DayNine Consulting Principal Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

DayNine Consulting Principal Consultant Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
DayNine Consulting CEO Tim Ramos
Tim Ramos
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth and experience. DayNine provides an environment that is friendly and not shy to promote. Very great co workers who are all very intelligent.

    Cons

    Often you get thrown into the deep end very quickly without guidance. This can lead to stressful moments, but can also lead to accelerated growth. Very much a sink/swim kind of place.

    Advice to Management

    Tim is a great guy and I really appreciate the environment that he has created. People management is also good (for the most part). Would like a more diverse leadership team (male, female, ethnicities).

    DayNine Consulting2017-01-06
  2. "Senior Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative. Great culture. Very fun and connected. Great for younger consultants who like community in the workplace.

    Cons

    Becoming more and more like the big 4, and less of a boutique, which may be good, if you like the 100% road warrior travel and giant projects that last over a year. Also, minimal PTO compared to most other consulting firms.

    Advice to Management

    Become more competitive from a total rewards and work/life balance perspective.

    DayNine Consulting2015-07-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "DayNine Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly office environment - Very willing to invest in talent - Exposure to challenging consulting work - Elite training and on-boarding experience - Incredible transparency - Worker independence - Accessible leadership team

    Cons

    - Could take time to get hours on a project

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible Opportunity for Self-Starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Rapid Expansion. DayNine is expanding so rapidly that anyone employed today has the opportunity to lead and move up quickly. If you are able to rise to the occasion. You will determine your career trajectory. *Ever Changing. DayNine is always changing and will always be changing. It took me almost 3 years to realize that this is a feature not a bug. If you are not comfortable with volatility and are scared by... change, stay away. To thrive, you must pull yourself up and adapt. *Open Communication. In my nearly 3 years here, I've had several frustrating experiences with other people. The kind of experiences that, when left unattended, fester into animosity and opposition. But it is expected that we resolve them through open and honest communication. Every single time it's worked. People are willing here, but it's hard to take that first step and reach out to resolve. You have to do it. *The People. I have never worked with a better group of people. Every single one of them has inspired me to be better. D9ers are empowered to start their own events, clubs, and receive support from leadership to fund them. Volunteer your time, get others to join you. This is a place where you will make life-long friends.

    Show More

    Cons

    *The Business of You. This is not a place where you'll plug in and be comfortable. You will not be coddled, you will not be handed a book of SOPs, they don't exist. You will be expected to grow yourself, proactively seek support (of which there is plenty), and communicate openly. This company is almost like a collection of entrepreneurs. You are your own business here. You must be scrappy, you must drive your own... experience. There are others doing similar, others are happy to help, but no one will do it for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    *It is clear you have decided on how you want to run the organization. It will and has upset people. Tim's message hasn't changed, but it doesn't seem that people understand the depth of what he means. Recruiting may need to get clearer on what we need to expect coming in the door. *Stay the course.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All in all, I'm very happy working for DayNine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Here are my two cents: *Growth: DayNine is a rapidly growing late start-up, so there is a lot of opportunity to grow and constantly absorb as a consultant, as well as be a part of and driver of company growth. I came from a large, established company, so this has been a refreshing and great experience for me. *Flexibility: I love the flexibility that comes with a job like consulting. I am able to work from... home if I have doctors' appts, etc. If I absolutely have to, I can work remotely. I am able to take my work home with me, so I do not feel pressure to work late in the office if I have things to accomplish. *Prestige: DayNine is looked upon very highly in the "Workday Ecosystem." Although some DayNiners often (sometimes too often) toot their own horn about this, it is a widely recognized fact that DayNine is a group of high caliber consultants that deliver high caliber product to our clients. *People: The people that I've encountered are very much about teamwork - no cutthroat culture here. Everyone likes to have fun, and our office fridge always has beer and wine fully stocked for happy hour on Fridays. I genuinely like the people I work with, and that means a lot to me. *Bonus Package: A quarterly bonus package with an expected payout that is upwards of 20% of your base salary. I have not yet received less than the on-target total. *Many great locations: With hub locations all over the US and an expanding market in Europe and even APJ, travel and relocation options are very exciting here. *Travel: Get to keep all miles, points, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    *Compensation: Base compensation seems to be in the lower range within the Workday Ecosystem. Bonus package somewhat makes up for it. *PTO Plan: Disappointed in PTO accrual at DayNine. In the U.S. it is 10 days for your first two years, and 15 days after that. Most companies nowadays are trending higher with their PTO packages, and DayNine is stuck at the back of the bus here. *Travel: As with any consulting... position, travel can really wear on you. Especially during certain times of the deployment you could be traveling 100% for a few months or more. However, I have had stretches of a few months where I've only had to travel once a month. Depends on the lead consultant, the client, and the point you are at in the project.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  6. "Growing Consulting Firm a Great Environment for Highly Motivated People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Access to core and practical Workday training in addition to any other relevant Workday courses - Not much structure, so employees are able to create a culture/environment that best suits them - Dedicated hub offices make it possible to have a collaborative environment - Great, tangible opportunity to move up for those who are motivated and willing to work hard - Leadership fairly transparent when it comes to... company financial results and planned organizational changes. - Emphasis on culture, offices are much more laid back than your typical cubicle scene - Newly-implemented quarterly performance evaluations (was semi-annually before) provides opportunity for promotions and/or merit increases - Quarterly bonuses - Insurance coverage is outstanding (in terms of cost) for singles - Open and honest feedback is frequently requested, given and encouraged - No level of leadership is considered "off limits" when it comes to conversation. You can walk up and chat with the CEO just the same as you can lean over the cube wall and talk to your neighbor. - Great co-workers and everyone is willing to help you at a moment's notice.

    Show More

    Cons

    - While leadership is fairly transparent, sometimes the timeliness/context of certain announcements leaves much to be desired. - Factors impacting quarterly bonuses typically aren't known until days before the bonus payout is to take place, making it hard for employees to plan their personal budgets - While lots of feedback is given/received, there's not always proof that action is taken based off of that... feedback. This may just be a matter of communicating the connection between feedback and change more effectively. - Insurance coverage for families is quite expensive - It can be very hard to maintain a work/life balance when trying to deliver on multiple projects. - People Manager system typically tasks busy consultants with trying to oversee the career paths of a handful of direct reports. This essentially teaches you to fend for yourself, and simply keep your People Manager aware of your achievements. It's not imperfect, but doesn't seem to match up with the intended function of the People Manager system.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are likely to be growing pains in the short term (hence the neutral six month outlook) as the company strives to become bigger and better, but I think that ultimately the company will be much stronger and more focused than before. I like the move to quarterly evaluations, and always appreciate the desire to improve ourselves as a company.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "DayNine Promoter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great leaders! Workday is a fun system, and DayNine is the best in the business for implementing, so if you are interested in Workday, DayNine is where you want to be. DayNine supports a "work hard, play harder" culture, so prepare be around the best and the brightest, who all have many talents as well outside the workplace, and also enjoy doing happy hours often. There are plentiful... opportunities within the company, and as the company continues to grow so do the opportunities. I came in as a mid-level consultant, and within 6 months I was executing senior level work, and within 9 months I was involved in pre-sales work. Since DayNine is a startup, the visibility is very high (even amongst the senior executives), so if you are good it will be noticed and recognized quickly.

    Show More

    Cons

    DayNine is doubling in size year over year, and with the rapid growth they experience growing pains. The subject matter expertise in some of the functional domains is low (since Workday is still very new), and it puts too much pressure and strain on the senior resources to ramp everyone up, sometimes leading to poor work/life balance and turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! As a DayNine alumni, I am still very much a promoter of the company. I still come around to DayNine events, and still hang with a lot of my DayNine colleagues. I only left to pursue a career outside of consulting, and would not hesitate to go back if I decide to go the consulting route again.

    DayNine Consulting2014-11-18
Found 7 reviews