Daugherty Business Solutions Employee Reviews about "daugherty"

Updated Aug 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 of over 450 reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Daugherty Business Solutions President and CEO Ron Daugherty
Ron Daugherty
321 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Tech

207.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Daugherty Business Solutions~233317
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Daugherty Business Solutions and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "daugherty"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Working at Daugherty

    Aug 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are great. Large selection of clients allows consultants to work on interesting projects.

    Cons

    I have not had any issues during my time with Daugherty.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Consulting Company to Work For

    Jul 24, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization is very consultant friendly and works to put their employees in good positions to succeed. They also promote training and professional improvement with their employees.

    Cons

    Success is dependent on the client’s environment, culture, and projects / initiatives. Daugherty typically does a good job at placing consultants at the right organization, however, that is not always the case.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Struggling with the model

    Aug 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Daugherty's compensation package is pretty good - especially the benefits. There's a decent amount of interesting work to do. With all the recent turnover, a number of opportunities have emerged.

    Cons

    The company is struggling with its model, and some recent changes to its model. Daugherty has shifted away from local business units and now focuses on an enterprise wide approach. Having joined in part because of the local model, this isn't a good shift in direction for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not Great

    Jul 8, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical insurance was great, the $0 deductible was nice.

    Cons

    A lot of my cons have been mentioned here already, but it really feels like you're working for your client rather than Daugherty - if I wanted to work for a client, I would do it directly. This means you have to keep track of 2 emails, calendars, laptops, etc. PTO is a joke and added onto it; if your client (that you don't get to choose) has a holiday or the Daugherty office is "closed" you HAVE to use your PTO. So if you have a vacation or are sick, that counts against you, and you may have to go negative. Compensation is much lower than the industry average. Especially for the work you're doing and the number of hours per week they expect from you 40hrs at client + extra hours doing Daugherty learning. Even this far into the pandemic they refuse to embrace remote work. Most of the ERG events were halted and put on hold "until we get back in the office". Your manager is dependant on which client you're at. So you have to start over when you get a new client as well. Communication is terrible. I never knew I was being switched to a new client or team until the last day I was on that project. They want you to sell Daugherty as much as possible to the client, and clients always remark on how expensive Daugherty is. Yet your salary doesn't reflect that. Staff augmentation is exactly what they do. Especially at home depot. People will be there for years, yet still, work for Daugherty.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good pay. Average benefits, Your mileage will vary by client

    Jun 15, 2021 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Good health insurance. Health insurance is Anthem BCBS which is above average. There are quite a few exclusions when it comes to elective surgeries, even when medically neccesary, so while BCBS is pretty good you'll need to do your research to make sure it can support you and your families' needs. * Inclusive work environment. Daugherty is very inclusive when it comes to LGBTQ related topics. Especially in the Midwest where things can tend to be pretty socially conservative, if you're looking for an open and inclusive place Daugherty is not a bad choice. * Good pay. Daugherty pays a bit higher compared to other Midwest companies. Make sure to check your benefits though because they're higher on the pay side and lower on the benefits. Keep total compensation in mind.

    Cons

    * Exceptionally poor 401k. 3% match taking 6-7 years to become fully vested * PTO (starts at 18 days) is worse than it appears because you are required to take non Daugherty observed client holidays as your own PTO. For example, if you work at Client X and Client X closes between Christmas Eve and New Year's (8 days) you are required to take all 8 days as PTO. Assuming you want to vacation or take PTO as you please, you may end up with much less PTO at Daugherty than other companies. * You live and die by the clients. Daugherty itself is a nice enough place to work at with a decent culture. But ultimately, it just doesn't really matter. You're going to be fully augmented into one of their clients and as such the client's company culture is what matters, not Daugherty's. Assuming you just want to work your 40 hours a week and not do much in the way of unpaid overtime extra-curriculars, you won't ever interact with Daugherty.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great company and awesome people

    Oct 6, 2020 - Principal Consultant in Franklin Lakes, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Daugherty is like being part of a huge family. From day one I felt welcomed and as part of the family. Not only that, but the benefits and PTO time are some of the best I've seen throughout my career. Most importantly, unlock many other consulting firms, Daugherty stands behind their employees even when the client has to make cuts due to financial issues.

    Cons

    Honestly, there is nothing I don't enjoy about working at Daugherty.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Better than expected!!

    Oct 4, 2020 - Lead Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company truly cares about all of their employees and all of their clients!

    Cons

    Trying to educate people who never heard of Daugherty on the East Coast.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Daugherty supports employees, but some clients suck

    Aug 14, 2020 - Software Engineer II in Bloomington, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Daugherty really tries to support employees' career growth. They pay well. The health insurance and dental premiums are SO LOW! (~$280 per month for a family with $20 copays). Daugherty colleagues are high performing. Most people really like management. Management does a great job of celebrating success.

    Cons

    Expect to work more than 40 hours a week. In addition to logging 40 billable hours every week, Daugherty has a lot of "extra curriculars" that you are strongly encouraged to do. Some clients suck. Some clients only care about delivering products on time without regard to quality, and DO NOT want you to consult (push for better solutions) while on a team. Your work environment is completely dependent on the client's work environment (unless you work out of the Daugherty office, which is unlikely) A majority of my client's team grew up in India, where it's common for people to work 10 hours a day every day. Since I don't do that it makes me look like I'm not as invested in the project as much. And when you're on an account, management is slow to move you. You may be the only Daugherty employee on your team. This sucks for me because I wanted to work with amazing coworkers and learn from them, but for the last 6 months I feel completely on an island.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Daugherty Business Solutions Response

    Managing Director

    This is Nick Reinbold, Managing Director of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Business Unit. Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear the positive comments on our career development, compensation programs, benefits, and management teams. It’s also great to hear your feedback on your work environment, as it has always been our priority to create a culture that supports the well-being of our employees. We are firmly committed to continuing this mission for our teammates in our new virtual work environments. For example, we have invested in our virtual consultant care programs, like Health & Wellness and Virtual Coffee, to make our teams feel connected even though physically apart. We started virtual events like Wellness Wednesdays, where teammates e-meet for a 15 minute movement break, and Global Wellness Day, to celebrate and reflect on living well. We have also expanded our Slack channels and online support groups. Our executive leadership team also began offering twice weekly office hours to keep teammates connected to each other and to where our business is headed. We also kicked off Mental Health campaigns to provide 24/7 emotional support during global unrest & uncertainty. Please reach out to me directly to brainstorm ways that we can better support you while engaged with a client.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Culture that Values Its Employees and Its Clients

    Jul 6, 2020 - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Daugherty is a team-oriented work environment where each employee is valued as much as delivering excellence to their clients. Training and career growth are well supported through easy to access workshops and certification-based training programs. Management is supportive and transparent in assigning work and communicating status and opportunities. Recruiting and HR are responsible, and deliver exactly what they say they will. Overall, top notch organization!

    Cons

    Everyone works hard, smart, and in a collaborative manner. It is not a good place to work if you are not team-oriented, and/or you don't want to work hard and smart to achieve great results for both Daugherty and your client.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Greate

    May 7, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great place to work for.

    Cons

    I have no cons with working for Daugherty.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

Popular Careers with Daugherty Business Solutions Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Daugherty Business Solutions? Share Your Experiences

or