Davis Wright Tremaine Reviews | Glassdoor

Davis Wright Tremaine Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Davis Wright Tremaine CEO Dave Baca (no image)
Dave Baca
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "it is not about the bottom line like so many law firms(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is regarded as a virtue and not to be tampered with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working in a an atmosphere of tension is not unusual in a law firm(in 9 reviews)

  • "As with most law firms, lawyers come first(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An excellent and healthy work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff 

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time

    Pros

    I truly enjoyed my time at Davis Wright Tremaine!

    Cons

    It is an intense work environment.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2019-07-29
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2019-06-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Beware of the shifting IST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time

    Pros

    Great physical environment, lots of things, they do respect life/work balance.

    Cons

    They are attorneys at heart and always looking to cut spending to line their pockets. IST is a constant shifting department. Beware of talk behind your back.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2019-05-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice location in downtown Seattle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, love the location,

    Cons

    Trust issues among employees, age discrimination (over 40, especially women)

    Advice to Management

    It's pointless to talk to management. You agree to everything or you will be replaced. Not open to feedback.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2019-04-17
  5. "Great IT culture, Attorneys are super friendly. Do recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I ping between the SF, Portland, DC, and Seattle offices so ymmv, but here's what I've experienced so far: - Great IT management. They give each new idea its due diligence, and act decisively when it makes sense. - IT co-workers are super friendly and helpful. Glass-half-full, can-do attitudes everywhere. - C-Suite IT leadership is involved at the ground level. No ivory towers (IT side, anyway). Directors... are equally helpful and truly interested in doing everything they can to help you succeed. - Flexible schedules, as long as you're delivering - Laptops are fast - Benefits are average - Work/life balance is regarded as a virtue and not to be tampered with. - Remote options are available to people with unique or in-demand skillsets Each office I've visited has: - Dual monitors, ergonomic chairs, electric rising desks - Super friendly onsite staff - Awesome hotel/travel reservation system, as well has hoteling-office reservation system (even better than WeWork, which is funny to me).

    Show More

    Cons

    Most law firms are risk averse, so new ideas can take a bit of doing. Nothing an ambitious go-getter can't make short work of.

    Advice to Management

    Change is difficult, but often necessary. I think you're making all the right moves to stay competitive and offer great value to your customers. The IT Labs initiative is super interesting and the work you're doing with machine learning and AI is impressive to say the least.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2019-01-25
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I feel like a valuable part of the team, and my professional development is important to our leadership, even though I am not an attorney. Although we are a large firm, everyone is very down to earth. The firm is dedicated to a diverse and inclusive environment.

    Cons

    No cons come to mind! I truly love my job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue building pathways for professional development. It is such a great investment!

    Davis Wright Tremaine2018-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many great people to work with across different departments.

    Cons

    Years of misguided IT management/direction, due to both instability at the CIO and Director level, as well as the attorneys/partners not allowing the department the appropriate degree of autonomy.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2018-09-26
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in practice scope and schedule.

    Cons

    Becoming less transparent on many issues.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2018-06-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible experience, avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time

    Pros

    Convenient, downtown location; collegial coworkers; retreat every two years

    Cons

    My practice group was plagued with low morale, low pay, a lack of business and rapid turnover. Nearly 30% of attorneys left within a year. The lack of business created a very hostile environment, where partners hoarded work and then pushed associates out the door. There is immense pressure to generate business and most associates end up doing nonbillable work, which counts for nothing.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2018-05-18
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Davis Wright Tremaine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, work from home opportunities, good diversity.

    Cons

    As with most law firms, lawyers come first. Staff is generally viewed as interchangeable. Had several encounters in the time I was there where an attorney initiated a conversation in the elevator but upon discovering I was not also an attorney just shut off and ignored me.

    Davis Wright Tremaine2018-02-09
Found 61 reviews