Davis Vision Reviews | Glassdoor

Davis Vision Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Steve Holden
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Network Development - Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Development Specialist- Provider Recruiter in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Davis Vision for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team- I had fun with my co-workers. Independent environment. Free coffee. jeans on Fridays. Good Ins benefits

    Cons

    Horrible pay- My team only had 4 ppl where the teams behind us had almost 15-20 ppl but we seem to have a heavier work load. No training. our Christmas party was inside the building during work hours so the company is very cheap with their employees. And you receive a 49$ giftcard to Vision works which is their own company as gift instead of any bonus for the end of the year. Its pretty embarrassing.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your team and listen for problems - the recruiting team seems to get most of the work load in the network development department since the rest of the teams are pretty lazy or are temps who could care less to think about initial problems.

    Davis Vision2016-08-26
  2. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davis Vision

    Pros

    Nice people, nice work hours, good benefits, people willing to help, easy to talk with. Average salary, long beak time.

    Cons

    noise environment, over time working, bad management, pay is average. Some work not belong to certain people. no further opportunities.

    Davis Vision2016-01-08
  3. "Data entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Schenectady, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Davis Vision for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of overtime when I needed it

    Cons

    Can't move around as much as I would have liked

    Davis Vision2015-07-28
  4. "Stable Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Davis Vision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Stable Job -Met some great friends here -Opportunity to change your shift every 3 months -Both supervisors I've had are helpful and kind -Decent benefits (vision, medical, dental) -Overtime available at time and a half pay -Had meeting to brainstorm what areas can be improved, this was great however it was before the President left the company so no one knows if/when the topics will be addressed -After the union negotiated...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Sometimes frustrating talking to upset members or optical stores -Talking on the phone all day can get tiring -Does get repetitive -I have heard some supervisors are not helpful at all -Training is overwhelming at first but does sink in after awhile -Countless things that should be changed to improve the client experience but seems slow moving to actually change, hoping for the best...

    Advice to Management

    -Listen to the CSR advice! We are on the phones everyday and we know what can help improve the company. I was happy to hear investments are being made to fix and update the tech, etc, hopefully will see results sooner rather than later.

    Davis Vision2015-07-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Davis Vision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management involvement was very supportive

    Cons

    Company resisted change environment and was very heavily labor intensive.

    Davis Vision2014-09-23
  6. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Davis Vision

    Pros

    job is stable pay benefits are good

    Cons

    You say the same thing over and over all day

    Advice to Management

    get on the phone

    Davis Vision2011-10-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plainview, NY
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Davis Vision

    Pros

    Friendly, Close-knit, cohesive atmosphere, open to new faces and new ideas. Town Hall meetings and open door policies meant open lines of communication.

    Cons

    Low ball you on salaries, raises are not enough to cover the yearly increase on what are already terribly expensive health benefits. This company is relocating its offices out of state, so be aware that the next year will be very challenging to any new hires. They will be starting from scratch with little to no experienced employees on board. They definitely jumped into the pool before looking to see if there was water...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should have properly planned out your relocation plan and been more honest with the employees. You ripped the rug out from so many people, and have continuously rubbed salt into an already open wound. This why so few are trusting you and are not moving across the country to continue working for what once was one of the best companies on LI to work for.

    Davis Vision2011-09-20
  8. "Marketing l"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davis Vision full-time

    Pros

    Good company with growth opprtunity but you have to put work in in order to succeed .Conworkeds tend to help when you ask for it

    Cons

    Sometimes team members are not willing to do assigned work given to them saying its not their job to do it.But overall it is a good company

    Advice to Management

    Increase salary of workers and the reduce the workload off each employee.People in the call center are not treated the way they should be.

    Davis Vision2017-05-30
  9. "Poor Management and Lack of Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proposal Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Davis Vision full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Internal team/department was excellent. The workload was steady and not too overwhelming.

    Cons

    Management did not care for their employees' career path. The culture did not pair right with San Antonio. To advance in the company you needed to enter the company already in an executive position.

    Davis Vision2019-01-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Numbers, not humans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Latham, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Davis Vision full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Vision, Low cost dental.

    Cons

    - management is poor and a majority is unsupportive - quantity over quality - misinformation due to benefit interpretation - guideline representatives (majority) are rude and don’t teach. They talk down to you.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as people, not a number. Consider the lives people have outside of your company.

    Davis Vision2018-09-17
Found 64 reviews