DeKalb County, Georgia Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
DeKalb County, Georgia CEO Vernon Jones (no image)
Vernon Jones
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is no upward mobility for employees who want to excel and if the employee excels, no recognition is given(in 3 reviews)

  • "The low pay for the workload expected(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist II in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stay in your lane do your job be on time, manage your time. I The location I work in is very family oriented. Everyone helps and I am very much so appreciative. Do not come in the door like you know everything and can't be taught nothing you will find yourself gone quick. Here with working with government you have a 6 month probation not your typical 90 days. So throughout that time and even after you best be in your best behavior. I hope this information is helpful.

    Cons

    Some working areas are not up to par. Some buildings need a huge HGTV makeover.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County, Georgia2020-03-18
  2. "Job Related review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck and Equipment Tech in Stone Mountain, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best pay , best benefits package in the state , best coworkers and supervisors .

    Cons

    Negative people on the outside looking in .

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County, Georgia2020-03-08
  3. "Na"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time

    Pros

    Medical benefits are good.

    Cons

    Police Salary is Not enough

    DeKalb County, Georgia2020-03-03
  4. "Great place for college students to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioned Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia part-time

    Pros

    Nice coworker Lots of events Easy job Nice patrons

    Cons

    Bad patrons Bad coworkers Certain people take the job too seriously

    DeKalb County, Georgia2020-01-29
  5. "I have mutual feelings"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays off, PTO time, benefits are great

    Cons

    30 minute lunches, no recognition, customer service hours are 7am-7pm, doing more work then others but make the same pay, 6 months probation before becoming permanent

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-12-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Better in recent years. Organizational culture still murky"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO is making the team more accountable

    Cons

    Many organizational units still stuck in silos

    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-10-24
  7. "Strategic HR Business Partner"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner/Senior Generalist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Develop innovative recruitment ideas and actions to assist with attrition and on boarding talent.

    Cons

    Introducing software to assist with efficiency.

    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-10-08
  8. "Headline on what"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fiscal Officer/Manager in Decatur, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No reason in particular. When I applied for jobs, I found at that time the job offered was suitable to my credentials and that was closer to my home.

    Cons

    No comments at the present time

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-11-11
  9. "Good Job depending on your circumstances"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Permit Technician in Decatur, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They definitely keep you busy.

    Cons

    This is a very high stress, public facing position. There is little room for upward mobility.

    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-10-15
  10. "Best training- Best Instructors"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter Recruit in Decatur, GA

    I have been working at DeKalb County, Georgia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will be more then prepared for your job once completing the academy

    Cons

    Training is a life consuming process- LITERALLY!!! But its worth it! Its super challenging- but honestly it needs to be but It will show you if this job is for you or not before you finish the academy

    DeKalb County, Georgia2019-09-26
Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews