KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Dayton Freight

Engaged Employer

Dayton Freight

Add a Review

Dayton Freight Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 316 of over 331 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Dayton Freight President and CEO Thomas L. Cronin Jr.
Thomas L. Cronin Jr.
169 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Unfortunately, some of the terminal managers are lacking experience in the industry and pick and choose favorite drivers, regardless of safety.(in 5 reviews)
  • "formal training rather than learn as you go would be good improvement(in 4 reviews)
  • "Sometimes overall communication is lacking.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Some upper management are willing to put everything on those under them and are unwilling to adjust their lifestyle.(in 2 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Dayton Freight and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Amazing!!

    May 3, 2022 - Management Trainee in Crest Hill, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome way to begin a career with the Management Trainee program at Dayton. Awesome culture, great people, great experiences.

    Cons

    Depending on your position within the company, you can have some pretty wild hours at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Sep 28, 2022 - Part Time Dock Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Short work days with great pay scale. Friendly coworkers and relaxed environment

    Cons

    Working in all temperatures. Not much advancement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Part time first impressions

    Sep 6, 2022 - Dockworker/Forklift Operator in Toledo, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits Excellent Management

    Cons

    Schedule/ work life balance Fast paced

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Dayton Line Haul

    Sep 5, 2022 - Line Haul Driver in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Treated Professionally. Good Atmosphere. Equipment in better shape than most.

    Cons

    There really are no cons if you are going to work in LTL

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    It's a job, not a family

    Sep 16, 2022 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a stable private owned company.

    Cons

    They like to say they are all about family. But the truth is, they are all about making money. There is nothing wrong with that, but please, don't blow smoke up my rear end. When your usefulness has run out they will discard you like garbage. It's just a job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent company to work for

    Sep 14, 2022 - Part Time Dock Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive work environment Over all positive management Decent pay scale

    Cons

    No benefits for part time Limited to under 28 hrs weekly Difficult to move from part time into full time position

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Active Enviorment.

    Aug 22, 2022 - Forklift Operator in Greenwood, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An active environment where you can find a great job with a company that cares.

    Cons

    The dock can be very cold during the winter and warm layers will be needed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great job, Great Coworkers

    Aug 12, 2022 - Dock Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very well put together operation things run very smoothly and everyone is quick to give you a hand if needed

    Cons

    Nothing that i can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, difficult to get promoted

    Aug 24, 2022 - Dock Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good, management is very well ran, equipment is in great condition unlike most dock jobs

    Cons

    It is extremely difficult to get promoted to full-time. There are multiple employees that have been with the company for 5+ years and still haven’t been promoted even though they are perfectly qualified.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Management sucks. Good ole’ boys mentality. But funny co-workers, they make it fun.

    Aug 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Funny co workers. Not super strict.

    Cons

    Management sucks. Terminal Manager is terrible. Tells people they are going to be a driver in 6 months and doesn’t happen til 2 years later. No benefits for PT.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 316 Reviews

Dayton Freight Reviews FAQs

Dayton Freight has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 331 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Dayton Freight to a friend and 81% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Dayton Freight employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Dayton Freight. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

85% of Dayton Freight employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Dayton Freight 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Dayton Freight to be culture, management, benefits and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, career development.

Popular Careers with Dayton Freight Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Dayton Freight? Share Your Experiences

or

Dayton Freight Careers

Cover image for Dayton Freight

Dayton Freight offers shippers 1 or 2 day service to thousands of points throughout a 15 state area.More

  • Careers
  • Mission Values
  • Our Culture
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Dayton Freight

109 days ago

Careers
Our Corporate office is growing! As Dayton Freight has expanded, we are looking to strengthen our Corporate team. We are hosting In-Person Interviews Saturday, June 18 from 8 AM – 11 AM for a wide variety of positions and skill levels. Walk-ins are welcome with a resume or register by clicking “Apply now” Dayton Freight Corporate Office 6450 Poe Ave. 2nd Floor, Suite 216 Dayton OH 45414 OPEN POSITIONS (All positions In-Office): • Collections Analyst • Benefits/Leave Specialist • Transportation Coordinator-3rd Shift • Tax Accountant • Internal Auditor • Revenue Accounting/Collections Assistant • Interline Analyst • Claims Analyst/Administrative Assistant • Billing & Data Entry- 2nd Shift
Logo

Dayton Freight

151 days ago

Culture
This past Saturday, we invited all of the Dayton Freight Driver Reps to Corporate for an in-person Driver Rep meeting. This annual meeting is a great time to hear from our Drivers on the opportunities we have to grow! We also used this time to announce our new pay scale, which was a company record high. Local Drivers will start at Top of Scale, $31.20/HR and Linehaul Drivers at $0.74/Mile. Thank you to everyone who joined us, we are happy to see our employees in-person and together again!
Shared image
See all

Dayton Freight Photos

+ Add Photo
Dayton Freight photo of: Dayton Freight
Dayton Freight photo of: Team work on the Dayton Freight Dock.
Dayton Freight photo of: Come join our growing team!
Dayton Freight photo of: A team of our Drivers!
Dayton Freight photo of: Our break room is somewhere you can catch up with co-workers throughout the day.
Dayton Freight photo of: Our Dock is a great place to learn about how Dayton Freight and the industry work!
Dayton Freight photo of: Join our team of professionals today!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Dayton Freight Job Seekers Also Viewed

Old Dominion Freight Logo
Old Dominion Freight

3.9

834 Reviews
Compare