Daugherty Business Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Daugherty Business Solutions Reviews

Updated December 3, 2017
30 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Daugherty Business Solutions President and CEO Ron Daugherty
Ron Daugherty
14 Ratings

30 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They care about the employee and have better work life balance with their local model than other consulting companies (in 21 reviews)

  • Good solid consulting company with a local delivery model (no travel) (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • Self-described as a consultancy, but mostly staff-aug (in 27 reviews)

  • but thats part of work life balance (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good solid consulting company with a local delivery model (no travel).

    Cons

    Upper execs like to micro manage


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not the worst, not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Daugherty attempts to recruit and hire top talent, so most colleagues are strong in their areas of expertise.

    Most roles are within interesting areas of Fortune 100 clients.

    Training/Certification opportunities are reasonably available.

    Cons

    Promotion process is unclear; Bonus structure is meager and based on tenure.

    Chicago office relies primarily on two large clients for business and has had challenges in developing and expanding with new clients.

    As a company, Daugherty aspires to be a consultancy, however, the actual mix of projects is at least 50/50 between staff aug vs. true consulting/project roles.

    While the local model is great for avoiding air travel, commute times to client sites can be significant in the Chicago area.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Looks good on the surface, less appealing inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Principal in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Competitive salary and decent benefits

    Cons

    Low bonus potential. Self-described as a consultancy, but mostly staff-aug. Career advancement only available to those willing to work 40 hours for the client and then 20-40 hours uncompensated.

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Marketing Specialist

    We are sorry that you feel this way. Our Atlanta team is wonderful! They are growing really quickly and we have been recognized as a great place to work for the last five years. I'm sorry you had a... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good consultants. Some very good managers.

    Cons

    This company is attractive on the outside, but once in you find that you were hired to fill a seat (contractor) at a client site. Yes, a handful of senior folks do consulting, but it's mostly staff aug. Don't be fooled. If Daugherty is your only job offer, then consider it, you will be working with some good people. If you are looking for a career, this is not it. High turnover, too. Leadership just sweeps it under the carpet.

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look at your leadership in the Atlanta Branch. Why is there apathy and why are people leaving?

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Oct 31, 2016 – Marketing Specialist

    We are sorry that you feel this way. Our Atlanta team is wonderful, and they are growing really fast under Monika Mueller's leadership. We're not just winning new client work, but we're adding new... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company for People in the middle of their Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florissant, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florissant, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fellow consultants are always willing to help
    They are one of the few companies that has a real bench policy
    There is a lot of internal training available

    Cons

    Like most companies, you own your career, don't expect leadership to manage your career for you

    Advice to Management

    If you say that you are going to do something, do it and follow up


  6. "Great collaborative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - team based
    - collaborative
    - learning resources
    - good benefits

    Cons

    - extremely client focused
    - overtime expected without pay sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Please value your employees.

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the insight. Please know that you are valued. We are nothing without the wonderful team behind us, and we are grateful for the opportunity to continue... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great on-site team structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daugherty Business Solutions (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is a great client-site team framework which allows Daugherty employees to feel connected to the branch.

    Cons

    Daugherty leadership at the client-site is lacking. Consultants lean heavily on the team leadership as opposed to the branch leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more presence at the client sites. Make more of an effort to be seen and to check-in on consultants.

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the insight. We are having some leadership bandwidth issues with our fast growth over the last couple of year and have made it a priority for 2016.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Holidays are a part of PTO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    PTO rolls over from year to year and there is no limit for accrual/rollover

    Cons

    Annual holidays need to come out of the employees' PTO balance. Not enough PTO for a new employee

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Mar 17, 2016 – Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! This is a relatively new change to Daugherty. Basically, we wanted to provide more flexibility to our team members. Certain clients observe different holidays. Without... More


  9. "Software Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Missouri in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Missouri in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Potential to move career in either a technical or non-technical direction

    Cons

    Bills itself as a in-house managed projects, but often winds up being a consulting firm. Employees can jump quickly from project to project. Adds bureaucracy at larger client sites.

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Mar 17, 2016 – Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback! Good luck in the next part of your career. Thanks for sharing a bit of your journey with us.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Job, Not a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Business Analyst II in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant, Business Analyst II in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Daugherty Business Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The consultants are awesome. Local reputation of the organization is pretty good.

    Cons

    A recruiter told me that Daugherty is usually a blip on people's resume and that their consultant pool is very high quality. Here's why...There are very few stars in terms of managers. I am amazed with how poor some of the senior, highly visible managers are. Lack of business acumen, no real formalized experience as a manager, and very poor communication skills with not only the consultants, but the client. The business is staff augmentation. You will have very little say in the work that you are assigned to. You are working to make someone very rich. Very much a clique based culture. Sometimes I wonder who is steering the ship. I just don't believe that Ron would sanction some of the things that I have observed. Very limited client base. Strange emphasis on "doing work for Daugherty" and working off hours with little benefit to show for that at annual assessment. Why go to classes and lunch and learns and come up with sales opportunities when I will get the exact same increase as my peers who never attend?

    Advice to Management

    I believe that highlighting and responding to the favorable reviews says a lot about this organization and its culture.

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Oct 8, 2015 – Marketing Specialist

    I'm sorry that you're not having a great experience at Daugherty. Thank you for your feedback here. This is the kind of information that needs to be heard. If you want to provide more specific... More


Showing 30 of 231 reviews
Reset Filters