DayNine Consulting "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

DayNine Consulting Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
DayNine Consulting CEO Tim Ramos
Tim Ramos
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Core values (D9 Beliefs) are very in-line with my own which makes it a great place to work(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great company culture with great people(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be hard to strike effective work-life balance at times(in 16 reviews)

  • "Growing fast which caused a lot of growing pains and often heavy workloads(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Boutique Consulting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting

    Pros

    Great culture Understanding Senior Management Fun Great focus on Workday

    Cons

    No work life balance Stressful at times

    DayNine Consulting2016-09-30
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting

    Pros

    Culture - Although it has changed a lot recently, it is nice not having the typical corporate bs found at my previous consulting companies. I enjoy the laid back hubs and ability to meet with other people in the company. Great Consultants - We work with some really talented experienced consultants and people are almost always willing to help you with whatever you need. Future - Outlook for jobs and growth is... great within DayNine, if for no other reason than how quickly Workday is exploding in the ecosystem.

    Show More

    Cons

    Staffing - Expect to be working on multiple projects at once doing different things on each and sometimes across all continents. There is constantly a shortage of hours and resources on projects because projects are sold due to lower number of hours. Work/Life Balance - Depending on your role, you will be required to travel a lot more than the advertised 50%. Although required, travel is not forecasted, so... expect over 40 hours of client work a week, in addition to travel and internal responsibilities/meetings. I have AVERAGED 60 hours a week since I was first staffed on a project. Advancement - Advancement ends once you reach the top of your career path (project management or consulting). There are no consulting manager or consulting partner roles to develop into like my previous companies. Also, no opportunities are given to current employees who want to move into leadership roles (Regional Directors, RVP, etc). Best way to advance is to give a high NPS and talk about how great D9 is, regardless of your level. Benefits - Very expensive for someone who is trying to cover a spouse and kids. 401k match really low.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review all benefits, especially compensation. What happened to the budget for spot awards that was create a while back by lowering salary bands? Maybe they still exist, but haven't heard in a long time. Be more involved in projects, as I see leadership at kickoffs and then never again during the project. Sales seem to be celebrated way more than successful projects. Continue to work on developing career paths..., as there is no defined criteria for moving from one level to the next. It's been said this has been in the works since before I joined, but nothing has ever surfaced.

    Show More
    DayNine Consulting2015-03-23
  3. "Fast paced Company with amazing culture and employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Office Culture is great - Great leadership with personalized attention - Great employees - Amazing Training process

    Cons

    - Travel and work-life balance As a services-oriented company, this is to be expected somewhat. I will say that management works very hard to ensure travel is limited and this is NOT a 50-week travel atmosphere. In regards to work-life balance, it is up to the employee to speak up and ask for help. It is an open and honest culture, so those request for help are taken seriously.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to the employees - it is what has made this company great and will continue to do so. Continue to promote from within as this helps keep all employees motivated for their potential career-path.

    DayNine Consulting2015-03-01
  4. "Growing company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company for self-starters; Ultra-high functioning teams that are truly committed to success; Industry and company are growing; Growth opportunities are available sooner than later; Very pleased with the benefits

    Cons

    Can be hard to strike effective work-life balance at times.

    Advice to Management

    Great people, ensure they don't burnout!

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-19
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time

    Pros

    The people here are absolutely incredible. Such a great environment to work in, and being surrounded by passionate, motivated hard working people is extremely inspiring. The environment the company represents in terms of how they care for employees and how everyone is able to contribute is something all companies should strive for. The management teams are transparent in their communication from top to bottom. You... feel like you mean something to the company from Day 1. There are opportunities galore to move vertically and horizontally within the business, so you can find your niche and what makes you most comfortable within DayNine.

    Show More

    Cons

    DayNine has some growing pains. Almost growing at a rate that is too fast! If you don't like change then stay away, this is a place that is constantly growing and evolving, which is a good thing as long as you can handle the pace! Also the certification and interview processes are very long and arduous. Work/life balance can get thrown off a bit when you are in crunch time, but that's expected in the consulting... realm.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-17
  6. "Different, Fun, Team Centered - A Good Place To Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loads of training available, company values are centered around clients and employees, culture is open and encourages lots of networking.

    Cons

    Lots of change, consultants must "protect" their personal time and be proactive in work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate growth plans, changes and plans!

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Awesome People Genuine Leadership Competitive Salary Hub Activities Workday Certifications Work Experience you can't/won't get elsewhere Grow as an employee and as a person

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance: I came from a job that I worked 40 hours a week and was applauded for the time I'd stay late or the weekends that I worked. At DayNine, this is expected. It's the nature of the business (especially when you're getting close to go-live). You will work more than 40 hours a week almost every week (sometimes a lot more). Time Off is hard to schedule because you're always on projects (often times... more than 3). You have to make time for your personal life. This is your responsibility wherever you work. Staffing: Leadership is working to fix the issues with staffing so I'm optimistic about the future but D9 is growing so quickly that staffing has become very difficult to deal with as a consultant. It's tough trying to balance clients in 4 different time zones and being available for meetings at their convenience. If you want to sit back and stay stagnant at your current job (and as a professional), don't apply to DayNine. Come here if you want to work with great people and grow yourself professionally.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep Hiring Great People Huge Focus on Internal Training - This is how we can separate ourselves from competitors. Invest in Leadership Development, specifically how Leaders can lead and be involved without physically being there (as consultants are always on-site)

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  8. "Growing Consulting Firm a Great Environment for Highly Motivated People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Access to core and practical Workday training in addition to any other relevant Workday courses - Not much structure, so employees are able to create a culture/environment that best suits them - Dedicated hub offices make it possible to have a collaborative environment - Great, tangible opportunity to move up for those who are motivated and willing to work hard - Leadership fairly transparent when it comes to... company financial results and planned organizational changes. - Emphasis on culture, offices are much more laid back than your typical cubicle scene - Newly-implemented quarterly performance evaluations (was semi-annually before) provides opportunity for promotions and/or merit increases - Quarterly bonuses - Insurance coverage is outstanding (in terms of cost) for singles - Open and honest feedback is frequently requested, given and encouraged - No level of leadership is considered "off limits" when it comes to conversation. You can walk up and chat with the CEO just the same as you can lean over the cube wall and talk to your neighbor. - Great co-workers and everyone is willing to help you at a moment's notice.

    Show More

    Cons

    - While leadership is fairly transparent, sometimes the timeliness/context of certain announcements leaves much to be desired. - Factors impacting quarterly bonuses typically aren't known until days before the bonus payout is to take place, making it hard for employees to plan their personal budgets - While lots of feedback is given/received, there's not always proof that action is taken based off of that... feedback. This may just be a matter of communicating the connection between feedback and change more effectively. - Insurance coverage for families is quite expensive - It can be very hard to maintain a work/life balance when trying to deliver on multiple projects. - People Manager system typically tasks busy consultants with trying to oversee the career paths of a handful of direct reports. This essentially teaches you to fend for yourself, and simply keep your People Manager aware of your achievements. It's not imperfect, but doesn't seem to match up with the intended function of the People Manager system.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are likely to be growing pains in the short term (hence the neutral six month outlook) as the company strives to become bigger and better, but I think that ultimately the company will be much stronger and more focused than before. I like the move to quarterly evaluations, and always appreciate the desire to improve ourselves as a company.

    DayNine Consulting2015-02-18
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Ok Place to Work - Difficult choice for the Long-Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time

    Pros

    At DayNine you will have the opportunity to work with very smart and extremely hard-working people. DayNine will sponsor you to get Workday Certification so long as it fits in with the needs of the business. There are many DayNine hubs around the country, and it's not difficult to transfer locations if someone needs to move.

    Cons

    The work-life balance at DayNine is very poor. Relationships with friends and family will suffer to meet the demands of the company. Unfortunately new consultants are given very little training before presented in front of clients, which can often times be embarrassing.

    Advice to Management

    Fix staffing so people aren't so worn down, train new people better, and be fair in your evaluations.

    DayNine Consulting2014-12-22
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Think Twice and Compare to Other Companies First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DayNine Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great consultant level people, feels like we're all in a life boat together! Love the diversity of projects and project experiences.

    Cons

    To much lip service to the 9 beliefs, not enough follow-through/up. Horrible project staffing strategies. You will have NO work/life balance. Forget focusing on one or two customers needs and experiences. You can expect three to four at a time, with constant jumping around. If I were a client, I would question the constantly rotating project team. Newly certified consultants are thrown out in the field with... little to no guidance. Their idea on boarding is a weekly 30 minute call with someone in HR covering the same information. about half way through your ramp up, the calls drop to about 5 minutes...almost like checking off a box. You'll work 50-65 hours on projects but plan to add 5-10 hours of travel on top of that. So much for a life outside of work. Hope you don't mind working weekends and holidays, it's expected! The worst part is they tell you to function as a team, then they force rank you against your peers for raises and promotions. All while not really clearly stating it. How does that foster team /group collaboration if I risk someone else getting the credit and raise for my work. Most major tech companies have moved away from forced ranking for that very reason.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You might want to consider fewer reorganizations and a more detailed, long-term strategic plan that isn't shot from the hip on a weekly basis.

    DayNine Consulting2014-12-27
Found 105 reviews