with your ideas.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "fake 5 star reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Transparency in the business profits, loss and forecast

    Cons

    Will cut you out in a dime to make sure they hit their "game" numbers. Could care less about employees and more about management bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Quit making fake 5 star reviews to increase your Glassdoor ratings. They are totally obvious. "If you don't like it - quit!" What a joke.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Jan 8, 2018

    I appreciate your comments regarding the Company. We do pride ourselves on being transparent with our financial numbers. Unfortunately, at times, the company has to make tough business decisions... More


  4. "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There is light flexibility with regard to schedule, and a few people were awesome to work with.

    Cons

    - Good old boy management style.
    - Mean girl cliques
         -If you don’t know people who work there already, it’s going to be difficult to find your fit if you don’t fall into the above two categories.
    - Gossip is rampant and damaging company moral.
         - Managers are aware of the negativity but do nothing to make changes.
         - When your people who have been there for 10-20 years are even disgruntled and cluster up and have a gossip session about how much they dislike being there, you know there is a problem.
    - They say they are forward thinking, but they aren’t interested in progress.
    - They have stringent policies that not everyone has to adhere to with regard to internal relationships and attire. It borders on obsessive and intrusive.

    Advice to Management

    If you see that new employees aren’t fitting in, maybe consider why they don’t want to open up. Gossip is rampant and does not encourage new hires to get involved in the culture because they don’t want their names dragged through the mud unnecessarily.

    If you truly want to update policies and move forward in your departments, cut dead/negative weight and pay qualified people what they should make. Devaluing your employees and only making their paychecks the incentive to work extra hard is poor management.

    Have your managers take management classes and emotional intelligence classes. Realize that not every employee responds in the same way and some emotional intelligence is necessary if you want teams to truly form.

    The weekly messages from the president are all fine and good...try running the business that way. Unfortunately I think those messages fall on deaf ears because everyone is so busy trying to cover themselves that they forget they are stepping on those around them.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Dec 29, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. I also hate "gossip and office politics". We want employees to feel comfortable working here. Training will be a focus in 2018 for all employees. All the best in your... More


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Smoke and mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Order Picker in Coppell, TX
    Former Employee - Outbound Order Picker in Coppell, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Relatively competitive pay. No experience necessary. You can pretty much expect to put in 70 hour work weeks. Other employees are good people.

    Cons

    Almost no training. Extremely high expectations. No communication from supervisors. You can pretty much expect to work 70 hour work weeks. I worked here for a little over two weeks as any order picker. I received roughly 2 hours of training and was then expected to perform at the level of someone who had been doing the job for years. When i didn't meet these expectations, rather than communicating with me and telling me ways I could improve or simply asking me to be faster, I was let go without any warning. 3 weeks before Christmas.

    Advice to Management

    When someone isn't doing a good job to your satisfaction, communicate with them and suggest ways to improve rather than just send them packing.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Dec 29, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your comments. Training will be a focus in 2018 for all employees including managers. Good luck in your future endeavors and thank you again for your comments.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Family-oriented company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Billing Manager in Coppell, TX
    Former Employee - International Billing Manager in Coppell, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Small company with big goals. Open book management. Understanding in situations for families.

    Cons

    Habitual 3rd & 4th quarter employment purges to inflate financial outcome for the end of the year.

    Advice to Management

    1.) Management should know how to do the jobs/tasks that they expect of their team members.
    2.) Integrity should be practiced by management as much as it is expected of team members.
    3.) Yearly training should be set up for software and processes that might have changed or upgraded.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Dec 29, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your comments regarding Daryl Flood being a family-oriented company. As the company has grown in the last several years, we are making training a focus in 2018 for all employees. Best... More


  7. "Great Place to Enjoy Work and Gain Entry Level Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daryl Flood, Inc. (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people, the culture, open book management, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Depending on your position there is not a lot of flexibility, growth opportunity, or work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Be open minded to new out of the box ways of doing things to attract and retain talent.

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the Daryl Flood culture and your co-workers. Being transparent with the company's financials through Open Book Management gives everyone an opportunity... More

  8. "Sr. relocation coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and very good company. Top mayflower agent in the system. Great people

    Cons

    Long hours, hard to move up and be recognized, very stressful

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your employees

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your co-workers. I agree that we have great people!

    We continually work on the workload issue and will continue to focus on this issue. We are... More


  9. "Warehouse Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers & understanding supervisors. They won't hesitate to assist you in anything that you might need help with. Will train you pretty adequately.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours. Sometimes you'll be sitting on your hands because if a shipment is not on time then theres nothing that you can do. Can be unorganized which then delays you.

    Advice to Management

    Get more organized

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Jul 31, 2016 – Vice President, HR

    Thank you for the positive feedback on your co-workers and supervisors. We are glad you had a positive experience with us and thank you for your contribution to our company. We understand the... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Coordinator in Coppell, TX
    Former Employee - Operations Coordinator in Coppell, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daryl Flood, Inc. full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent managers who really care about their employees. Time off is about average and they are willing to work with you if you need more. Plenty of positions to work remotely, but still maintain a solid office environment. They like to hire from within, so there is plenty of room for growth and additional experience

    Cons

    There really aren't a whole lot of cons. I really did enjoy my time with Daryl Flood and if I had the opportunity (and geography would allow) I would continue to work there.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with reviews and great game of business techniques. It really helps to have the "everyone behaves like a manager" mindset

    Daryl Flood, Inc. Response

    Mar 17, 2016 – Vice President, HR

    Thank you for your contribution to our company and the best of luck to you as you move forward. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you find a new employer that fits you as well as you... More


Showing 46 of 47 reviews
Reset Filters