Daxko "lunch on fridays" Reviews | Glassdoor

Daxko Employee Reviews about "lunch on fridays"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Daxko CEO Ron Lamb
Ron Lamb
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Daxko is definitely rewarding team members that contribute significantly to the success of the organization(in 11 reviews)

  • "The new CEO is a complete embodiment of all that Daxko has lost(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lunch on fridays"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - free Friday lunch - the culture - it's like one big family - open concept office space, but individual meeting rooms/spaces when you need it - amazing benefits - flexible PTO - able to work from home easily when needed - can wear jeans/tshirts and active wear to work The list goes on and on!

    Cons

    Can't think of any :)

    Daxko2019-11-15

    Daxko Response

    December 5, 2019Director of People Development

    Thank you for the positive review. We are so glad you are here and are able to enjoy the culture, work, people and customers. We do have the best of all worlds!

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing company, culture, and co-workers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern office environment, free lunch on Fridays, product lines are always evolving, and good upper management.

    Cons

    Training program is not the best.

    Daxko2019-05-29

    Daxko Response

    June 1, 2019Director of People Development

    Thank you for your review. We agree, our co-workers are great and they are who make up the evolving products and awesome culture. Hopefully you will take advantage of the Daxko Development Rush in June and July. The rush will provide multiple professional development and training opportunities. Daxko's vision is to make the world a healthier and happier place. We will accomplish this through hiring, developing and retaining the best people. Thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Time for a Workers Union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time

    Pros

    Free Friday lunch "Unlimited" PTO Generally friendly team members Casual dress

    Cons

    Corporate culture is beginning to creep in. Employees have been forced at threat of termination to sign a new, over-reaching non-compete agreement for all active employees). New employees should be warned, they will be forced to sign this if they want to work at Daxko - READ IT CAREFULLY. If you are seen to be in violation of this agreement and you do not work in the company's headquartered state of Alabama, you will be forced to travel to Alabama at your own expense to engage in litigation over any issues. Additionally, YOU will have to pay for all of Daxko's corporate attorney fees plus any associated costs with no limit on what the total could amount to. Daxko wants you to know that they are willing to bankrupt you if need be. If you leave Daxko for any reason (your decision or theirs) there is a two year ban on direct or INDIRECT competition, which could be interpreted as just about anything. One of the great benefits that gave Daxko an edge was that they have the Achievers Club trip for top performers across the entire company rather than only rewarding the sales team as corporate companies do. This makes a lot of sense for a software company since your technology teams are the brains behind the business. Because of high level leadership changes and the board's desire to cut spending, Achievers Club has been renamed and is now reserved only for sales team members. The response to this review will probably say that there is a conference in a city with an existing Daxko office for non-sales team members in replacement of Achievers Club, but in reality the sales team are the only ones who get rewarded for hard work. If you are considering apply, you may way to reconsider. Daxko has become heavily sales focused. If you are in the technology field, just know you have better options.

    Daxko2019-02-20

    Daxko Response

    March 21, 2019Director of People

    Thank you for the feedback. We do have some pretty cool perks and great people in our office. We are all looking forward to warmer weather so that we can break out the shorts and flip flops. After a review of existing changes in laws and the acquisition of multiple companies, we wanted to ensure consistency across the entire organization. This did require us to roll out a revised restrictive covenants agreement, but please note, not much changed from the agreement we require all new hires to sign when starting. We agree that everyone should carefully review any document they are asked to sign. There has been a shift from Achiever’s Club, but it is not because we wanted to save money. Daxko Senior Leadership created the Daxko Development Conference to invite exponentially more individuals from across the organization to come together in one location to build cross-location and cross-team relationships, provide development opportunities and have some fun

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Work from home Flexible schedule Free lunch on Fridays & fully stocked fridge

    Cons

    The majority of people at Daxko are overworked and underpaid. The new CEO wants you to work longer and harder hours but I do not see any increase in compensation coming our way. It is definitely not the same company from before. There are also a lot of under qualified people in their positions which makes it hard to bear working with them.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2019-01-03

    Daxko Response

    March 12, 2019Director of People

    Thank you for the feedback provided in your review. You are right that Daxko is not the same company from before. There. We said it Change doesn’t mean worse. Daxko has always been known for the strong benefits package offered including flexible paid time off, strong health insurance options, paid sabbatical leave, free Friday lunch and most of all great team members. I want to provide better clarification to a few items. • Compensation – We use 3rd party data to ensure that the salary ranges offered are competitive within the market at that time. Does that mean that we always get it right and wouldn’t need to make adjustments? No. I’d encourage you to go to your team lead or come to the People Team directly so we can have a conversation about your situation. Since starting with Daxko in July, Ron Lamb, the new CEO, has implemented regular spot bonus recognition and increased the amount of the referral bonus from $1,500 to up to $7,500. These are both avenues to increase individual compensation. • Working longer hours - You mentioned some remarks that were made about the length of workday. Our CEO stated that although he routinely works from 7 AM to 7 PM, his expectation is that team members need to put in a solid 8-hour workday each day. We have many fun events at Daxko including team building events and unlimited PTO , but we all also know we are part of a mission—one where hundreds of YMCAs and JCCS rely on our products and services daily to positively impact their communities. This is why our motto is “work hard; play hard.” Please speak to your team lead or the People Team if anything remains unclear or concerning. • Development of management – Continuous development of everyone is important, especially forr leaders. This development occurs through events like the Daxko Development Conference where leaders will have close training from senior leadership team members and peers from across the organization. • Under-qualified people – Daxko has a rigorous interview process that allows hiring managers to identify the best people to join their teams. After a new team member joins Daxko, we know that skills will continue to develop from on the job opportunities and training—all which makes the individual, the team, and the company better. Again, thank you for your review. We believe we have the best people, a clear vision and opportunities for rewards and recognition of the great work from all of our teams. I encourage you to talk with your team lead, leadership team member or the People team to have further dialogue.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Do not believe the positive reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daxko full-time

    Pros

    Free Friday lunch. Free beverages. Free Healthcare.

    Cons

    Environment. Honestly believe all the not so overly positive reviews on here, because they are true. I feel sorry for poor person who has to write a positive rebuttal to this (see below lol). Although I'm sure someone in the company will get wind this review and post a positive rebuttal on the daxko blog themselves! Ha! This company is trying to hard to be like Google that they are losing so many good people. From the pointless meetings to the fakeness of Daxko's favorite employees this job is just a waste of your talent. Go elsewhere! RUN NOW!! or GET IT!!

    Daxko2018-04-13

    Daxko Response

    April 17, 2018Talent Engagement Coordinator

    Thanks for this impassioned feedback. It's disappointing to hear we didn't meet your expectations and that you feel as though your talent was wasted. That's definitely not the experience we want for any team member. Many teams do have meetings, and some more often than others; that's why we give team members Hyper-Focus time where they can work heads-down on important tasks and projects without any interruption. I hate to hear you think some of our team members are fake. We hire based on our core values, and I truly believe we have some of the most genuine and hardworking people on the Daxko team. I hope you've found a great place to work since leaving us and that you're able to truly utilize your talents and potential. PS: Don't feel sorry for the person writing the response - I love reading all reviews, positive and negative, because it allows me insight I wouldn't get otherwise. :)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "The cake is a lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daxko full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits: drinks, snacks, lunch on Friday, free medical insurance, professional development reimbursment

    Cons

    Daxo is all about culture and transparency. I heard those words so many times I started to feel brain washed. I wanted to believe in the company, the ideas, the training, the culture...but in the end I felt it was a lie. They preach diversity and inclusion, but if you don't fit their idea of how a person should act, you aren't included. You have to be a happy, bubbly person to fit in. What is diversity if not including those who are not like you? Even if you do your job well and work hard, if you don't fit the image they have in their head, you will be fired. And they will find a reason to make it look like it is for cause. I saw people doing silly things (and hating it) because it was expected and they wanted to try to fit in and keep their job. I think this may be a good job for someone just out of college who doesn't expect to get paid a lot For serious professionals, steer clear. If you go for an interview, make sure you would want to be friends with everyone you see. You might fit in and like it. Otherwise, leave. One last thing - Just because the CEO has a weekly meeting and talks about the company's financials and takes questions does not mean he is being transparent. He dodges the hard questions and makes everyone think they heard the truth.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2018-01-26

    Daxko Response

    January 31, 2018Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your honest review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, because let's face it, sharing this stuff isn't pleasant or easy. Thanks for your positive words about our benefits and perks! Diversity, inclusion, and transparency are all important to us. We don't expect team members to act a certain way to 'fit in'. Take it from me - I don't like acting silly in front of people and often don't. You won't see me participating in Lip Sync Battles or Talent Shows. Regardless, team members aren't judged for not participating in company-wide activities. The team members who do participate aren't forced. I wish you the best in all your future pursuits! -Janna

    Continue reading
  7. "Sometimes, the grass really is greener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    How much time do you have? I would highly suggest looking at the company careers page. Benefits: I've worked for several different employers and these are by far the best benefits I've had. For medical, I pay less for far more coverage, the time off earnings are extremely competitive and then there are things like Professional Development allowance, the time off associated with conducting professional development, and Sabbatical. Free Friday Lunch is amazing. There are also lots of hidden perks that come with the territory. It took a few weeks before I even discovered all the benefits. Work Space: Standing desks, coffee machines, stocked cooler, open and creative work environments, themed demo rooms. I often have to keep myself reminded of how unique our office is so I don't simply get used to it. Culture & People: Transparency here is no joke. You will get direct insight into how the company runs, how the financials are looking, and what you can do to make a direct impact. The sense of ownership is strong and people know what they need to do to make a difference. We don't have departments at Daxko, we have Teams. In my short time so far at Daxko, I have built great relationships and know I have someone to count on at work. In my experience, that is rare. The opportunities for growth are here, the recognition and rewards are for the taking. The environment is fast pasted, imposes new challenges each day, and always keeps me on my toes. I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Cons

    The learning curve can be steep. At times you might feel overwhelmed or at a loss as to how to move forward in your role. If you're intimidated by change or not ready to get out of your comfort zone, this is probably not "it" for you.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2017-10-13

    Daxko Response

    October 16, 2017Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you for this review! I'm glad you've had a great experience with us and that you value our benefits, workspace, and opportunities for growth. I hope you're able to grow your career even more in the coming months! -Janna

    Continue reading
  8. "Strong culture, transparency, fast-paced atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time

    Pros

    Daxko doesn't joke about culture. They recognize that happy & fulfilled team members work better & harder. The culture is deep & it's contagious. The team here is all in -- and that's a good thing! New team members can feel it on Day 1. Transparency from top to bottom! This was a HUGE deal to me when I started at Daxko. Our CEO has weekly Q&A sessions where any team member can ask any question they have about the company & what's going on. Also, leadership isn't behind closed doors in stuffy offices that remove them from everyone else -- they sit in the middle of the office & are always approachable for a question or just a quick hello. The open office space lends to a collaborative work environment. Daxko truly cares about providing rewarding careers to their team members. Every team member has a professional development budget to attend conferences or workshops, pay for books, join professional organizations, etc. Benefits are FANTASTIC! Plus perks like Free Friday Lunch & free drinks/fruit/coffee on the daily, casual dress code & other random treats & surprises are awesome. Everyone is willing to lend a helping hand. People here recognize that Daxko is a TEAM & are willing to help out. In my first few weeks at Daxko, I had TONS of questions & every person I interacted was more than happy to help.

    Cons

    Daxko is a very fast-paced atmosphere. Things are constantly changing. There's definitely an adjustment period if you're not used to that kind of work environment. If you don't do well with change or prefer a slow-paced daily work experience, Daxko may not be the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2017-08-02

    Daxko Response

    August 4, 2017Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daxko full-time

    Pros

    Daxko has all you could ever want. It certainly intrigued me! From free health benefits, free Friday lunches and abundant bowls of fruit to endless and multiple choices of cold beverages. The office environment his hip and there are a lot of really nice people that work here. The People Team should be your Sales Team.

    Cons

    But does that matter? Integrity is questionable. The motto is hire slow, fire fast as well as to hire cheap and young. They have even let some really valuable employees go lately making me fear my own job security. If you want to last here for a long time- look elsewhere. And while all may seem peachy on the outside looking in, it is really quite a hostile and toxic environment with a lot of backstabbing and passive aggressive behaviours of passing blame or throwing others under the bus. The lack of maturity amongst the workforce makes it seem like romper room at times. Nothing has been the same since we got new investors. We've been sold out.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2017-08-14

    Daxko Response

    August 14, 2017Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review; we learn a lot from both the positive and negative feedback we receive, so I really appreciate your candor. People often cite that our hiring philosophy is "hire slow, fire fast," but I'd like to explain what this means. Hire slow means we're careful to find the right person for every open role, and this often means taking time to conduct several interviews. Fire fast means that if someone is not in the right seat on the bus, it's unfair to that person and their team to keep them on board. I'm sorry your experience hasn't been what you'd hoped. As a current team member, please know that you can come to The People Team at any time with any feedback or concerns you have. I truly hope your experience with us gets better.

    Continue reading
  10. "Work hard, play hard, have fun doing both"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Office Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Daxko full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - culture: while possibly overwhelming to some when you first start, the culture of this place is contagious. People are happy to be doing what they're doing. They are happy to come to work. Leadership promotes transparency and teamwork. You catch on, and you start to understand why people are the way they are. - atmosphere: super casual and laid back. You are allowed to be comfortable. It's not about being stuffy and dressed best - it's about using the space and tools around you to get your job done well. There are open work areas all over the office. It's refreshing to change up scenery. - people: most people here are always willing to lend a hand or chip in to get something done. Collaboration and innovation are genuinely encouraged from leadership. Of course there is always your office drama, but that is few and far between here. - benefits: Top notch. You will be hard pressed to find better in the area. 15 days PTO to start, great insurance coverage, daily perks in the office. Free Friday lunches are every single Friday. You have two fridges stocked with nearly any drink you'd want. - office: it's beautiful. Really. Light and airy. Modern. Colorful. Promotes a comfortable, cheerful work atmosphere. - career development: you work hard and learn, you will get recognized. In my short time there, I saw several people get promoted from within.

    Cons

    I would say that if you aren't into the benefits, perks, and culture this company offers, you will not be happy here. The culture is deep and the people here really believe in it. It will not go away. Also, the pay may not be the highest, but the benefits, in my opinion, more than make up for that.

    Continue reading
    Daxko2017-04-28

    Daxko Response

    May 1, 2017Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for this review! I'm glad your experience with us was a great one. We're lucky to have awesome people like you.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews