Dave & Buster's Reviews | Glassdoor

Dave & Buster's Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 862 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Dave & Buster's CEO Steve King
Steve King
307 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very long hours and a high turnover rate for salaried managers(in 74 reviews)

  • "Extremely long hours with NO breaks(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dave & Buster's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Friendly management, Lots of advancement options

    Cons

    Low communication, Slow during summer

    Dave & Buster's2019-04-15
  2. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dave & Buster's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn alot on how stuff works

    Cons

    Have to learn as you go. Nobody knows

    Advice to Management

    Train better

    Dave & Buster's2019-06-11
  3. "money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Captain in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dave & Buster's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay was very good it was good

    Cons

    long hours very long hours very long

    Dave & Buster's2019-06-05
  4. "fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Dave & Buster's part-time

      Pros

      fun place for kids to play for fun

      Cons

      could be better but it is not really annoying

      Dave & Buster's2019-06-17
    • "Good Company with travel opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Bartender 

        I have been working at Dave & Buster's part-time

        Pros

        Extensive training programs for new store openings

        Cons

        alot of turnover for new stores

        Dave & Buster's2019-05-29
      • "Loved it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Server 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dave & Buster's full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Fast paced, good money, good clientele at my location, half off food, game card for video games, awesome managers at my location

        Cons

        co-workers that could have had a better attitude, "sales based scheduling"

        Advice to Management

        stop putting new servers in the busy areas just because their sales were higher for that period.

        Dave & Buster's2019-05-30
      • "Wasted potential"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Line Cook in Cincinnati, OH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Dave & Buster's full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Play cards, meetings usually had free food

        Cons

        Meal breaks non existent, Close/open shifts with less than 8 hours between them some nights

        Advice to Management

        Instead of focusing on the brag program and incentives I feel like most everyone would rather just be able to sit down and eat or whatever for 15 minutes.

        Dave & Buster's2019-06-07
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Line Cook 

        I have been working at Dave & Buster's full-time

        Pros

        Benefits and pay

        Cons

        Few hours and manager

        Advice to Management

        Listen to the employees

        Dave & Buster's2019-05-22
      • "Good entry level job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Front Desk/Host in Springfield, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Dave & Buster's part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good pay Easy work Room for growth

        Cons

        No communication between managers Little to no breaks

        Dave & Buster's2019-05-20
      • "Spent way too much time, playing games instead of training."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Bartender in Staten Island, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dave & Buster's full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Usually had a large crowd, cocktails looked and tasted great.

        Cons

        Management, and training team seemed like they were doing everything off the cuff. We spent a majority of time playing games to “become a team” which lead to most of the staff not learning the cocktails, where anything was, or the computer. This lead to fighting, and bitterness towards the managers who also didn’t seem to understand the computer system or the specials.

        Advice to Management

        Train the management team together first, then focus on the staff learning drinks, menu, computers, and protocols. Comradery comes naturally once people are al working and learning together, shouldn’t be 90% of the focus.

        Dave & Buster's2019-06-03
      Found 862 reviews