DayNine Consulting "willing to help" Reviews | Glassdoor

DayNine Consulting Employee Reviews about "willing to help"

Updated 1 Apr 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
DayNine Consulting CEO Tim Ramos
Tim Ramos
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Core values (D9 Beliefs) are very in-line with my own which makes it a great place to work(in 11 reviews)

  • "Willing to help no matter how big or small the task(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be hard to strike effective work-life balance at times(in 16 reviews)

  • "Growing fast which caused a lot of growing pains and often heavy workloads(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "willing to help"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great People and Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DayNine is a premier Workday partner and is growing rapidly creating a lot of opportunity for the company overall and for the individual employees. This is a great place to work if you are a high performer that likes to be challenged, grow, and are passionate about what you do. The culture and people make DayNine an amazing place to work and the "nine core beliefs" are truly integrated into the culture. I have... consulted for many years and have never worked at a company that is so focused on making sure their customers are happy and understanding the key to this success is making sure it's people are happy, challenged and have opportunity to develop and innovate. It is all about getting the right people on the bus and making each person realize their full potential. You need to be independent but it is a supportive culture in that people are willing to help each other even when they are busy. You need to work hard but have fun in the process. Workday is an innovative cloud solution using cutting edge technology. Working at DayNine gives you the opportunity to gain expertise in Workday and also the opportunity to partner with Workday on product development and innovation.

    Show More

    Cons

    DayNine has a good structure in place and methodology and procedures are well defined. However, it is also a very innovative company which can lead to change through improvements. Workday also continues to evolve as a product so consultants need to constantly be on top of new functionality. As a result, DayNine is a great fit for people that enjoy continuing to learn and to develop. It is not a good fit for those... that do not want to keep learning or want to work in a highly structured environment that will be predictable over a long period.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the weekly company meetings as they keep everyone up to date and engaged. In addition, continue with the transparent approach.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  2. "Why NOT Daynine?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting

    Pros

    The culture and people are amazing! You're not bound by all these rules and policies. The expectation is for you to do the job you're hired to do..pretty simple right? As a newbie, help was just a skype/email away. There is always someone willing to help and share knowledge. Nashville is constantly growing which is very exciting which also means many opportunities to grow within the company.

    Cons

    You do work hard and it can be overwhelming at times, HOWEVER, Daynine make a conscious effort to encourage the "play hard" aspect of our core values.

    DayNine Consulting2016-04-01
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting

    Pros

    Culture - Although it has changed a lot recently, it is nice not having the typical corporate bs found at my previous consulting companies. I enjoy the laid back hubs and ability to meet with other people in the company. Great Consultants - We work with some really talented experienced consultants and people are almost always willing to help you with whatever you need. Future - Outlook for jobs and growth is... great within DayNine, if for no other reason than how quickly Workday is exploding in the ecosystem.

    Show More

    Cons

    Staffing - Expect to be working on multiple projects at once doing different things on each and sometimes across all continents. There is constantly a shortage of hours and resources on projects because projects are sold due to lower number of hours. Work/Life Balance - Depending on your role, you will be required to travel a lot more than the advertised 50%. Although required, travel is not forecasted, so... expect over 40 hours of client work a week, in addition to travel and internal responsibilities/meetings. I have AVERAGED 60 hours a week since I was first staffed on a project. Advancement - Advancement ends once you reach the top of your career path (project management or consulting). There are no consulting manager or consulting partner roles to develop into like my previous companies. Also, no opportunities are given to current employees who want to move into leadership roles (Regional Directors, RVP, etc). Best way to advance is to give a high NPS and talk about how great D9 is, regardless of your level. Benefits - Very expensive for someone who is trying to cover a spouse and kids. 401k match really low.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review all benefits, especially compensation. What happened to the budget for spot awards that was create a while back by lowering salary bands? Maybe they still exist, but haven't heard in a long time. Be more involved in projects, as I see leadership at kickoffs and then never again during the project. Sales seem to be celebrated way more than successful projects. Continue to work on developing career paths..., as there is no defined criteria for moving from one level to the next. It's been said this has been in the works since before I joined, but nothing has ever surfaced.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2015-03-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A company for winner willing to work hard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    DayNine is a company not for the light-hearted. We are an ambitious company that demands ambitious talent. Other competitors create a cookie-cutter positions where you sit in a chair day-in and day-out doing the same things. Those companies make you the middle-mad between actual clients and offshore outsourcing. I say this with first-hand experience with those other companies. Innovation is allowed! DayNine... will not hold your hand. They assume that if you got the job that you have a brain and are willing to use it. Not to say that we are not a team willing to help out one another, because there is plenty of help. You are expected to bring a certain level of talent to the table. That expectation also carries the privilege of allowing creativity. You will not find that at other companies. DayNine is flexible and agile. They do this by empowering each and every employee. Compensation is fair, not too high, but at the same time not too low. Opportunities are everywhere. There is room to grow in every direction. The career paths are seemingly endless due to the rapid growth of the company. They treat you like you are intelligent. This is sometimes mistaken for lack of structure, but I see it as an empowering method. If you do not want to empower an employee, put them in a box. If you do want them empowered and innovative, let them out of the box and make decisions. let them craft the methods that work.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you want hard-core structure, this is not the place for you. Like I said above, if you have a brain, you want to exercise it with creativity and innovation. Companies that do not allow that have an immense amount of structure. Ok, fine this is technically not a con.

    Advice to Management

    Onboarding could be smoother. Considering how young this company and how fast it is growing it was like I expected it to be.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Most fun I've had at work in 15 years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Organization - Workday is an exciting cloud-based platform that is growing quickly. Very much cutting edge technology and it's a lot of fun to be a part of that. - It is a very flat organization and there are great opportunities to grow for anyone willing to take on the challenges. Opportunities exist in management, consulting or helping to open up international offices. - The pace of change is extremely... fast. I find that to be exciting and I'm constantly learning something new. The Culture - It is a work hard, play hard culture and creating happy clients is very much at the forefront. - Guiding principles are the 9 Beliefs. Very much engrained in the culture and guides decision making at all levels. I like working for a place where one of the core values is to "treat others the way you wish to be treated". The People - Smart, energetic an fun. I enjoy coming into the office and like the people around me. No egos. The Leadership - Extremely supportive and responsive. Willing to help no matter how big or small the task. Will not ask you to do something they would not do themselves. - Will challenge you to get better, always.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There's a lack of structure around internal processes but I also look at that as an opportunity to add value and fix problems. - Since it is such a new ecosystem and there's not much precedent, some of the measurement targets appear to be more aspirational than realistic.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek insight from all aspects of the business. Good ideas don't always come from the top.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DayNine is a great consulting company to work for. They are a premier partner with Workday and have a great reputation. The people, from top to bottom are a huge differentiator (in my opinion). There is a lot of transparency at the executive level and our recruiting team does a great job bringing in the "right" people. Everybody is willing to help out and there is a lot of internal support. I have referred a... few candidates and will continue to refer new consultants to DayNine.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any consulting company, working for customers can always be a challenge. Travel can also be a downfall, depending on what clients you end up getting staffed on. This all comes with the territory though.

    Advice to Management

    Continue keeping us in the loop (business development, new positions, challenges, etc.)

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  7. "Growing Consulting Firm a Great Environment for Highly Motivated People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Access to core and practical Workday training in addition to any other relevant Workday courses - Not much structure, so employees are able to create a culture/environment that best suits them - Dedicated hub offices make it possible to have a collaborative environment - Great, tangible opportunity to move up for those who are motivated and willing to work hard - Leadership fairly transparent when it comes to... company financial results and planned organizational changes. - Emphasis on culture, offices are much more laid back than your typical cubicle scene - Newly-implemented quarterly performance evaluations (was semi-annually before) provides opportunity for promotions and/or merit increases - Quarterly bonuses - Insurance coverage is outstanding (in terms of cost) for singles - Open and honest feedback is frequently requested, given and encouraged - No level of leadership is considered "off limits" when it comes to conversation. You can walk up and chat with the CEO just the same as you can lean over the cube wall and talk to your neighbor. - Great co-workers and everyone is willing to help you at a moment's notice.

    Show More

    Cons

    - While leadership is fairly transparent, sometimes the timeliness/context of certain announcements leaves much to be desired. - Factors impacting quarterly bonuses typically aren't known until days before the bonus payout is to take place, making it hard for employees to plan their personal budgets - While lots of feedback is given/received, there's not always proof that action is taken based off of that... feedback. This may just be a matter of communicating the connection between feedback and change more effectively. - Insurance coverage for families is quite expensive - It can be very hard to maintain a work/life balance when trying to deliver on multiple projects. - People Manager system typically tasks busy consultants with trying to oversee the career paths of a handful of direct reports. This essentially teaches you to fend for yourself, and simply keep your People Manager aware of your achievements. It's not imperfect, but doesn't seem to match up with the intended function of the People Manager system.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are likely to be growing pains in the short term (hence the neutral six month outlook) as the company strives to become bigger and better, but I think that ultimately the company will be much stronger and more focused than before. I like the move to quarterly evaluations, and always appreciate the desire to improve ourselves as a company.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Company Formerly Full of Great People Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I started with D9 in 2013, it was a company full of talented people hoping to expand. There are several people you can learn a lot from, and most people were very friendly and willing to help.

    Cons

    The company touts transparency, while doing everything behind employee's back. No one in management knows how to stand up to clients, even when they are completely in the wrong, and would rather let their employees suffer because of it with late nights and weekends. In fact, I was told by project leads that late nights WERE the expectation. There is little work-life balance while working with D9. Employees are... always drowning in work and no one is ever willing to bring in additional resources to get relief from nights up past midnight. Beware of criticizing the company, I've heard the same story from many employees, while receiving great reviews during the performance reviews the tables were quickly turned when they gave the company negative feedback and suddenly their performance was called into question. Also, depending on the hub you're in you may be expected to work in-office every day you aren't traveling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Realize the increased turnover in the last year was completely avoidable. Employees are overworked, underpaid, and generally unhappy in an industry that is paying a premium for people with Workday experience. Don't ask for employee feedback if you don't want honest transparent feedback. And certainly don't turn legitimate complaints against employees that work hard for you and force them out.

    DayNine Consulting2014-10-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate Culture is great, leadership is too reactive - not proactive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology and the company is completely focused on delivering one product. The core employees, the consultants on the front lines, make up the best part of this organization. There is always someone willing to help a new consultant learn & stretch their skillset with Workday.

    Cons

    Company leadership is all about "billable hours & next quarter", which is important for a growing company and is a required mindset for a growing industry...but, there is a total lack of acknowledgement on the holistic picture for the consultants. Resources are staffed on up to 7-8 projects at one time. The People Management model is sold as a "peer-to-peer" management style. This only works if the PM is actually... a good fit for a management-type role. Unfortunately not everyone is cut out to be someone's supervisor and in order to advance within D9, you have to be willing to take on this role. Some people should be mentors, but not managers. This is a distinction that D9 does not want to acknowledge. In typical high-driving consulting fashion, there is no work/life balance

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2014-09-05
Found 9 reviews