Data Recognition Corporation Reader Reviews | Glassdoor

Data Recognition Corporation Reader Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Data Recognition Corporation CEO Susan Engeleiter (no image)
Susan Engeleiter
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Reader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader in Sharonville, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Data Recognition Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Convenient Hours (M-F 8-4:30) Solid Group of Supervisors Dress code is Casual Training provided prior to each assignment/project

    Cons

    Seasonal (Testing season runs from January-Mid July/Early August Projects vary in length and duration Slowly moving away from on-site scoring. Transitioning to a home based scoring system

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2018-02-11
  2. "Decent Pay for Straight-Forward Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Reader in Woodbury, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Data Recognition Corporation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay Transparent Pay Scale Pay scale (bonus) is dependent on minimum hours worked per week Very Straightforward Rubrics for Evaluation Free Parking (Woodbury, MN location only) With one exception, every supervisor and team leader I have had was fair, explained expectations, and approachable

    Cons

    Work itself is monotonous and repituous Work hours have no flexibility Due to nature of contract, there is no flexibility for time off, being late or needing to leave early, or emergencies ("an absence is an absence no matter what"_

    Data Recognition Corporation2019-08-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good people but bad software"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader/Grader in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Data Recognition Corporation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is pleasant, the managers actually care about the employees and will actively go out of their way to help. The work as a whole isn't particularly difficult. You get good bonus pay for working overtime, and the base pay is pretty good, too.

    Cons

    The software used for grading frankly sucks. On top of that, the system goes down far too often, halting work for people for anywhere between 1 minute and 15 minutes. The work is seasonal, so it's not a steady job at all, though once you're in their system you're in for good, and they may call you back at a later date for more work. Not many opportunities for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2017-09-22
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader/Scorer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Data Recognition Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for DRC at their Pittsburgh Reading Center. In many ways it was the best job I ever had. It allowed me to meet the smartest and most talented group of people I've ever met, and many of us still stay in touch with one another.

    Cons

    After having been told by a senior corporate official that the Pittsburgh Reading Center was one of the best in their corporation, they (DRC) showed their appreciation by shutting our center down, after only a few months of operation.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2017-04-14
  5. "Good place if you are looking for seasonal work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Reader in Sharonville, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Data Recognition Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Most scoring directors and team leaders are willing to help you. Free coffee, tea and hot cocoa. Seeing many returning co-workers every year; catching up on our respective lives.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is clarifications on questions by their customer and that can get a little confusing. The parking lot can get a little dicey. I've had a couple of close calls.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2017-03-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal Reader/Scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reader in Woodbury, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Data Recognition Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close to home and some people were very friendly to work along side.

    Cons

    You will need to pass the curriculum and qualify before you can be a reader. Be sure to be on time to work, and returning from breaks and lunch. Make sure you read accurately and read as fast as you can, this is important to staying long term with DRC. Receive paycheck every 2 to 2.5 weeks. Odd personalities to work alongside, if not bothered by this, then have a go at it.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2017-03-21
  7. "Entry-level Reader at DRC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Data Recognition Corporation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job is easy to learn. The work is project-by-project so it's good for people who have intermittent work elsewhere. The senior staff help the readers continually.

    Cons

    Reading and scoring the same work all day for a few weeks gets tedious. The criteria for scoring sometimes gets adjusted over the course of the project. There isn't always work when you want some. No benefits except a small pay bump if you work over 34 (?) hours in a week.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2016-12-19
  8. "Reader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reader in Woodbury, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Data Recognition Corporation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At DRC they really appreciate their employees. It is a very comfortable place to work. Nice facilities. Great management. At DRC they have a knack for good hires. Everyone I have met seems genuinely very happy to be working for DRC.

    Cons

    As a reader you are evaluating tests. It is quiet work with a lot of reading at a computer screen and making quick decisions. It is a temporary position.

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2016-09-28
  9. "Reader/Scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Reader/Test Scorer in Sharonville, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Data Recognition Corporation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Convenient and flexible part-time work; relaxed, casual environment; perfect job to do after a day of working full-time

    Cons

    None [as a part-time, seasonal reader/scorer]

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2016-09-20
  10. "Reader's Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reader in Sharonville, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Data Recognition Corporation for more than a year

    Pros

    -relaxed work environment -casual dress -free hot beverages -day and night shifts available -summer day projects ideal for teachers and retirees -bonus pay for working extended hours and OT often available

    Cons

    -seasonal work -inconsistent work schedule (might be off for a week at a time between projects) -favoritism and nepotism in promotion of readers to team leaders, team leaders to scoring directors, etc. -cliquish -harassment by management to work OT on weekends when they're trying to meet deadlines -room temperature varies across the building so dressing in layers is necessary

    Continue reading
    Data Recognition Corporation2016-06-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 32 reviews