DeKalb County Police Department Reviews | Glassdoor

DeKalb County Police Department Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
DeKalb County Police Department CEO J. W. Conroy
J. W. Conroy
0 Ratings
  1. "Master Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time

    Pros

    One of the premier law enforcement departments in the Southeastern Regional. Competitive pay and great training department.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy is a major downside. Very political, even at the line level. Too many in-groups, and disciplinary actions are not distributed equally.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to revisit old policies and update them. Also, create a liaison between line level employees and management to provide transparency in the system. Overall, great organization with a storied history.

    DeKalb County Police Department2016-03-01
  2. "Young At Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucker, GA

    I worked at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great possibilities, if you are energetic. Don't worry about the politics

    Cons

    Officers will never get enough money to protect the public

    DeKalb County Police Department2018-10-18
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time

      Pros

      Travel time to work is minimum. While working for the department, I am not required to live in the jurisdiction that I serve.

      Cons

      The benefits are not the best and have been getting worse over the years. Due to the current state of affairs in Law Enforcement generally, I have seen a drop off in the staffing which is leaving every unit within the department short staffed, causing a multitude of problems.

      DeKalb County Police Department2017-10-25
    • "Poorly Run"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Master Police Officer in Decatur, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The excitement of law enforcement is there. You will always have a new story to tell.

      Cons

      Management does not care about the employee at all and it is evident. You can barely get a day off and raises do not come very often. It is also severely under-staffed.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more officers and increase the pay rate before all of the good officers are gone.

      DeKalb County Police Department2017-06-18
    • "Police Sergeant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Police Sergeant/Supervisor in Tucker, GA

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Excellent training provided. Great officers.

      Cons

      Pay is not great. Pension is average at best.

      DeKalb County Police Department2016-06-02
    • "Police Department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department

      Pros

      Good to learn the police business but you are overworked

      Cons

      Overworked, benefits getting worse, always on news for corruption (the government leaders)

      DeKalb County Police Department2015-03-30
    • "DeKalb County GA Police Detective"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Detective in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Policing in DeKalb County for one year is like policing in LA for 3 years. The training and experience is second to none.

      Cons

      I am prohibited by policy to publicly criticize the department

      Advice to Management

      It's not my place to do so.

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-08-08
    • "Civil Sevants"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Best training of any department in the area

      Cons

      Low manpower, no raises, low morale

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-05-02
    • "Ups and downs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Most of the positions are vacant. Not to bad. Many people get mad but selection is based on who know you

      Cons

      Too many chiefs. Over the last five years we have had 5 chiefs. That is too many. I hope whoever is next wants to stay

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-01-12
    • "painful politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - 911 Operatoir in Tucker, GA
      Recommends

      I worked at DeKalb County Police Department full-time

      Pros

      training and expierience is priceless

      Cons

      County managment and politics dont mix

      Advice to Management

      listen to your rmployees

      DeKalb County Police Department2013-10-16
    Found 14 reviews