KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

DataStax

Engaged Employer

DataStax

Add a Review

DataStax Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 380 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
DataStax CEO Chet Kapoor
Chet Kapoor
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are actively engaged with the open source software community(in 27 reviews)

  • "Most of us work from home but we collaborate a lot better than when I used to work in offices for other companies(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You will compete against Cassandra open source(in 13 reviews)

  • "New CEO is driving the company off a cliff(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    682

    227 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of DataStax and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Great supportive group of people who are all driven towards the success of the company

      Jul 29, 2020 - Data Science Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer a great work from home environment.

      Cons

      None, it is a great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Struggling

      Dec 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, decent pay, fine benefits

      Cons

      Toxic culture, two big layoffs within 6 months, CMO & CEO pushing out good employees to hire their friends. Company is struggling financially.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic place to work if you are a smart engineer

      Mar 24, 2019 - Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent leadership all throughout the Engineering organization - this has resulted in (1) excellent engineering culture, (2) customer-first attitude, (3) **extremely** smart and friendly engineers, (4) an extremely collaborative culture, (5) work from home policy that works really, really well for both the engineers as well as the company, (6) actual work-life balance

      Cons

      I don't see any, as part of the Engineering team. I've worked in many, many silicon valley companies.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing culture, perks, and potential!

      Dec 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Distributed workforce culture means that even if you're based near an office, it's not an issue to work from home. Leadership takes employee satisfaction very seriously and values transparency. Lunch is catered (free!) at HQ every day. Company has good momentum and potential, backed by a great product.

      Cons

      Growing pains not unusual for a company of this size and stage. Turnover and problems with longevity for some key leadership roles in GTM. Messaging and marketing lacks consistency. It's rare to see lower level people being promoted.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Weak Management Team

      Dec 6, 2018 - Sales Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great people -work from home flexibility

      Cons

      -lack of career growth and development -no promotion and raise -lack of support from management team

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Smart, Dynamic, Growing Company

      Jul 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I happen to love working at a dynamic, smart and growing company like DataStax. We have a ton of work to do, but the leadership team is top-notch and has us all pointed in the right direction. Our field team, GTM team and engineering team are phenomenal - some of the smartest people I've ever worked with are here at DataStax. I also really like the flexibility of working from home a few days a week - I get a lot more done when I don't have to commute to the office. Culturally this is a great fit for me, and I love working with smart people so I'm here to stay.

      Cons

      This company isn't for everyone - if you don't have the DNA for a fast-moving company then don't work here. We work hard, and sometimes need to shift priorities due to new information or direction. Top-level strategies are set, but sometimes successful execution requires extra effort. Smart, high-energy, high-performing people do very well here; if you want something slower paced then work for a large tech company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Has ruined me for working in an office

      Dec 8, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty much everyone in engineering works from home, from all over the world. If you have an internet connection you can work from there. Because everyone is remote, you never feel left out of "office life", everything happens in chat. There are tons of very smart people working here, this is the best software engineering team I have ever worked with. Working from home is great if it fits your personality. You can work on your schedule as long as you get your stuff done. Because there are people from all over the world, there are others online at most hours to "work" with. The company is a big supporter of open source software and we contribute a lot of work back to the projects we use.

      Cons

      Working from home has ruined me for ever getting a job that I have to go into an office for. We are still a pretty small company in the scheme of things, if you want to be able to "advance up the corporate hierarchy" this isn't the place for you.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      My favorite place to work so far

      Dec 7, 2016 - Technical Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged, accessible management Transparency at the top The BEST work-life balance I've seen in a support role Rewarding compensation level Emerging, interesting, big player technology Work from home Lots of fun personalities

      Cons

      Issues tend to have high visibility, can lend to high pressure scenarios Can be more stressful than other jobs at times Width and depth of technologies can be daunting

      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Solid Win

      Nov 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clear vision for success, great technology for today's mobile apps, empowered and open culture, freedom to move to new roles internally, competitive compensation and benefits, and ability to work from home.

      Cons

      Sale and marketing leadership have changed hands a number of times in the past, but the current in-charge team is doing very well.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Nov 14, 2016 - Enterprise Sales Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, good mangers, strong leadership, definitive vision. Great product, good support. Fulfills a great need in the marketplace.

      Cons

      Growing company, experiencing normal pains. Nothing is ever perfect, this place has lots of great people, sometimes processes are not precisely defined with high growth.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DataStax Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DataStax? Share Your Experiences

    or