DataFile Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

DataFile Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 138 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
DataFile Technologies CEO Janine Akers (no image)
Janine Akers
110 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Beware the responses to the bad reviews from HR and the CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People from the CSMs and below

    Cons

    The purpose of this review is to discuss the responses made by HR and the CEO to the negative reviews. There seems to be a "goody two shoes" approach to all the negativity, and I understand the "well wishes" from the response Author to the review author when looking for a different career. Make no bones about it, the information contained in the bad reviews is as close to 100% accurate as can be. I can point to two... very pointed reviews: "You might find a worse company" and "Stay Away from THIS One" - both are accurate down to the very detail of what took place. As one who has sat in Management meetings and witnessed the narcissistic ways of those leading the meetings, the reviews contain facts - not "untruths" as the CEO describes them. This is a company reeling from bad reviews and deperately trying to reverse negative public perception. The only way this perception can be changed is to make a complete change in your C-Level Execs and HR. Until then, this will continue to circle the drain. The responses by the CEO indicates that she is oblivious and clueless to the damage her underlings are creating with regards to the work atmosphere and conditions. I'd like to think she's in the dark about what is going on in their 4 walls, but in knowing her demeanor - I seriously doubt it. If you go to HR and file a complaint, you will soon find yourself on an IPP. I know 18 employees to which that has happened, and then they were fired. Some have been terminated over the phone and not allowed to come into the office to retrieve their personal affects. If there is a termination meeting, they want to meet you elsewhere - often a public venue. You are told that what you say to or file with HR is confidential, but within 2 days - your complaint has come full circle and almost everyone is aware of it. Simply put, there are many "HR Fouls", and if you can't trust HR, then you can't trust the company. You can't trust DataFile Technologies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's too late to do anything. I'm sorry, but you even make mismanagement look good in comparison.

    DataFile Technologies2019-09-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Engineer II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can only speak on the IT department as that is the department that I was a part of. The IT Director is really nice and knowledgeable. He is willing to help you in your career at DataFile as well as your career looking forward. The IT team is a group that works really hard and has a lot of knowledge they are willing to share. If you are new to IT and looking for a good company to get your foot in the door and gain... a lot of experience with VM's and internal IT Support I highly recommend joining their team. Since it is a relatively new company you will be able to get involved with IT issues at the desktop level that wouldn't be an issue you would normally get to handle at a larger type company allowing you to gain more experience. The leader of the Desktop Support Team is really nice and a very hard worker. She will help you get your feet wet and answer any and every question you could have in regards to solving issues at the company. You won't have a question that she won't be able to answer and she will help ease that initial feeling of being overwhelmed at a new company. I can’t speak on the negative reviews as it hasn’t been my experience at DFT. I have found everyone to be very nice and welcoming and as I haven’t worked for those departments it would be unfair of me to speak on those reviews. My experience at DFT has been a good experience and I personally would recommend working at DFT if you understand that with any new company experiences growing pains. With DFT being a growing company there is no shortage of opportunities as long as you are willing to show initiative and work hard. I wouldn’t let the reviews push you away from looking at the company, I think if you have a look for yourself you will find it a great place to work with great people.

    Show More

    Cons

    With the recent move I have found some employees have longer drives, however the move was closer to me so it wasn't bad.

    DataFile Technologies2019-09-10

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Great to hear that the IT department is a fun and friendly place to work and learn new skills! Thank you for your comments and we appreciate both positive and constructive feedback.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Dishonest Leadership/Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utility Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working remotely, PTO and clients

    Cons

    This company provides a good service to medical facilities, BUT internally it is a disaster. Upper management is dishonest, micromanages, bullies and expects this not to effect the hard working employees that work the daily grind. They have decided to outsource to the Philippines and haven’t been honest with the employees, letting them believe that this won’t effect them, but it does. They make the environment... miserable and either causes employees to quit or they fire employees on the spot! Don’t fall for the upfront caring attitude, because it’s not reality, which is sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look in the mirror at the mess the past two years and all the incredible employees gone!

    DataFile Technologies2019-08-28

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 16, 2019Director of Human Resources

    I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you directly. I understand you might have hesitations but I hope you will call me, 816-381-9740.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Environment! Great People! Opportunities Everywhere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers from top to bottom. Fun events. Flexible schedule. Good training. Great pay. Open door policy to all management and executives. Best work environment I've ever been in.

    Cons

    I'm sure there's something, but I can't think of anything specific. I mean, no company is perfect for everyone, but most adults who have been in the workforce understand that.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the opportunities. Keep that door open and being real and transparent with your people. It creates loyalty in those that "get it" and our clients can feel that energy and satisfaction.

    DataFile Technologies2019-08-23

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    DataFile appreciates your review and is thrilled to hear that you are satisfied in our work environment. We know we are not perfect but we are working on continuous improvements. Thanks again!

  5. Helpful (10)

    "If you want a remote job, it's okay, but a career it's not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home is okay if you need that as an option, but for anyone trying to build a career, you will be blocked by micromanagement and lack of leadership. Pay for remotes is slightly higher than what has been communicated in other reviews.

    Cons

    The factual historian of the 8-7-19 "Assuredly there are worse companies out there, but they have yet to be discovered" got 1 thing wrong. The CMO DOES have a self-defined role - writing positive Glassdoor reviews. If the recent reviews sound like they are written by the same person - she is the most likely culprit. She and other leaders believe that is will counter the negative reviews. Otherwise the 8/7 gives a... pretty clear picture as to why many of us are looking for other jobs. At all levels, the C-Suite is not trusted to the point that it is a running joke on the floor. Communication from leadership is inconsistent and infrequent. Everything from the new office space and its parking to changes in U.S. staffing have been communicated so poorly that it creates constant rumors. Technology isn't stable and employees pay the price for that. There doesn't seem to be a plan to resolve those issues. And if there were, there isn't staff capable of leading it. The COO ran off another director. Within the last 12 months, every director working for him has left. His endless lying and bullying goes unchecked by the CEO. The CFO is completely unqualified and out of his league. As a whole, there is not one person in the C-Suite capable of developing a strategy and leading it. Because of that, they are in the daily management and make work more difficult. When we need resources we are told no, but blamed when things go out of compliance. Leadership is about character and substance. These people demonstrate neither.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of defensively writing positive reviews in response to the negative ones, use them as a point of reflection. Stop using tools like Cultural Index to excuse your own poor behavior. Hey - COO - a low B doesn't mean be a jerk. Invest in technology. Directly to CEO - It's your company. You own these issues. If this C-Suite satisfies your needs - keep them, but know that they are running off the people... who want you to succeed. If you want to be successful, you are going to have to hire a real C-Suite which may mean leading people who have more experience and higher skills than you. And they may hold you accountable to making sound decisions - not just flying off on every whim that crosses your path.

    Show More
    DataFile Technologies2019-08-21

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    This review has some helpful perspectives and areas we can learn from. But to be clear, we don’t manufacture reviews. Being authentic is one of our core values, so we wouldn’t make up fluff. We believe the DFT community is capable of speaking for themselves, the good and the bad. ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Great Employees; Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The one positive aspect of working here is my co-workers, (middle management & below) who are wonderful hard working employees who work great as a team. That part is like a family. Good product, concept of company for medical facilities. Working Remote

    Cons

    Truth....the 1 & 2 star reviews you read are extremely accurate for this company. Micromanagement and bullying by upper management are an everyday occurrence which causes excessive stress and constant turnover! The company has lost many great employees, and yet won’t admit bullying is an issue. The majority of employees haven’t been there more than a year or two. It is told by management to speak up and give your... opinion, but in doing so, there is little support and it leads to retaliation or being “let go”. This brews an atmosphere of fear, which causes employees not to do their best work. Some key upper management positions were hired without any medical background and yet talk down to employees who actually know the ins and outs of the work and what it takes, yet, get blasted with unreal expectations. Even though it is positive that you are allowed to work remotely, there is little work-life balance because they can’t seem to keep enough employees to do get all the work done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees! Take the blinders off and look at the common denominators that are causing the turnover and stress in the workplace!

    DataFile Technologies2019-08-20

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    I’m truly sorry you’re experiencing these issues, and I’m thankful that your teammates and managers are bright spots. If you’d be willing, please reach out to me to set up a confidential discussion. I would like to better understand what you’re seeing so I can make recommendations ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Leaders and Folks in this group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DataFile Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I directly worked for Shawn Whitcomb at this organization and I absolutely enjoyed every moment of my time spent here. The training and real-world experience are invaluable to me and I could never put a price on this brand of unwaivering leadership. Thank you, Shawn, the entire C-suite, and committed employees, for enabling the organization to succeed. Sometimes leadership means making tough decisions that no other... person is responsible for and this kind of seasoned technology leader is exactly who DataFile needs in 2019 & beyond. Thank you Shawn and the entire C-suite for your timeless leadership.

    Show More

    Cons

    There will always be downsides to working at any organization but this is a matter of perspective and opinion of the individual contributor. My advice to anyone looking for cons at any Business is to change your mindset and start to look for more positive aspects to focus on.

    DataFile Technologies2019-08-16

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know that you had a positive experience. Best wishes to you in your new endeavors.

  8. Helpful (26)

    "Assuredly there are worse companies out there, but they've yet to be discovered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The dress code is casual and some people can work from home.

    Cons

    The executives at DataFile are unquestionably the worst "leaders" I've ever encountered. It's incredible that they've found one another to form the culture of this toxic workplace. The CEO is completely disengaged, upon the advice of the COO/CIO, which is exactly how he wants it. He has her utterly fooled into believing he's competent; meanwhile, the company burns around them. The former CMO is a sociopath. She is... still with the company in an undefined role because she is a close, personal friend of the CEO, this despite having an 80%+ turnover rate in her departments. The CFO is utterly incompetent and will be exposed during the financial audits by external consultants; the first time this has ever happened at DataFile. This will uncover how the CEO uses the company as her family vacation slush fund too, meanwhile the majority of front line staff are making just over poverty wages. The COO/CIO is the worst of them. Stay away from any department he's responsible for. He is a pathological liar who has been uncovered as having lied to DataFile during interviews about all of his past jobs (each less than 2 year stints, to no one's surprise). He tells exaggerated stories about his "successes" at these past employers, but further investigation has shown he's been fired or contract not renewed at each of them. In two of the cases, lawsuits have been filed against him for leadership ineptitude and employee discrimination. This is well documented in the KC Star. Google it. I've never met a more dedicated narcissist in my entire career, and this will affect you at work. You will never be allowed to have an original thought working for this man. He will never allow you even a speck of freedom to do something your way. He's an intense micromanager. He will brag about his "$80,000 Cadillac" and his Porsche right in front of $11/hr employees. Yes, he's that tone deaf. I once overheard an employee tell him about a parent who was very ill and the first thing he asked the employee was, "Well how long do you think this is going to keep you away from work." Seriously. The stories are endless regarding this guy's lack of empathy. He believes he's a king commanding nothing but peasants below him. In reality he's a just a little person who's socially awkward and frightened of being exposed, so he counteracts those traits by being a bully and using his power to tear down the work of others. This results in him constantly running off quality employees who professionally challenge him because he is threatened by that sort of person. He has a 50%+ turnover rate in his departments, which should come as no surprise after reading this description of how he "manages" people. He is the antithesis of a true leader. The worst thing happening right now is the outsourcing of jobs to the Philippines. DataFile has always bragged about their responsibility to provide jobs to Kansas Citians and beyond. A virtuous goal, to be sure. But now that hard times have fallen on the company and their corporate reputation has made hiring difficult, they've thrown that responsibility into the dumpster. DataFile has partnered with Release Point, who is actually a competitor in another state, to outsource front-line jobs to workers in the Philippines. The Philippines team has stated in meetings they are ramping up to replace as many as 100 jobs by end of the year or early next year. Further proof of this is the new office that is much smaller with much lower capacity than the current office. Originally DataFile announced a move to a new office that would EXPAND their space and local workforce, but then the decision was made to outsource to the Philippines and that plan was scrapped for a smaller location. DataFile has not told their employees the entire truth about this outsourcing, calling it a "pilot" program and telling people to not be worried about their jobs. I'm here to tell you, you need to be worried about your job! Look at the recent thinning of the workforce and jobs not being replaced. That is part of the local workforce reduction plan. They have not been honest about Release Point's involvement either, since Release Point is a likely buyer of DataFile in the future, if this outsourcing goes well. It's easy to connect those dots as an explanation for their dishonesty with the staff. In conclusion, this is just a terrible place to work, which is unfortunate because I think the services they offer can bring value if properly delivered. Gross mismanagement and inability to retain quality employees has prevented progress; a rudderless ship. It's telling when the only leaders who stick around are literally just bullies and horrible people. Unless your personal situation requires you to work from home, there are no other redeeming factors here, and please know those work from home jobs often times pay less than working in food service.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO needs to sell the company, but that will be difficult once the financial audit revelations happen and knowing DataFile has no contractual commitments from their clients (who can cancel at a moment's notice). The company is past the point of recovery/redemption with their current online reputation and 40% overall turnover rate. Not an exaggeration, by the way, the place is literally a revolving door. The... entire C-suite needs to be purged and most of the directors too, as they are allowed to bully employees and have no actual leadership training. I'll make this final point. There was a situation while I was at DataFile where an employee in a position of authority put her hands on another employee during a private, disciplinary meeting. She grabbed the employees arms and shook her as if she was disciplining a 10-year old. This is well known to the C-suite and other leaders, and many other employees were also aware of the incident. The employee in the authoritative role later admitted to her actions too. Amazingly, this person still works at DataFile and remains in a position of authority. At any other company, this would be unbelievable, but not at DataFile!! It's just standard operating procedure there. You see, it is this exact lack of leadership and inaction on a critical personnel matter which makes it such a demeaning, dark, and unhappy place to work. This example is a microcosm of the entire company's leadership style. So my advice here for management is to disallow behaviors like this, much less encourage it by retaining these sorts of bully employees. Advice to job seekers: Do not disregard the multitude of negative reviews here. They are completely accurate and without exaggeration. It really is that bad at DataFile. The positive reviews are mostly fake, and there was a period of time in 2017 and early 2018 when DataFile was financially reimbursing employees by way of a bonus for leaving positive reviews. It's pretty obvious to see that once it's pointed out to you. Furthermore, only accept a job here if you are prepared for the likelihood of having your work outsourced in the next 6-12 months.

    Show More
    DataFile Technologies2019-08-07

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    I felt this review warranted a response directly from our CEO, Janine Akers. Here is her response. As the CEO of DataFile, I felt it important to respond to this review personally. Somewhere along the way, we lost touch with the writer of this review, and/or they didn’t take advantage ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Bad Reviews Speak for Themselves."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFile Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DataFile Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "Working from home"-- Because let's be honest, we all feel like someone is right there with us even in our own house.

    Cons

    SO many. Where do I even begin? Lack of communication. Either no one knows what's going on or you get told 5 different things from 3 different people. Micromanagment is unreal. Each team is treated differently and has different expectations, which is absurd. The turnover rate is unreal because management has NO clue how to speak to their employees. You ask questions and you get treated like you are stupid. They will... BLATANTLY lie to you. Do not trust them. Do not apply with this company. Go somewhere where you will be valued as an employee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start over. CARE and LISTEN to your employees. Stop making them feel scared to come to you and stop making them feel like nothing will ever change. The only reason most E-File reps who have been there for over 3-4 years are still there is literally because they can work from home.

    DataFile Technologies2019-08-01

    DataFile Technologies Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to give us a review, even one that’s critical. Given the fast pace we move here at DataFile, it’s fair to point out that we need to improve our communication and consistency, and we are working on those two things among many others. We certainly know we’re ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Corrupt Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DataFile Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are absolutely no pros.

    Cons

    They do not value their employees, do not train, and the door is endlessly revolving. With the way they treat their employees and the way they unethically treat their clients by budging prices. The company will continue to crumble.

    Advice to Management

    Change completely.

    DataFile Technologies2019-07-16

    DataFile Technologies Response

    July 22, 2019Director of Human Resources

    While we are sorry you did not have a good experience, we wish you the best with all your future endeavors.

Found 138 reviews