DayNine Consulting Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Consultant

DayNine Consulting Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
DayNine Consulting CEO Tim Ramos
Tim Ramos
9 Ratings
  1. "Great culture, open and honest communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The communication here is truly open and honest, in a way that I have not seen in over a decade of working for a number of different companies. You are not only encouraged to come forward with feedback and ideas but it is an expectation of everyone in the company. The people here are some of the nicest and brightest you will run into in the consulting world.

    Cons

    The pace of change is extremely fast because of the growth and this can be very hard for some to adjust to at times who are accustomed to companies with slower paced environments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great culture going strong, even with rapid growth.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-19
  2. "Senior Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative. Great culture. Very fun and connected. Great for younger consultants who like community in the workplace.

    Cons

    Becoming more and more like the big 4, and less of a boutique, which may be good, if you like the 100% road warrior travel and giant projects that last over a year. Also, minimal PTO compared to most other consulting firms.

    Advice to Management

    Become more competitive from a total rewards and work/life balance perspective.

    DayNine Consulting2015-07-08
  3. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Integration Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Very good in training consultants. Good growth opportunities for employees. Team work truly defined in company (not just on paper in reality)

    Cons

    Bonus structure is tricky. you will get it, but .....

    DayNine Consulting2015-05-11
  4. "Great place to work for the right kind of person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No two weeks are ever the same. We are growing at a crazy rate and it takes the right kind of person to thrive in that kind of environment. You are expected to be a self starter and direct your own career. Although everyone has a "People Manager," they are not constantly checking in and telling you what to do. I absolutely love not having a boss micromanaging my every move! If you aren't afraid to make the calls to... other consultants and shout out that you have time available to help or, even better, if you see a need and can bring people together to be able to fill it, this place is a dream come true! All of the other consultants I've worked with in my few months here have been great! Every one of them has been willing to drop everything and help me work through problems. I have also had the chance to eat dinner with the entire executive team right after I started. Every single one of them was open and honest with their answers to very direct questions about the company direction and why they did things the way they did. This job has exceeded all of my expectations!

    Show More

    Cons

    The work environment can be intimidating or even scary to an inexperienced consultant. Although everyone is willing to help you out, there is no real hand holding and you are pretty much expected to find your own work from day one. (Which I think is AWESOME!) Although there are guidelines and we have methodologies we follow, you are not told what you should be doing. All of the resources are available if you just... take the time to do your own research. If you need to have a supervisor constantly looking over your shoulder and telling you what to do next, this is not the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep being open and honest about what is happening around the company. As we continue this explosive growth, don't lose sight of the 9 Beliefs or hold the company together with red tape. During my panel interview, I asked Jeanne how she expected to keep the current company culture alive and thriving with all of the planned growth. (My last company crashed and burned when they tried to grow too quickly.) Part of what... she said was that they only hired consultants that had the same drive and beliefs that were already instilled in the company. Keep that up. Only hire the cream of the crop who will thrive in this environment. Don't settle for "good" consultants just to build the numbers up.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  5. "Opportunity to grow, Team environment, Good place to learn and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Integration Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Everyone is heard, company is very interested in employee satisfaction 2) Great opportunity to choose your path, prove it is a good path and get it approved 3) There is a great team feeling in projects and in-house projects

    Cons

    1) Small company but growing fast. It is hard to keep staffing vs hiring balance 2) Lots of changes constantly. Right when you figure out a policy or procedure, they go and change it 3) Quick to react to issues but not always a good reaction

    Advice to Management

    Instead of reacting to issues from outside, let's take a breath and figure out the best way to resolve the issue. That way we won't have to be changing policies and procedures quarterly and the same ones over and over again. A better alignment of resources and skills is needed, together with refraining from assigning a resource to a project without the necessary skill just because they are available and there is no... one else.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  6. "Growing Company that has plenty to offer for Self Starters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance quickly in career. Great people at company. Great Culture. Company does offer 1% 401K match. HUGE Plus for a small company. Growing Rapidly and will sponsor Workday Certifications Work on Macs

    Cons

    Compensation will be on the lower end in the Workday Consulting marketplace. Benefits are great for individuals, but when it comes to significant other, kids or family, its outrageous! PTO is poor. Overworked. Possible to be on 4 or more projects at once.

    Advice to Management

    More training needed for Consultants. More focus on Employee's career path and how to achieve goals. People Managers need to be knowledgable about companies career path.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Overworked, undertrained!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working hear are the cream of the crop.

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance Their is an expectation to work hard all the time with no clear staffing strategy. You are constantly juggling multiple clients and just expected to deal with it. Due to the workload, you are constantly working on weekends and on holidays with very little work/life balance. Training As soon as you get a new Workday certification, they begin to staff you in the area right away; oftentimes... leading you to learn on the job (with no/limited mentor-ship). This is not fair to clients who are looking to us to be experts while we are still wet behind the ears. Benefits The benefits are through a third party and are expensive if you are purchasing family coverage. Compensation The base comp is lower than competitors while the bonus is a little higher than competitors. Management The company has had multiple re-organizations over the last two years and has resulted in more non-billable management roles being added. Lately. the Senior Management roles are typically given to outsiders and their is a limited opportunity for individuals who have helped the company to grow.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rethink staffing; it is not reasonable for consultants to juggle more than 2 clients at the same time. Rethink compensation, put more into the base pay (guaranteed pay) and less into bonuses. Rethink benefits, I know this is one of the most costly expenses for a company, but the third party approach is expensive for your employees.

    DayNine Consulting2014-12-06
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Company is in the right industry but managed terribly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Integration Consultant in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Workday in general is very hot and despite their failings they will grow and do well because the industry is so hot. Compensation for upper tiers is okay. Since they keep losing people and the fact they are hiring so many people there is opportunity to move up quickly for the right person. I will admit they took a chance on me, and I feel others too. They are often willing to take people with diverse... backgrounds and train them into Workday, which I don't think a lot of other partners are willing to go to those lengths.

    Show More

    Cons

    They take a shotgun approach to sales. They will basically sell anything related to Workday without thought of how to staff that deal. Or when it comes down to crunch time they will prioritize this project over that, then leave other projects in the cold. It's really frustrating to work like this and just feel like I can never make all my clients happy. This values and transparency is really rather dumb in... practice. I gave an honest answer on my quarterly review of the company then I'm later told that since it was a negative score I would most likely (and was not) considered for a manger role. I know many managers who have a similarly negative view of the company but yet they will continue to have a manager lead 8+ people while expecting them to bill 120%. This doesn't promote growth of people it just tells them their manager is too busy, so go do it on your own.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose people until you figure out how to staff properly. Staffing by spreadsheet is asinine when you tell consultants to forecast 6 weeks so the staffing people simply book people 7 weeks out without any regard to the actual project timeline. As well as managing 5+ clients is nearly impossible for most consultants. Additionally you need to promote some of the analyst/associate level people... more quickly, especially those who take on the role well. More than a few times I saw people leave the company for better pay/level because you were too slow to recognize their contributions.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2014-09-20
  9. "Best corporate family I have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture of 'Getting Naked' is real from top down. By this I mean that the culture is fairly transparent about the company's strengths and weaknesses. Interactions with clients are frank and open. Leadership team is involved in maintaining culture and is responsive not only to business changes but to employee satisfaction. A lot of effort is put into the selection process to ensure that the new people we hire... are as awesome as the team already on-board. High emphasis on customer satisfaction as well. Bonuses are tied to NPS scores but management is selective with clients to ensure that we partner with companies who share similar values so DayNine is positioned for success.

    Show More

    Cons

    Smallish company that is developing some of the infrastructure that a larger company has. Fast moving and constantly changing. If you want a consistent work environment where little changes from day to day, this is not the place for you. You have to (get to) initiate the changes you want to see. My experience is that career opportunities lie more in the breadth of the experiences than necessarily in a vertical... path although there are certainly areas for people who want to advance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees and clients.

    DayNine Consulting2013-04-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not your average 8 hr job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great learning opportunity -Very dependable higher management -Helpful co workers -Decent benefits, although no 401k -Great flexibility and culture

    Cons

    - Growing too fast- both pro and con - Due to the fast growth and workday being still very new, very few ppl to train and develop new talent, that is growing like weeds. - Come here ONLY if you are ready to read and figure out stuff on your own. Though coworkers are willing to help, they are swamped as well. - Flat management structure. No transparency on why ppl get promoted or how appraisals are... done. Everything is word of mouth. - No real direction and goals except to follow big daddy workday. - Emphasis on high performers, almost gives one the feeling like 'average joe' is not good enough. So constant push to raise the bar.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Now that we are competing with the big boys, we need to get a solid management structure in place. This will help attract, develop and retain talent.

    DayNine Consulting2012-07-08
Found 13 reviews