Daytop Village Reviews | Glassdoor

Daytop Village Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
25%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Daytop Village CEO Mike Dailey  (no image)
Mike Dailey
7 Ratings
  1. "Practice Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Practice Administrator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village

    Pros

    Fantastic dedicated co-workers to work with.

    Cons

    Agency closing, another merger. Community suffered with loosing this residential facility

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2015-08-18
  2. "Unfair pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Daytop Village part-time

    Pros

    Experience in the specific field of study

    Cons

    Non-profit so they dont provide good benefits/ or pay

    Daytop Village2019-03-13
  3. "Director Criminal Justice Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Daytop Village full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The agency did wonderful work helping many substance abusers change their lives and the agency had many fine benefits available to the staff.

    Cons

    When I was laid off in 2012, the agency was going bankrupt and working there was beyond difficult during this time.

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2018-02-07
  4. "Not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Daytop Village

    Pros

    great chef, credentialed therapists, credentialed case managers, overall positive people to work with, ropes course, pool, indoor and outdoor basketball court, school on site.

    Cons

    level of care not often appropriate for clientele being referred to program, high psychiatric needs at the wrong level of care.

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2016-11-16
  5. "Casemanager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Rehabilitation Case Manager in Pittsgrove, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village

    Pros

    You could really make a change in a kids life. You build attachments with the kids. You get to advocate for the youth. You work at your own pase.

    Cons

    There are alot of people that are power hauls. They don't really care about the kids, they find any reason to stop the kids from going home. Unification of the family is not important to them. They love to play bad cops. The therapist barely spend time with the kids, but makes executive decisions over them. As a casemanager I felt like I played both roles cm and therapist. We ran so many groups that we barely had time to do our casemanagement work. Some of the directors loved to denagrade the employees.

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2016-09-30
  6. "Hopefully better since "merging" with Samaritan Village"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substance Abuse Counselor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was close to home; had fair amount of autonomy; loved my clients! Especially lucky to have worked with the consultant who liaised with BOP and Federal Probation contracts. Learned a ton and made good connections

    Cons

    Too many to list! I have met many people who have worked at Daytop going back 20 years and they all say the same things about working there and I concur. I was there when the company was still in negotiations with Samaritan and left before the deal was finalized. It was a very unstable time there plus a a lot of the time was spent preparing for an OASAS audit. The audit done the year before I got there was really bad, so we had to go in and fix every single chart. Created problems getting current work done; had to cancel clients; ended up doing or finishing other peoples' work because they barely could do the client work and had trouble learning how charts were supposed to look. All Management's fault because what they wanted wasn't communicated, so, unless you already knew how to audit charts and audit them aimed at "highlighting" certain areas, you would end up being someone else's problem - this is when i started to burnout, which was just in time to become the de facto supervisor. Not acknowledged for doing the extra work by a "thank you," so no salary bump, recognition or even a few less clients.

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2016-09-18
  7. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Daytop Village

    Pros

    Working alone and learning new skills. Meeting new people.

    Cons

    The pay and no medical insurance.

    Daytop Village2016-03-14
  8. "More Cons than Pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village

    Pros

    Good people. Flexible schedule. Hour lunch

    Cons

    Bad pay, poor management. Poorer executive management

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2016-01-14
  9. "Over Night Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Over Night Counselor in Millbrook, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village

    Pros

    The experience working with the kids

    Cons

    The Environment and Lack of communication from other staff members

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2015-01-09
  10. "Good company that a bad thing happen to it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - House Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Daytop Village full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good company to work for.

    Cons

    They were fforced to merge with another company.

    Continue reading
    Daytop Village2014-12-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews