Datameer "big data" Reviews | Glassdoor

Datameer Employee Reviews about "big data"

Updated Mar 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Datameer Chief Executive Officer Christian Rodatus (no image)
Christian Rodatus
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very Exciting to help Enterprise Customers receive Business Value from their Big Data Investment(in 16 reviews)

  • "There are/were some great people at the company, as well as limited oversight from superiors during mass layoffs or turnover (which was frequent)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "big data on Hadoop" to "BI on Hadoop" to "native(in 8 reviews)

  • "Growing pains associated with change have a negative impact on certain individuals(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "big data"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Regional Sales Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Regional Sales Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datameer

    Pros

    Great Company and product. Very Exciting to help Enterprise Customers receive Business Value from their Big Data Investment.

    Cons

    The ever changing Big Data Market demands a forward thinkging Marketing Executive who will help craft a market message that will create demand and differentiate from competitors.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2016-06-09
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Avoid- Unethical Culture: Standing up for my sales colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Datameer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As previous poster stated, DM experience well thought of by many others in BI and big data.

    Cons

    While I no longer work there many of my ex-sales colleagues did up until this past month. I understand there was a RIF where rep's that were due commission were let go, regardless of performance, in order to save the company money. Might be legal behavior based on comp plan but this is totally unethical to let someone go and then not pay them for what they sold. Beware, if leadership did this once they're apt to do it again.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2018-03-24
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Lost our window"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Datameer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Other companies value Datameer experience.

    Cons

    No direction, 0 growth, 50 better career options in BI and big data market.

    Datameer2018-03-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Partner Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Datameer

    Pros

    Self Service Big Data Analytics

    Cons

    A lot of churn at all levels

    Datameer2017-04-06
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Words Words Words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Datameer

    Pros

    There are/were some great people at the company, as well as limited oversight from superiors during mass layoffs or turnover (which was frequent). There may be an short term cloud opportunity while the Hadoop market figures out if it has any moves left. Parking is easy, although it might cost you your life (or a windshield).

    Cons

    High turnover - as high as the guy smoking crack down the street. Product can't scale, the market is in complete flux and is saturated with a number of various add-ons and distributors. Marketing changed course numerous times as the entire industry figured out how to sell to Hadoop users. From "big data" to "big data on Hadoop" to "BI on Hadoop" to "native big data on Hadoop powered by BI"....you get the idea. Fractured offices in two different countries. The Germany office has some of the highest tenured employees - mostly the core of their IT - which is currently skewing the overall ratings. To be fair, company culture was usually at its best when they came to HQ for yearly kickoffs.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2017-03-15
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Circling the Drain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Datameer full-time

    Pros

    Only one I can think of is CEO (Stefan) and the CRO being out. It may be too little, too late unfortunately.

    Cons

    The bad reviews are all true. The good reviews are fake and forced. As soon as this bad review goes up - a good one will magically appear. Under the arrogant guidance of the CEO, the CRO became the head of Sales. The CEO then decided he somehow had marketing skills appointed himself as Chief Marketing Officer too (I guess lots of spare time in his CEO position) - any wonder the company spiraled downward. This was after they both had run off any executive who didn’t tell them how great they were. The prior CMO lasted 6 months and left, Sales VPs were good for a year or so before they left. In fact, if you look at a typical company team, Datameer is not even a real company. Look at the 'team' on the website. No VP of Sales, No CMO, and not even a CFO. I believe now that the CEO is out, these positions will be filled, but the people really needed for a turnaround would not touch those jobs. The turnover is insane - even for startups in the Valley. Probably 100% annual - which means the average tenure in the field is less than a year. Or another way to look at it is Reps taking their draw, seeing no potential sales, then starting to interview and leave all within a year. Every 6-8 months it’s complete turnover in the field. Management says the old team was bad and now the ‘right people’ are there… until 6-8 months later when it was the same thing again. It happened several cycles before I got there, it happened a few times while I was there, and is happening after I left too. The funding will run out soon and investors have been burned by companies claiming to be ‘Big Data’ that keep plodding along on investor cash without generating a profit. It will be tough to get another funding round to keep the company afloat. Unless you are unemployed - stay away.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2016-12-10

    Datameer Response

    January 9, 2017Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think is working, and not working, at Datameer. We want you to know that we take all feedback under thoughtful consideration. Please read our CEO's Open Letter on the "Why Work for Us" section to learn more about what we're doing to make Datameer a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Member of the outside sales team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datameer

    Pros

    Company has a positive entrepreneurial atmosphere with lots of smart and energetic people. The product has a lot to offer in the big data analytics arena and is stable and well supported, compared to many other technologies in this market. Employees are generally working together toward a common goal and the greater good.

    Cons

    Some of the mid and senior level management are relatively new and inexperienced. The company has experienced a lot of turnover in these roles. Hopefully some recent additions to the team will be a positive trend. Also, while the CEO seems generally interested in open communication re: growth plans, etc., day to day communication is lacking. There needs to be better communication from the management team to both corporate and remote employees.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2015-10-16
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Fantastic technology; misguided management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Datameer full-time

    Pros

    - Cutting edge technology that's unparalleled in the Big Data space. - On the higher spectrum of the pay scale comparatively. - Great benefits (minus the laughable amount of equity). - Fairly transparent in regards to sensitive company information. - CEO is genuinely a good person. - Most employees are intelligent, sociable individuals who are a joy to be around. - Company has made strides to become more diverse which is refreshing in the Bay Area start up scene. - Lunch catered biweekly.

    Cons

    - Turnover in the San Francisco office is simply out of control, yet management absolves itself of all culpability. - Certain departments have a "locker room" vibe; there is downright sophomoric, unprofessional behavior which is condoned and perpetuated by certain people in management. - Product vision has shifted drastically and is now murky and ill-defined. - One-upmanship, brown nosing, and back stabbing are encouraged and required to advance; hard work and results will not get you far. - Total lack of communication; siloed. - Complete lack of flexibility and trust; working from home is expressly forbidden.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2015-05-02

    Datameer Response

    January 9, 2017Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think is working, and not working, at Datameer. We want you to know that we take all feedback under thoughtful consideration. Please read our CEO's Open Letter on the "Why Work for Us" section to learn more about what we're doing to make Datameer a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "An environment of notable growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datameer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Leader in the Big Data space and peripheral technologies -Brand recognition is very healthy -Strategies for sales/retention are growing stronger each day -Hiring practices are strategic to address most prominent business and people needs -Runs lean to provide everyone with competitive salaries -Building a culture of feedback and transparency for the leadership team -Accelerated career paths and opportunities are widely available, regardless of what department -Creative and innovative projects are endless -Strong morale and philanthropic environment, supports education, global health, and animal wellness issues in various ways -Great team mentality as a whole and within departments -Highly talented team, very difficult to get that offer letter- 'best of the best' employees

    Cons

    -Growing pains associated with change have a negative impact on certain individuals -The career path presents a number of 'first time managers' and that's positive, but has its challenges associated with it. The management/leadership culture has room to grow but is not likely to affect the company outlook. -The executive team is evolving, in a good way, but that changes the landscape in a way that affects many -The employee perks can be perceived as 'low', though this is a strategic decision to offer better comp -The competitive and high-performing nature of a start-up can create tension for everyone; Datameer is still in the process of building a professional/formal manager training. Because this is incomplete, this is an ongoing (though temporary) issue

    Continue reading
    Datameer2015-02-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Datameer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relevant superior technology, great people to work with, transparent approachable leadership, solving analytic challenges to complex problems in Big Data is an addictive experience with Datameer. Open and collaborative environment, great location in SF for HQ, work hard play hard mentality.

    Cons

    Some start-up growing pains with support systems, hard to find people with the Big Data skill sets needed for open positions, and can be hard to keep those people once they get the experience, the Big Data space seems to be above average for employee churn as the space continues to explode.

    Continue reading
    Datameer2015-01-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews