DeKalb County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

DeKalb County School District Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
DeKalb County School District Superintendent Stephen Green
Stephen Green
36 Ratings
  1. "Good teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teachers and administrator's good support

    Cons

    Low salary, low in school discipline

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-05-26
  2. "Good Co-workers but oversized classes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fifth Grade Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the teachers I teach with.

    Cons

    Overcrowded classes To much data

    DeKalb County School District2019-05-23
  3. "Curriculum Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Coordinator in Stone Mountain, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The starting salary is good and increases each year.

    Cons

    Politics and general view of central office employee.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-05-19
  4. "Trying their hardest but failing consistently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you want to find a way to support your community, education is an area that always needs people with a passion for helping

    Cons

    The systems in place in Dekalb County, and the leadership across the board just don't function well.

    DeKalb County School District2019-05-13
  5. "Average School District Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Administrator 

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Majority of the people at the school and county level are friendly

    Cons

    Progressive ideas are not supported if they do not stem internally from the system. Parent and community member opinions carry too much weight especially when they do not get what they want. Many teacher's classrooms model traditional ways of teaching instead of modern best practice.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-05-08
  6. "Babysitting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s a job, if you’re desperate

    Cons

    Wouldn’t return, unless they change admin from top down.

    DeKalb County School District2019-04-24
  7. "Starting Salary for non-certified teacher on an induction path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Spanish Teacher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 years window to complete certification. If achieving certification with a MAT degree, salary will increase close to 10K.

    Cons

    Starting salary for a non-certified teacher is 4K less than APS

    DeKalb County School District2019-04-06
  8. "Fun and Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Precinct Manager 

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District part-time

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot about the elections process

    Cons

    The pay is low, but you don't do it for the pay alone.

    DeKalb County School District2019-03-30
  9. "Educational Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I appreciate the work put in for Increasing CCRPI scores and increasing pay raises. This system is investing in more professional development for teachers.

    Cons

    Lack of equitable resources for all students, including teachers for SWD students and access to resources for homeless students, regarding transportation and resources wraparound services

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-04-12
  10. "Food service within the school system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in North DeKalb, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only good thing about working in food service in DeKalb County Schools, was being off for the summer and receiving pay.

    Cons

    The worse thing is the pay, hard labor, and unprofessional managers, no fairness, work is not distributed equally. If you don't know anyone in the school system, advancing is a problem. I applied to many admin positions, positions that I am highly qualified in and did not get a job offer.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-04-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 230 reviews