DeKalb County Police Department Reviews | Glassdoor

DeKalb County Police Department Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
DeKalb County Police Department CEO J. W. Conroy
J. W. Conroy
0 Ratings
  1. "Master Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time

    Pros

    One of the premier law enforcement departments in the Southeastern Regional. Competitive pay and great training department.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy is a major downside. Very political, even at the line level. Too many in-groups, and disciplinary actions are not distributed equally.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to revisit old policies and update them. Also, create a liaison between line level employees and management to provide transparency in the system. Overall, great organization with a storied history.

    DeKalb County Police Department2016-03-01
  2. "Police Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department

    Pros

    Good to learn the police business but you are overworked

    Cons

    Overworked, benefits getting worse, always on news for corruption (the government leaders)

    DeKalb County Police Department2015-03-30
  3. "I had a great career at Dekalb."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Major in Tucker, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large department with many opportunities to gain knowledge and to advance. Continuing education is a must along with a proactive attitude. Training is excellent and they have good equipment.

    Cons

    The new command staff are not confident leaders. They worry about internal issues more than fighting crime. Not a lot of backing from supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    The people that are working in Dekalb are good people and not out to get your job. Back your people and put the emphasis on catching the bad guys. The blog should be ignored and all of the officers, supervisors and command staff should come together as one team.

    DeKalb County Police Department2012-11-18
  4. "Young At Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucker, GA

    I worked at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great possibilities, if you are energetic. Don't worry about the politics

    Cons

    Officers will never get enough money to protect the public

    DeKalb County Police Department2018-10-18
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time

      Pros

      Travel time to work is minimum. While working for the department, I am not required to live in the jurisdiction that I serve.

      Cons

      The benefits are not the best and have been getting worse over the years. Due to the current state of affairs in Law Enforcement generally, I have seen a drop off in the staffing which is leaving every unit within the department short staffed, causing a multitude of problems.

      DeKalb County Police Department2017-10-25
    • "Police Sergeant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Police Sergeant/Supervisor in Tucker, GA

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent training provided. Great officers.

      Cons

      Pay is not great. Pension is average at best.

      DeKalb County Police Department2016-06-02
    • "DeKalb County GA Police Detective"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Detective in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Policing in DeKalb County for one year is like policing in LA for 3 years. The training and experience is second to none.

      Cons

      I am prohibited by policy to publicly criticize the department

      Advice to Management

      It's not my place to do so.

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-08-08
    • "Civil Sevants"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Best training of any department in the area

      Cons

      Low manpower, no raises, low morale

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-05-02
    • "Ups and downs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Most of the positions are vacant. Not to bad. Many people get mad but selection is based on who know you

      Cons

      Too many chiefs. Over the last five years we have had 5 chiefs. That is too many. I hope whoever is next wants to stay

      DeKalb County Police Department2014-01-12
    • "Working for DeKalb Police was very rewarding."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Police Captain in Tucker, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at DeKalb County Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The department has several areas in which to gain different kinds of police experience.

      Cons

      Sometimes it's hard to transfer to other positions unless you know someone already there who can vouch for you. Also disciplinary action is not consistent.

      Advice to Management

      Be fair at all times.

      DeKalb County Police Department2013-07-13
    Found 14 reviews