Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg CEO D. Shawn McReynolds
D. Shawn McReynolds
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time

    Pros

    Most people get along well, which makes for a usually calm and respectful workplace. The firm has good staff retention over the years. If you work hard, you will be noticed. They are very good about promoting from within.

    Cons

    Implementing new projects / procedures is a very slow and, at times, redundant process. In some departments it can be hard to bridge the divide between staff and management.

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2018-03-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Admin staff: avoid at all cost - Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful location Great group insurance plan Prestigious firm with big clients

    Cons

    Vertical hierarchy where subordinates are not allowed to have opinions or ideas. Employee are not allowed to use their own techniques even if it is more efficient. Employees hate eachothers’ and constantly fight vigorously and talk in eachothers’ back and critic eachothers’ work. There is no notion of team work. Managers openly bring other employees down in front of their teammates.

    Advice to Management

    Please perform a confidential employee engagement survey with a third party like Aon for instance and see how unhappy your employees are and where they need you to take action.

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2019-06-14
  3. "Evening Help Desk Support Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company and people to work for.

    Cons

    None. Needed morning shift and they didn't have any occupancies.

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2018-08-08
  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great life/work balance. No long hours. Well organized. Great training.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    I can't think of any

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2018-04-03
  5. "Best Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time

    Pros

    - the type of mandates and level of responsibility entrusted early on - people - team aspect

    Cons

    - lack of junior lawyers makes for long hours

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2017-08-25
  6. "Good place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg full-time

    Pros

    Great place when you want to start on your career. People are great too.

    Cons

    Too big a divide between staff and Lawyers. Not enough openness.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the on a need to know basis. Stop treating staff like second class citizens.

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2016-06-11
  7. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg

    Pros

    - Beautiful offices - Smart people - Generally good administrative support - Interesting work (some of the time)

    Cons

    - Some difficult personalities - Long hours and expectation you will work nights and weekends all the time, i.e., work takes priority over everything else - Hard to get assistants to prioritize non-partner work - Up or out policy very early on - Endless boring due diligence

    Advice to Management

    - Upward feedback (students and associates reviewing partners) is missing completely and would be very helpful

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2016-03-17
  8. "Law Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg

    Pros

    Wonderful opportunities to work on amazing files with wonderful people.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about Davies. Occasionally the hours of work get long.

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2015-11-30
  9. "Great firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Student in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg

    Pros

    - Great learning experience and working environment - Surrounded by very accomplished and intelligent people - Well paid - Lot's of perks and benefits

    Cons

    - Long hours - Can be stressful

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2015-11-03
  10. "Stellar experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with brilliant people on challenging files. Invaluable training for my career. Great offices, it was a pleasure to go to work.

    Cons

    Intense hours due to intense competition, especially among students/stagiaires and young associates. Practically lived in the office (at least they paid for dinners).

    Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg2015-09-25
Found 17 reviews