DeKalb County School District Special Education Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Special Education Teacher

DeKalb County School District Special Education Teacher Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
17%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
DeKalb County School District Superintendent Stephen Green
Stephen Green
1 Rating
  1. "Special Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Special Education Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really enjoy the diverse culture. Student progression has improved in general in last 3 years. CEO has delivered on his promises.

    Cons

    Must be flexible. Pay for teachers with more experience is lower than other ATL counties.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2017-08-25
  2. "Acceptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in North Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The kids are awesome and need the support.

    Cons

    Administration/county officials are out of touch with life in the classroom. Too much emphasis on protecting/supporting the district instead of the kids.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2019-01-31
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Special Education Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Special Education Teacher in North DeKalb, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DeKalb County School District for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was a high school special education vocational teacher for 24 years, teaching first Production & Distribution (training students for production work & warehouse jobs), then I became the reading, math & life skills teacher for the school (approximately 200 students). I was able to set up my own curriculum & had excellent tech & tech support for my classroom's Promethean ActivBoard & our laptop cart. I focused on meaningful life skills: helping students get a driver's license, teaching them about the dangers of sexting, & all-important resume & job interview skills training. I was also chosen to become a Teacher Support Specialist, responsible for helping out new teachers in their first three years.

    Cons

    After 24 years of teaching high school, I passed the GACE exam in the field of Special Education to become Highly Qualified. In August 2012 just prior to school starting back, I received an email stating that I was being transferred to teach a combined special education 1st- & 2nd-grade class at a high-performing elementary school (a National School of Excellence). Most of my students & their parents did not speak English. I protested in vain, but was told I had no choice. Making the switch from high school to elementary after 24 years was extremely stressful & difficult. I did extremely well nonetheless, earning Proficient or Exemplary on the TKES evaluation instrument, but the stress was never-ending. My heath suffered as a result. The paperwork now required to be a special education teacher is daunting & often overwhelming, even to an experienced teacher such as I was. Also, the curriculum was strictly dictated due to state & federal requirements; as such, there was little or no room for creativity. My lesson plans for just one week were regularly over 20 pages; since I had two different grade levels, with vastly different curricula, it meant double the lesson planning. I spent most of my weekends working on lesson plans following a rigid script: Opening, Essential Questions, Standards, Introduction, Lesson, Closing with Exit Questions, Differentiation, Modifications, & Formative or Summative Evaluation. This extensive script had to be done for every single lesson, & I had to teach both instructional level & grade-level reading & math, as well as Science, Social Studies, Written Expression, & Social Skills. If I had to do it a over again, I would not go into special education in a public school.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2016-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Special ed teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Special Education Teacher in Decatur, GA

    I worked at DeKalb County School District for more than 5 years

    Pros

    very laid back school system

    Cons

    not the best paying system. Need to develop more merit pay and incentive plans for the educators

    DeKalb County School District2016-09-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unsupportive Principals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When it comes to teaching, you must be passionate about helping students become successful. I did it for over a dozen years and found it very rewarding, not matter how challenging some students could become.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I found some administrators, especially principals, not very supportive when certain students are disruptive and disrespectful. Also, if a teacher complains too loudly, your reputation is on the line no matter how effective and professional your skills are.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2015-11-05
  6. "Special Education Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Special Education Teacher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with a diverse group of eager learner.

    Cons

    The students are given too many standardized test.

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2015-05-08
  7. "It's a Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Lithonia, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having time off All Summer good for Vacation time.

    Cons

    Interaction with Students and Parents is sometime Negative.

    DeKalb County School District2014-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Job Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Stone Mountain, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DeKalb County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excelelnt Adminstrative support. Good resouces available Excellent teachers Good students andparents

    Cons

    Be carefull when dealing with parents. Some parents play with words

    Continue reading
    DeKalb County School District2012-07-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews