KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

DeVry Education Group

Is this your company?

DeVry Education Group

Add a Review

DeVry Education Group Reviews

Updated May 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 438 of over 450 reviews

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
DeVry Education Group President and CEO Lisa Warner Wardell  (no image)
Lisa Warner Wardell
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits including tuition(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great co workers, Good Benefits(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Student enrollment to employment ratio(in 18 reviews)

  • "No focus on people anymore just on the CIO looking good to upper management with bogus made up metrics(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Teachers

    Join the conversation on

    Teachers

    9m

    a 

    West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

    Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

    2,830

    952 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Overall great experience

      Apr 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work culture and team environment

      Cons

      much less hiring among students

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      May 20, 2021 - Nanny/Babysitter in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Find family fast Good opportunities Good people Fast opportunities

      Cons

      Little pay No benefits Bad management Slow wages

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Review

      Feb 17, 2021 - Professor in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people to work with

      Cons

      none really as I enjoyed working there

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Online Academic Advising

      Mar 18, 2021 - Academic Advisor II in Naperville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team based work Excellent co-workers Benefits were excellent Ability to utilize Education credit

      Cons

      Call center environment Overwhelming student populations for each advisor Not enough support from management Mostly focused on metrics and not on student success

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Leadership

      Apr 21, 2020 - Human Resources Specialist in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, team-oriented, average hours, great collaboration

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad company

      Oct 22, 2019 - Helpdesk Analyst in Oak Brook, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I didn't see any pros

      Cons

      Management attitude is very bad and discriminatory

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Director

      Jul 30, 2015 - Director in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging and interesting projects are readily available and there are plenty of stretch assignments given in my area. This gives people room to grow within their role and through interim assignments and promotion. Overall, I believe the organization does a pretty good job differentiating high performers via performance management, pay, and career growth opportunities. Is there room to improve in that area, absolutely. But I think they are doing their best under the circumstances. Upper management, for the most part, seems to truly believe in the mission and values of the organization. Communication to employees is balanced between optimism about the future and caution related to the current challenges in our industry. Culture is a trendy buzzword in business these days, but it is something the organization is really starting to focus on and I am interested in seeing where it goes. I believe the culture was already relatively strong here, but consistent application can take it to a new level.

      Cons

      The organization can do a better job of discussing expected or desired career paths with employees...from both the employee's and organization's perspective. Up to this point in my career here, I am unclear as to what potential plans the organization has for me and how that might fit into my career goals. Growing pay outside of the normal review cycle seems to be easier under some leaders than others.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Jul 30, 2015 - Instructional Technologist in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at DeVry is great for a number of reasons. Most important to me is that DeVry encourages career growth and personal development. The organization has allowed me to stretch my wings in a large number of projects, has given me opportunities to grow into new skillsets and directions, and has always supported me in moving forward with new ideas. This has been amazing. Secondly, the people at DeVry consistently do their jobs with care and diligence. You always know that when you go to someone with a need or request, they will do everything in their power to serve you. And, on the other side, co-workers take time to say thank you when you do your job well, so it makes for an incredible network of care. Finally, I love the fact that DeVry is driven by meeting the needs of students. In every transaction, the student is at the foremost of people's minds. This makes me know I am a part of something important and valuable.

      Cons

      DeVry is a big organization, so sometimes there is a certain lack of understanding of how we all inter-relate. This sometimes means re-work, duplicative work, or non-productive work, which is always disheartening. I would also say that remote work is great, but we do not have adequate tools to make teamwork among remote workers effective.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Associate Programmer Analyst

      Dec 18, 2015 - Associate Programmer Analyst in Oak Brook, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team I work with is amazing, both inside and outside of the work environment. Love working with my direct supervisor and director and they always have my back if I need them to back me up when discussing enhancements or quick fixes in the applications I work with. The ServiceNow interface is great to work with, especially if you are comfortable with JavaScript. The projects you work on are varied and keep you learning new things each week.

      Cons

      There was really no training for this position whatsoever. I was told to use multiple sites such as Codecadamy and the ServiceNow Developer pages in order to learn my position. Although I was able to teach myself extremely well, there are many out there who would prefer a more strict or well planned learning environment. If you do not have the desire to teach yourself your position this is not the position for you. My team helped a lot, but that will not always be the case since they have their own projects to work on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      DVG is an incredible employer!

      Aug 3, 2015 - Director in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DeVry Education Group has the best work culture of any organization for which I have worked in my professional career. Colleagues are hard-working and accountable. The values that all DVG colleagues live and work by relate to offering great support to students and to each other. Leadership cares about career and professional development and work/life balance is strongly supported. Colleagues are rewarded for great work quality, hard work and meeting their goals. The DeVry Leadership Center, an internal training, leadership development and organizational development department, offers resources for leaders and individual contributors to attend training, develop skills, and plan their careers. There are many opportunities for professional growth between institutions and leaders encourage colleagues to consider stretch assignments, cross-institution projects, job shadowing and mentoring to develop skills. The CEO actively promotes career development resources and encourages leaders to take their role in talent development seriously.

      Cons

      The for-profit education industry has experienced intense scrutiny that state and private higher education institutions have not, which has made the last several years challenging for some of the DVG institutions. There is an opportunity for leadership to proactively address external challenges more readily to avoid reactive approaches.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 438 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DeVry Education Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DeVry Education Group? Share Your Experiences

    or