Cover image for DataStax
Logo

DataStax

Engaged Employer

DataStax

Add a Review

DataStax Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 511 of over 537 reviews
4.3
84% Recommend to a Friend
DataStax CEO Chet Kapoor
85% Approve of CEO

Found 510 of over 537 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
DataStax CEO Chet Kapoor
Chet Kapoor
227 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

624.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=DataStax~524413
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about DataStax? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with DataStax employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The management in marketing was awful, there was a lot of fear(in 17 reviews)
  • "New CEO can be a bit harsh, but hearing the truth hurts.(in 9 reviews)
  • "100+ people laid off in the past 6 months including a layoff the week prior to the end of December (Holidays)... never a good sign.(in 7 reviews)
  • "very fast, and long hours (though, to be fair, long hours are also a result of covid)(in 6 reviews)
  • "They give you extra days off, which sounds nice in paper, but if you actually take time off you are seen as not dedicated.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of DataStax and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent experience

    Jan 6, 2023 - Engineering in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has been a very interesting experience with lots of opportunities to learn. Deep technical problems to solve, supportive leadership and smart peers. Enjoying this experience.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Interesting technology, not so certain future

    Feb 1, 2023 - Sales Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really smart people Interesting technology

    Cons

    Restless upper management Uncertain future direction

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the DataStax team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Datastax

    Jan 26, 2023 - Business Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    potential for large growth and ipo

    Cons

    - single minded management - no leaders here

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    DataStax is GR8

    Dec 30, 2022 - VP Strategy in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are kind, intelligent, and results oriented. The executive team operates with a high degree of trust and respect. The values are meaningful and lived throughout the company. Healthcare is FREE.

    Cons

    Most everyone is remote, making it more challenging to build relationships.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Constant changes and unrealistic expectations

    Feb 1, 2023 - Business Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Met some really great people. Benefits and wellness reimbursement were great

    Cons

    Paid significantly less than other colleagues in the same role. They constantly cocked up wages and would conveniently not pay out spiffs which were designed to incentivise the team. Told that we would get a sign up bonus and then that didn’t materialise when it was time to pay up, and was told ‘it was never signed off on’. Other incentives like Amazon vouchers never got paid/ sent. They never enabled the team correctly, all enablement sessions were around the product and not teaching the team how to operate better in order to meet the ever increasing targets. None of the team are consistent in achieving targets but yet they get raised. Motion after motion change, and expected to still be able to perform despite taking time out of our diaries with 1/1.5hr meetings, expecting us to essentially do the AES job and demo the product and then giving us extra admin tasks to do which the salesforce dashboards already provide the answers to. And finally ZERO progression, the only person I saw get promoted got fired a week later.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, good benefits. Unpredictable, elusive targets

    Dec 20, 2022 - Chief Information Officer (CIO) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart and motivated people to work with.

    Cons

    Constant context shifting; not always logical or sensible

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great team and opportunities

    Nov 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some great opportunities to stretch professional growth at DataStax which is why I joined. I have an amazing coach and the team I am on has some of the best professionals I've ever worked with.

    Cons

    DataStax is working on its DEI programs, which are not to the level of other tech companies, but there is movement and progress being made.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Unlocking data's value and partnering with enterprises.

    Nov 15, 2022 - Strategic Sales Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership vision and driving growth and alignment with solving strategic customer challenges. DataStax has incredible products that deliver real value. Engaged sales leadership in your success. We live our core values and are teamwork minded.

    Cons

    As we grow, we need to balance our priorities. Startups move fast and focus on execution. We are challengers of the status quo, which requires all employees to embrace change more than some other companies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great technology, great company

    Nov 15, 2022 - Data Architect in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The technology is great for solving big data problems without requiring a lot of extra architecting. There are a lot of smart people working here who are passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    It’s a smaller company so some processes are still being refined. If you like startups, you’ll love it here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    First employer that doesn't make me feel like they're doing me a favor by "letting" me work there

    Nov 8, 2022 - Data Architect in Central, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing culture and a truly unique technology stack. If you demonstrate capability, drive, etc., you will be given more responsibility.

    Cons

    Fast paced and change is a constant. Career progression can be a bit murky.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 510 Reviews
</>Embed

DataStax Reviews FAQs

DataStax has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 537 reviews left anonymously by employees. 84% of employees would recommend working at DataStax to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, DataStax employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at DataStax. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

84% of DataStax employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated DataStax 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at DataStax to be career development, benefits, senior leadership and the cons to be workplace, management.

Popular Careers with DataStax Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at DataStax? Share Your Experiences

DataStax logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

DataStax Photos

+ Add Photo
DataStax photo of: Welcome to DataStax!
DataStax photo of: Along with our new mandate to deliver real-time AI for everyone, DataStax has done a rebrand – with an updated logo, fresh colors, and a redesigned website.
DataStax photo of: SKO 2022
DataStax photo of: Community Day, 2021
DataStax photo of: International Women's Day Panel, 2022
DataStax photo of: London visit
DataStax photo of: SKO 2022
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

DataStax Job Seekers Also Viewed

Cloudera Logo
Cloudera

3.9

917 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 537 DataStax reviews submitted anonymously by DataStax employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if DataStax is right for you.