DataArt Reviews | Glassdoor

DataArt Reviews

Updated June 27, 2018
117 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
CEO
16 Ratings

117 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Friendly people, good salary, nice office" (in 11 reviews)

  • "Atmosphere of freedom, you could work from home as long as you want it" (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your business trips would highly depend on the projects" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Open space means 50 people in one big space, all on different projects with different skills" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineer - Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DataArt full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Everything totally satisfied by work in this company - compensation, extremely flexible schedule, free games, lunch, ability to change specialty and learn new things, great career and management opportunities.

    Cons

    Couldn't relocate to the US. Was offered only Poland, Argentina and UK.

    Advice to Management

    Offer relocation to the US too.

    DataArt Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. Relocation to the US is not a common practice in DataArt, because such positions are mostly on-site and require native English language proficiency.


  2. "DataArt is very flexible but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at DataArt full-time

    Pros

    - Different projects
    - Flexibility for people to move in\out from project, change a position
    - Good conditions\benefits

    Cons

    - Dependency on sales\projects company can agree\achieve so sometimes you may have to work in different position\role\technology you would like to (New York, other locations are more flexible)
    - This is service company so you should accept the team you have

    DataArt Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Hello and thank you for the feedback. We see that we have to work a little bit on how the things are going on in our NY office.

  3. "DataArt employment in New York City in 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at DataArt full-time

    Pros

    Great people, possibilities, culture to work in.

    Cons

    Not enough local opportunities to sustain full-time employment

    DataArt Response

    May 14, 2018 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Hello! Thank you for the review. We'll provide the feedback to NY office regarding the lack of opportunities so that they will figure out what to do.


  4. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at DataArt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good Place To work, great teams.

    Cons

    Lots of work to do.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    DataArt Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. "Cons. Lots of work to do." - made our day!


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent Experience, US-based Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Progressive leadership. Not afraid to fail. Minimal internal politics. Very flat organizational structure. Really care about both their employees and their customers. The delivery side of the business (software development) is exceptional. Well managed recruiting process ensures that they find excellent employees. Impressive focus on continuous improvement. Most of the leadership is remarkably humble. Company is very careful about managing growth -- both in terms of which customers they choose to work with as well as possible acquisitions. Such a strategy has helped maintain quality.

    Cons

    From an employee perspective, it may be tough to adapt if your previous employer was politically charged. If you have a big ego, DataArt is probably a place where you will not be happy -- it is a "check your ego" at the door kind of place. If you are in a sales or consulting role, you need to be comfortable that while you can increase your income, the organization operates with little hierarchy -- opportunity for promotion is little.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing so long as it continues to drive the successful results you have seen over the years. Maintain the cultural and environmental elements that have made the company successful.

    DataArt Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for a detailed review. We appreciate every opportunity to look at DataArt from an employee perspective.


  6. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DataArt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    DataArt offers great flexibility in your career. They have many incredible projects in their portfolio, with ever expanding teams and resources.

    Cons

    The company culture is not very inclusive. You need to seek out connections on your own if you want to move ahead.

    DataArt Response

    Jul 6, 2017 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. At DataArt our effort towards advancing our colleagues’ careers is mostly through providing ongoing on-the-job training. We are also working on exploring and defining... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DataArt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, Unique culture and truly supportive management team. Management is more interested in creating a great company, satisfying employees and clients and not into squeezing for profits. The company is growing very quick, added nearly 500 ppl to the company in the last 2 years. Great place to work and they invest in their employees. Probably the best company I have worked for, success is in your grasp without a need to be cut-throat.

    Cons

    Hard to figure out how the company works when you first start, they need a better on-boarding program.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing,

    DataArt Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Hello! Thank you for the feedback! It's a pleasure to read these words not from PR manager, but from the colleague. Thank you one more time.

  8. "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Senior Dev
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Senior Dev
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DataArt full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    There are many things in DA which are done right, and among them:
    1) Flat management tree. You are not gonna have 5 managers sitting on your head, one is more than enough:)
    2) Open culture. If you are "smart and get things done", you'll earn respect and responsibilities.
    3) Internal education program sometimes can be of great help.

    Cons

    1) A lot (really, A LOT) depends on a project you'll be working on. Even though it's not a problem in 95% of cases, the remaining 5% can make your life truly miserable. On the other hand, every new project usually gives you a lot of new experience - new clients, new teams, new managerial styles.
    2) Open space. In general, it could be a nice thing if served with "let's try to not disturb our dear colleagues" kind of attitude. Unfortunately, it's not how it works here. If a person from another corner has something to say, you'll hear it no matter what.

    DataArt Response

    May 6, 2015 – Corporate Governance

    Thanks for the response! It's very thoughtful and helpful. We hope it gives a good idea about DataArt's culture - it really depends on an individual if they enjoy working at DataArt.


  9. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in Kiev (Ukraine)
    Current Employee - Senior Java Developer in Kiev (Ukraine)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DataArt full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - working with smart people
    - nice people management practices

    Cons

    - lots of different not really interesting project

    DataArt Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Hello! Thank you for the feedback. We agree that some projects are more interesting than others, it's just always like this. We suggest paying your attention to the projects in our Healthcare and IoT... More


  10. "Senior Android Developer, DataArt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Android Developer in Saint Petersburg (Russia)
    Current Employee - Senior Android Developer in Saint Petersburg (Russia)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DataArt full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    * It is a big but modern company.
    * A lot of interesting projects.
    * A huge amount of education materials, articles, interactive tests.
    * Nice people.
    * Competitive salary.
    * Comfortable and cozy openspace office.
    * Bench.
    * You can work from home if you prefer (depends on project though)
    * The company is very flexible when you need some days to recover or assist your family.

    Cons

    * Openspace office (if you don't like one).
    * Sometimes you can wait for a project a couple of months.

    DataArt Response

    Jul 13, 2018 – HR Marketing Specialist

    Hi there! Thank you for the detailed review, we appreciate!


Showing 117 of 122 reviews
Reset Filters