Find jobs for Software Engineer II

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Daugherty Business Solutions

Engaged Employer

Daugherty Business Solutions

Add a Review

Daugherty Business Solutions Software Engineer II Reviews

Updated May 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 452 reviews

3.9
58%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Daugherty Business Solutions President and CEO Ron Daugherty
Ron Daugherty
11 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

388

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Daugherty Business Solutions and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company

    May 12, 2022 - Software Engineer II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote Insanely good health care. Literally unbeatable. Good people

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about them

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Milage May Vary

    Dec 13, 2021 - Software Engineer II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some really smart people work here Theres a high variety of experience in the talent pool Healthcare insurance is very nice Flexible in dealing with employee life events

    Cons

    Seems like you may get curtained off from areas of development you want to work in to grow your resume based on the client you get placed in. Good dev resources are available but you'll have to work around your client engagement if you want to benefit from any of it. You may be put into positions you're not entirely familiar with the tech on while the client is under the assumption you're an "expert" PTO system could use some work

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not Great

    Jul 8, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical insurance was great, the $0 deductible was nice.

    Cons

    A lot of my cons have been mentioned here already, but it really feels like you're working for your client rather than Daugherty - if I wanted to work for a client, I would do it directly. This means you have to keep track of 2 emails, calendars, laptops, etc. PTO is a joke and added onto it; if your client (that you don't get to choose) has a holiday or the Daugherty office is "closed" you HAVE to use your PTO. So if you have a vacation or are sick, that counts against you, and you may have to go negative. Compensation is much lower than the industry average. Especially for the work you're doing and the number of hours per week they expect from you 40hrs at client + extra hours doing Daugherty learning. Even this far into the pandemic they refuse to embrace remote work. Most of the ERG events were halted and put on hold "until we get back in the office". Your manager is dependant on which client you're at. So you have to start over when you get a new client as well. Communication is terrible. I never knew I was being switched to a new client or team until the last day I was on that project. They want you to sell Daugherty as much as possible to the client, and clients always remark on how expensive Daugherty is. Yet your salary doesn't reflect that. Staff augmentation is exactly what they do. Especially at home depot. People will be there for years, yet still, work for Daugherty.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing Entry Level Positions

    Oct 27, 2020 - Software Engineer II in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training program for entry level developers. Everyone who is hired is competent and intelligent. Good salary and benefits. Very social atmosphere

    Cons

    Working as a contractor is inconvenient. You have two emails to follow, two slack channels, and it can be difficult to change clients.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Daugherty supports employees, but some clients suck

    Aug 14, 2020 - Software Engineer II in Bloomington, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Daugherty really tries to support employees' career growth. They pay well. The health insurance and dental premiums are SO LOW! (~$280 per month for a family with $20 copays). Daugherty colleagues are high performing. Most people really like management. Management does a great job of celebrating success.

    Cons

    Expect to work more than 40 hours a week. In addition to logging 40 billable hours every week, Daugherty has a lot of "extra curriculars" that you are strongly encouraged to do. Some clients suck. Some clients only care about delivering products on time without regard to quality, and DO NOT want you to consult (push for better solutions) while on a team. Your work environment is completely dependent on the client's work environment (unless you work out of the Daugherty office, which is unlikely) A majority of my client's team grew up in India, where it's common for people to work 10 hours a day every day. Since I don't do that it makes me look like I'm not as invested in the project as much. And when you're on an account, management is slow to move you. You may be the only Daugherty employee on your team. This sucks for me because I wanted to work with amazing coworkers and learn from them, but for the last 6 months I feel completely on an island.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Managing Director

    This is Nick Reinbold, Managing Director of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Unit. Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear the positive comments on our career development, compensation programs, benefits, and management teams. It’s also great to hear your feedback on your work environment, as it has always been our priority to create a culture that supports the well-being of our employees. We are firmly committed to continuing this mission for our teammates in our new virtual work environments. For example, we have invested in our virtual consultant care programs, like Health & Wellness and Virtual Coffee, to make our teams feel connected even though physically apart. We started virtual events like Wellness Wednesdays, where teammates e-meet for a 15 minute movement break, and Global Wellness Day, to celebrate and reflect on living well. We have also expanded our Slack channels and online support groups. Our executive leadership team also began offering twice weekly office hours to keep teammates connected to each other and to where our business is headed. We also kicked off Mental Health campaigns to provide 24/7 emotional support during global unrest & uncertainty. Please reach out to me directly to brainstorm ways that we can better support you while engaged with a client.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work for the right type of person

    Jul 23, 2020 - Consultant Software Engineer II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Exposure to very wide variety of technologies - Supportive management structure - Clear career advancement - Some great clients to work with - Fun events like Dave & Busters, City Museum, Ameristar etc - Ron (CEO) and John (Senior VP) seem to genuinely care about their people

    Cons

    - Some clients are not great to work with - You may be asked to perform duties beyond your 40 hours at a client that are compensated by discretionary bonuses (Doing interviews, being a team manager etc). You can opt out of these however. - Not transparent about bill rate if you care about that sort of thing In my opinion, the pros definitely outweigh the cons. I'd recommend a job here to any outgoing tech savvy individual who's looking for exposure to a wide variety of industries/problems/tech and looking to advance their career.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Meh

    Jun 4, 2020 - Software Engineer-II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    coworkers are generally nice. sometimes the project is interesting.

    Cons

    leadership cares more about the bottom line than the developer

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Space to Learn

    May 18, 2020 - Software Engineer-II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The opportunities to learn are endless.

    Cons

    Sometime the engagements are less than ideal.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Sep 6, 2018 - Software Engineer-II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Excellent medical benefits - Good salary for the area - Big name clients - Amazing coworkers, really smart quick thinking, and friendly - Standing / Adjustable desks (if you are in the dev center) - Paid bench time (100% salary, no restrictions, but you do need to show to the office) - Assigned to client projects that match your skillset - Work/Life balance is clear cut, 40 hours mean 40 hours - Overtime available, if the client is willing to pay

    Cons

    - Depending on what project you are assigned, some can be great, some can burn you out - Dealing with red tape - Communication upwards often falls on deaf ears, even if its to attempt to benefit the company - Lunch and learns with clear intentions of focusing on a specific line of service's main area, should do so, rather than attempt to appeal to all (especially technical discussions)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work with lots of options to grow

    Aug 1, 2018 - Software Engineer II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've really enjoyed having the support of leadership in exploring career opportunities within or outside of my previous paths. I love that the company is so involved in community outreach, and that I have the opportunity to get involved. The people are great too. I feel like the leadership sincerely cares about my career goals and supports me.

    Cons

    The only coffee nearby is Starbucks.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Daugherty Business Solutions Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Daugherty Business Solutions? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Daugherty Business Solutions

2 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
Memorial Day is a day we remember those who served our country and gave their full measure of devotion. Watch as Daugherty teammates thank their loved ones for their service and sacrifice. #TeamDaugherty #MemorialDay
Daugherty Memorial Day Video 2022
vimeo.com

Daugherty Business Solutions Photos

+ Add Photo
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Dev Up - Choose Your Career Path
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Top Workplace Virtual Celebration
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Virtual Holiday Party
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Employee Christmas Care Package
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Employee Christmas Care Package
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Present Drop Off for Passaic County Division of Child Protection & Permanency
Daugherty Business Solutions photo of: Employee Christmas Care Package
See All Photos
1 of 4 videos