DeSerres Reviews | Glassdoor

DeSerres Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
3 Ratings
  1. "Good for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Conseiller Clientèle in Pointe-Claire, QC
      Recommends

      I have been working at DeSerres part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      - Part time availability - Great employee discount - Good team - Lots to learn about different artistic media

      Cons

      None so to speak. It was a good job.

      DeSerres2019-05-23
    • "A very good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at DeSerres full-time

        Pros

        Flexibility and a positive work environment

        Cons

        Pay can be a bit Low

        DeSerres2019-01-04
      • "Sales staff"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at DeSerres full-time

        Pros

        The products are very high quality .

        Cons

        More product knowledge would benefit everyone

        DeSerres2018-11-25
      • "Retail experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at DeSerres

        Pros

        For a first retail experience, it's a place to learn.

        Cons

        Be ready for change of strategy on a daily basis.

        DeSerres2017-12-02
      • "Massive Turnover"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at DeSerres part-time

          Pros

          Amazing time with the team , discount of course, not too hectic of a job

          Cons

          The management just seems to not care; I was completely blind sided when they decided to get rid of me, I never would've seen it coming since I honestly felt they were happy with me and they never gave me feedback for me to improve; in fact I felt like I got a lot of recognition for what I did. In less than 3 months I saw 8 people leave.. way too big of a turnover

          Advice to Management

          Care about your employees; they shouldn't be seen as "just employees" that you can replace every second day.

          DeSerres2017-10-31
        • "Amazing"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at DeSerres

          Pros

          Great place to work as a student in the arts/design Positive environment and great benefits

          Cons

          None applicable for my time there!

          DeSerres2017-05-19
        • "Disappointing Sales Experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Fine Arts Sales Associate in Pickering, ON
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at DeSerres part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          -discount on products -beautiful work space -getting to discuss art making with local creatives -easy to balance with other jobs and personal life

          Cons

          -There was a turnover 3 times in management within the first 12 months of the store opening. -Employees who aspired to work beyond the store and get into corporate level jobs were deterred and coached not to -Students who were majoring in art, local artists, and life time creatives were initially staffed but never given hours - and as a result, the staff working were not able to give great insight or advice to customers

          Advice to Management

          Treat your employees well and with respect. Support those who want to grow, build upon their loyalty. Realize that stores like DeSerres have the opportunity to be creative hubs for neighborhoods, and support such - this will keep people coming back and grow the creative community

          DeSerres2017-06-02
        • "Great place to work!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at DeSerres

          Pros

          Amazing staff, generally really nice customers, a wonderful, family-owned business. Awesome work/life balance. Great place to work for artists.

          Cons

          Everyone is so darn happy here, there's very little room to move up because no one leaves so there's never any new positions.

          DeSerres2017-05-06
        • "DeSerres"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at DeSerres

          Pros

          I have great coworkers, a great boss, and it is a nice environment to work in. The main reason I stay is because the group of people I work with feels like my family. Management is also very flexible when it comes to getting time off/rearranging schedules, meaning I can also have a life and travel!

          Cons

          The pay is not very good, even with a higher level position. The head office also tends to forget about the stores that are further away (since the company is based in Montreal). They never send us the stock we need, meaning customers get mad at us when we are always out of stuff...

          Advice to Management

          Local management is good, but the head office doesn't seem to care too much about us. We never have items in stock and never receive things on time, being far away from the head office/main warehouse. Please send us the stock we need on time and don't get mad at us when we ask you to do so!

          DeSerres2017-02-12
        • "Fine and simple"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sells Person in Quebec, QC
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at DeSerres full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I had a great time with the team! Makes you want to create! Nice positive vibe. Simple and flexible for the schedule. Open minded people to work with.

          Cons

          Dont have much of a con except for the annoying abuse of Christmas music during the holidays :) it is a great place.

          Advice to Management

          Would need to give more formation to the staff.

          DeSerres2017-01-28
        Found 20 reviews