DeKalb Medical "great place" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

DeKalb Medical Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated Apr 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
DeKalb Medical President and CEO John A. Shelton Jr. (no image)
John A. Shelton Jr.
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work if you like helping people(in 7 reviews)

  • "When I worked at DM there were some nice people(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "high turnover and as with most places, nursing shortage(in 5 reviews)

  • "terrrible charting system, short staffed, running out of supplies, vendors going unpaid, CEO and CFO recently fired(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great place"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "delightful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Lithonia, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working in a multicultural diversity of people and family oriented and they are considerably wonderful to the employees

    Cons

    I can't think of anything other than just a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    In making sure that the employees are not just average employees but they are they go up and beyond there work duties

    DeKalb Medical2014-09-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Social Workers Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DeKalb Medical full-time

    Pros

    The hospital in general is a great place to work for and the culture is steadily improving.

    Cons

    While the overall culture is positive, the Care Management department needs an entire makeover that hopefully Emory will bring when they acquire Dekalb. Social workers at Dekalb have limited support, limited guidance, no room for growth, and face ethical dilemmas due to bullying tactics by the care management supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that all managers are held accountability for their unethical and unfair practices.

    DeKalb Medical2018-04-07
  3. "Great Coworkers/Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    N/A in Decatur, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb Medical for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved caring for patients Some wonderful staff Great place to learn

    Cons

    Short Staffed Cliques Hostile work environment Management shows favoritism

    Advice to Management

    If there is an issue, go to the person and actually talk to them about your expectations. Do not believe or buy into he-said she said. This is not high school.

    DeKalb Medical2017-08-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Decatur, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like helping people.

    Cons

    Nursing shortages contributing to patient complaints, lower than average salaries, not enough oversight from management. Employees aren't working full forty hours because managers aren't there to manage them.

    DeKalb Medical2017-01-26
  5. "Great family feel place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lithonia, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeKalb Medical full-time

    Pros

    Great place to Work! Staff work well together! Feels like family! Focused on quality and patients CEO and administrative team are down to earth and approachable

    Cons

    The biggest con is: sometimes staff don't recognize just how good we are. We are good at setting and achieving goals and we don't always take the time acknowledge attaining the goal just met before moving to the next.

    Advice to Management

    Continue engaging the employees by gaining valuable suggestions when you talk to the staff and act on their suggestions.

    DeKalb Medical2016-11-11
  6. "Good hardworking people there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at DeKalb Medical

    Pros

    Accessible to metro area a few good doctors some nice people that really care about each other and Dekalb. But are too low on the totem pole to make a significant change.

    Cons

    Not enough thought put into hiring nursing managers. A few are very inexperienced with less than 3 years experience and first nsg job out of school. Nurses work very hard and are overworked and constantly understaffed. Some of the coordinators don't help and will watch a floor nurse drown. New grads put on floor way to early and are prone to mistakes that are overlooked mistakes made at the expense of others lives.... Dekalb needs to higher well experienced managers and leaders to help make it a great place to work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that are apt to teach and be examples of good leadership.

    DeKalb Medical2016-04-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "clinical care coordination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DeKalb Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work, great organiization

    Cons

    no cons noted for this organization

    DeKalb Medical2015-10-13
  8. "Human Resource Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb Medical

    Pros

    Great Place To Work and some very nice people to get to know at this job.

    Cons

    Some of the management need work. It can be fix just need the right people for it ....Could be you!!!!

    DeKalb Medical2015-08-17
  9. "Great job, great environment, and the co-workers made the difference. Amazing boss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeKalb Medical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is based on experience, however the wages were good. I never got a raise while working for this company because of the recession and the job cuts but from what I was told the raises were given yearly and were reasonable.

    Cons

    I can not think of any it is such a great place to work room for advancement, and you feel part a family. Large hospital yet you get to know everyone rather quickly.

    DeKalb Medical2014-07-22
  10. "For IT Professionals, DeKalb Medical is Pushing Beyond."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at DeKalb Medical

    Pros

    For the IT Professional, DeKalb Medical is great place to work. They are committed to excellence and are utilizing industry leading tools and processes. Leadership and Management is top notch.

    Cons

    Being not for profit, don't expect too many frills. Being a large employer, some things take time to turn.

    Advice to Management

    Stay committed to being the best.

    DeKalb Medical2009-05-09
Found 10 reviews