De Vere Reviews | Glassdoor

De Vere Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Tony Troy
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours with no overtime paid(in 10 reviews)

  • "Poor management from all levels, inconsistent and bad working hours(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "How to become a deVere Group Slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to live in another country, albeit this can be short lived once you see the true measure of these people

    Cons

    Get treated like a dirt on arrival. Left to your own devices with little or no help. The deVere culture is Smash & Grab (sell the highest commission paying product, not what might be in the interest of punter). Working very long hours for little or no money. Devere don't pay salaries sometimes they give advance only if you have written business. This company is rotten from the top down, until this is addressed- forget it.

    Continue reading
    De Vere2013-09-07
  2. "Pros and Cons of working for De Vere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Manager in Old Windsor, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work anniversary stays Discounts on shopping and dining Staff and friends and family rates across the group of hotels Graduate training and care is fantastic Community feel-Everyone looks out for each other, including upper management Upper management know all of their staff, there is no divide

    Cons

    If you're in an Operational role, the hours can be crazy and work life balance is not always achievable. Staff food is not good Expectations of staff can be set too high sometimes

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-08-14
  3. "Great for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reception Supervisor in Tortworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at De Vere Tortworth court I have not only been able to progress and development through the support of all the management. I have also met friends for life and been provided with great experiences. Tortworth has helped me build confidence, experience and has taught me new skills that I can transfer through out my career. From starting as a casual Food and beverage assistant, I am now a reception supervisor with a lot of drive and passion to develop further.

    Cons

    The business is face passing and although it can sometimes test limits, the staff are always there to help.

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-07-30
  4. "Great opportunities to develop within a supportive team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Role 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working within a great team where I've been able to develop personally. At De Vere I've had the opportunity to take on more responsibility and broaden my skills and experience. I feel that I can participate in the strategy setting in my department and I can see where my role contributes to the overall aims of the business which is key in my career. The company is great at little colleague perks on a regular basis and is always looking at ways to take on board feedback and improve things which is positive to see.

    Cons

    Communication could be more consistent and internal IT systems can be slow

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-07-25
  5. "Graduate Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The brand provide a professional and innovative working environment, employees are friendly and welcoming and the company benefits are good. The Graduate scheme interview process was thorough and the company induction provides all the necessary knowledge of the brand alongside a very warm welcome to the company. The scheme itself provides a tremendous scope for development, spending time with each essential department in the hospitality industry with the end goal being to leave that department with the necessary skill set to become a head of department 18 months later. The scheme also provides regular face to face group training sessions to enhance the skills developed at property alongside monthly online training. The support network provided whilst on the scheme was essential to my success whilst on the programme and since completing the scheme. The company ensures you receive a network of individuals both onsite and at head office who are there to provide support where needed during the scheme and after. Due to the opportunities and experiences I had during my time as a Graduate Manager for De Vere I have began to shape a successful on-going career with the brand and very much look forward to what the future holds.

    Cons

    There are no con's to the Graduate Scheme providing you put in what you want to get out!

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-07-16
  6. "Great opportunities to develop and progress!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company to work for with fantastic employee benefits including life assurance, long service awards starting from 1 years service and discounted stay rates. Internal development is good with a real focus on promoting from within. Lots of great training available.

    Cons

    Communication can often be poor.

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-07-09
  7. "Graduate Manager Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Manager in Harrogate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic Graduate Scheme which allowed the opportunity to rotate through all the departments within the property. Given responsibility quickly within the property and allowed to grow and become a valued member within the department Strong support centrally with regular modules to complete to enhance knowledge. These occur across the Estate which allows the opportunity to see first hand several properties and experience the service. Opportunities post Grad Scheme to grow career within the company

    Cons

    Honestly none - you get what you put into the Grad Scheme

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-06-27
  8. "Great opportunities for development within the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at De Vere full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly, approachable staff -want you to do well; encourage development within the hotel/company -great benefits; access to gym, free meal on shift, uniform provided, plenty of holiday, staff days, discount on rooms at all properties within the group, xmas parties/other events for staff, weekend gala as a reward -very accommodating

    Cons

    - pay not necessary representative of other industry leaders -turnover can be high in some departments -pay more attention to contracted staff than casuals sometimes -No overtime pay -Lieu days are based on days worked not hours - so long shifts in F&B/C&B are not accounted for which can be disheartening

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-06-26
  9. "de vere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant 

    I worked at De Vere part-time

    Pros

    good manager, friendly colleagues, food provided

    Cons

    long hours no autonomy high staff turnover

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-06-12
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at De Vere full-time

    Pros

    Good employee camaraderie and low pressure

    Cons

    Understaffed and poor management at times

    Continue reading
    De Vere2019-05-03
Found 100 reviews