Datto Reviews | Glassdoor

Datto Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Datto  CEO Tim Weller
Tim Weller
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of snacks and free Lunch Fridays(in 39 reviews)

  • "Pretty good entry level pay, 4 weeks vacation, games, nerf guns free lunch on Fridays(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be difficult for those that have been at Datto a long time to see it for what it is now and not as the small startup it once was(in 25 reviews)

  • "Has had its growing pains, but continues to look forward toward a succesful future(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Excited to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with managers that actually care about your career paths. Things are growing quickly but you still have the ability to influence development. New engineering leadership has brought new life and vision to the organization! Looking forward to the year.

    Cons

    there are no significant cons I can think of

    Continue reading
    Datto 2020-01-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Growing too fast for their own good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Datto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, upbeat, irreverent, focused, aggressive

    Cons

    East coast mentality, mismanaged, moving too fast, tics and failings of old guard hamstring current intentions, fragile egos

    Datto 2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to work! Energetic team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Datto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, great coworkers, great people with managers that actually care about your career paths individually. Plenty of ability to influence development and products, in addition to opportunities to grow internally.

    Cons

    From my experience there, there are no significant cons I can think of

    Continue reading
    Datto 2020-02-26
  4. "Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Datto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment , great perks

    Cons

    Not a great work life balance

    Datto 2020-02-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Environment to Improve But Can Be Tough To Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Supervisor in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Datto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities for personal development - Support Team is world-class - Tons of direct benefits and fringe perks (gifts, parties, etc) - Exposure to all kinds of software, hardware, and networking issues - Founder truly put company culture first and explained several "iffy" decisions when he really didn't have to. - Forgiveness rather than permission

    Cons

    - It's extremely tough to get out of support if that's your goal - While never expressed explicitly, the impression from other departments is that support is looked at as a lower class - Some Senior Mgmnt/C-Level (several are no longer there) were very deceptive, way more so than you would expect from someone in that position - Data deletion practices put support reps in a very vulnerable spot to lose their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Datto 2020-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Average Sales Job (this was when it was autotask)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Irvine, CA

    I worked at Datto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Industry Leader. Lots of Money. Nice Office & Perks

    Cons

    Cold Call Grind. Provided with terrible leads.

    Datto 2020-02-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Highly disorganized. Good benefits are an attempt to mask incompetent management, and many inherent flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rochester, NY
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Datto

    Pros

    Pretty good entry level pay, 4 weeks vacation, games, nerf guns free lunch on Fridays.

    Cons

    Incompetent management. This is a company trying too hard to be like a Silicon Valley company. A private equity firm recently took over and has morphed the culture, and tries to hide behind the old one...which was a fun loving play harder than you work atmosphere and from what I understood, the company was much better under Austin‘S leadership and was a much better oiled machine with him as CEO before he stepped down. However, I believe the company culture is inherently flawed. “It’s not work, it’s Datto” the reality is that people that don’t want to work or put in the minimum effort are typically biased to not do a good job in their role or work hard. There were lots of issues that arose from laziness or lack of attention to detail across departments including a number of bugs in code that was sloppily developed. The communication among departments regarding operations and policies is terrible and nobody is on the same page. The company is very cliquey and the vibe feels like that of a high school, and they will quickly fire you without giving you proper training or a even a chance. You could be there one day and gone the next. Tread lightly and trust nobody

    Continue reading
    Datto 2020-02-28
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Datto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the sense of community and the business in general.

    Cons

    Had managers change on me frequently, and they were all across the country. Was given very little feedback to concerns because we were a satellite office, out of sight out of mind.

    Continue reading
    Datto 2020-01-16
  9. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Datto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Care for their employees well being

    Cons

    I do not have any at this time as a new employee

    Datto 2020-01-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cultish Frat mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Datto

    Pros

    Free food and nice office space.

    Cons

    Release buggy products, lots of arrogant 20 something dudes who vape in your face while standing over you talking down to you at your cube.

    Datto 2020-02-11
Found 201 reviews