DeVries Global Reviews | Glassdoor

DeVries Global Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
DeVries Global CEO Heidi Hovland
Heidi Hovland
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of work/life balance - HR said "No timesheets have raised flags on our end" If a 65 hour work week doesn't raise flags, not sure what will(in 7 reviews)

  • "it's nearly impossible to survive on a junior employee salary in new york city without outside help(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at DeVries Global

    Pros

    Great hands on experience Great communication among other workers

    Cons

    Wish Devries offered full time internship

    DeVries Global2017-10-09
  2. "Great career starter, but no one values you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DeVries Global full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work from home days -Free product giveaways -Fun clients -Generous PTO ~18 days/yr -Nice coworkers

    Cons

    -Nepitism is a huge problem -Salary - undervaluing employees and HUGE pay gaps among teams -Lack of work/life balance - HR said "No timesheets have raised flags on our end" If a 65 hour work week doesn't raise flags, not sure what will. They will work you until you burn out. -Lack of recognition -PTO can be denied -Expected to work when on PTO/holidays -Serious overservicing of clients

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees because everyone has a plan to leave. Morale is at all time low.

    DeVries Global2019-04-28
  3. "PR Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at DeVries Global

    Pros

    Close work environment, very hands-on project experiences

    Cons

    Lack of formal training so it really depends on who your supervisor is

    DeVries Global2018-11-10
  4. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeVries Global

    Pros

    You get to work on a lot of really cool, high profile accounts and you gain a lot of experience (good and bad). Looks great on a resume. The HR is really great too, they try to be accommodating.

    Cons

    Was managed by some really account coordinators who really just wanted to shove the work off on interns and then blame them when something goes wrong.

    DeVries Global2018-07-18
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeVries Global part-time

    Pros

    While my perception is more limited as I was an intern, I thought the culture at DeVries Global was great. Everyone was genuinely nice and friendly to one another and the HR Director was really kind/helpful about making the internship program a valuable experience. I definitely received the opportunity to gain some hands on learning experiences about the industry of PR during my time there.

    Cons

    My only downside would be that there wasn't always hands on experience opportunities to dive into the realm of public relations. There would be days with administrative heavy tasks (for example: creative mailers or gift bag curation for events) but this comes with the territory of beauty pr. Additionally, on some days there wouldn't be enough work tasks to last the entire day so I was sent out to run errands but this...

    Show More
    DeVries Global2018-02-20
  6. "Great, Supportive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeVries Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing culture, with a lot of opportunities to grow personally and professionally. - Very collaborative atmosphere, and this is very important to leadership at the company. - Access to IPG network perks, which are a great supplement to the great benefits they have. - Senior leadership is very accessible.

    Cons

    Mainly a beauty and consumer PR shop, but would love to see the company grow to other areas of expertise.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to seek out employees at all levels to get their feedback.

    DeVries Global2017-10-27
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeVries Global

    Pros

    Great work environment and opportunity to work on new projects

    Cons

    no cons to share at the moment

    DeVries Global2017-09-14
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeVries Global

    Pros

    Great experience!!! The company culture there is AMAZING. Everyone there genuinely enjoys each other and their work, and while interning, they really do a great job of making you feel like an actual employee. They also give real-life projects to interns, so I learned so much while interning there

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    DeVries Global2017-08-21
  9. "Hands-on Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DeVries Global

    Pros

    Collaborative and creative environment, tons of hands-on experience- I learned more in a month than I ever thought I could, workshops at lunch are a great way to learn new things outside of your day-to-day responsibilities

    Cons

    Busy at times, but a good prep for the industry

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for taking the time to get to know us!

    DeVries Global2017-07-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "GREAT place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DeVries Global full-time

    Pros

    I worked at DVG for about 4 years and I have to say it was a great experience. - Friendly staff - Awesome perks like summer Fridays, early closing before big holidays, unrivaled paid time off, good work/life balance (yes, sometimes you'll have to work long hours but that comes in waves), free coffee bar in the building, in-office holiday celebrations, free dinner/cab if you work past 8pm, and the list goes on - Smart...

    Show More

    Cons

    My biggest caveat is that pay can be pretty low. Also, sometimes teams are small and you're moved around different accounts, which isn't always great but you'll find that at any agency.

    Advice to Management

    Pay should be a bit higher considering the cost of living in the city

    DeVries Global2017-06-30
Found 67 reviews