DeVry University "enrollment" Reviews | Glassdoor

DeVry University Employee Reviews about "enrollment"

Updated Mar 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
DeVry University President and CEO James Bartholomew
James Bartholomew
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, career advancement opportunities, good salary(in 55 reviews)

  • "Culture, Opportunity, Great Colleagues, Great benefits(in 36 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "enrollment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "DeVry opened up many doors for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Federal Work Study 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeVry University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student worker, I was able to meet most of the faculty and employees on campus. Networking through them, I was able to interview with many other different companies and land a great job.

    Cons

    The school has made major cutbacks, failed at addressing enrollment and graduate rates, and are not able to meet the students' needs. (They are constantly adjusting which has helped to an extent)

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2014-04-11
  2. "Operations Support Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeVry University full-time

    Pros

    Some of my co-workers were great and genuine people who you don't mind going the extra mile for because they would be doing the same for you.

    Cons

    When enrollments were high, the company was hiring like crazy but when it declined, layoffs became a regularity.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2018-03-06
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Where common sense goes to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Support Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DeVry University full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with were absolutely amazing. Seriously, my team was filled with some of the best and funniest people I've ever met in my life. We had a really good vibe going at our location. Everyday we would laugh and joke around. It really helped when the work got to be too much, and that happened often.

    Cons

    If you've ever wanted to know what it would be like to work for the Trump administration, then definitely come here! It is complete chaos all the time. The right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing and there are always too many hands in the pot thanks to the great phone tree. Instead of sticking with just your specific location (Philly, DC, Raleigh) you could get calls from students from all over. 9/10 they had already spoken to someone who had a different answer to their question/concern. This forces students to constantly call back only to get another different answer and they get frustrated. Truthfully, I'd be frustrated too after speaking to so many people but at the same time some SSAs are more knowledgable than others. But it's also not the SSAs fault because the training we received was awful. The SSAs are overworked and underpaid. They do the work of all the departments. They do finance, academics, and even a little bit of admissions (some of the admission advisors do unethical things for an enrollment). Seriously, they do all the work and don't get enough credit, instead management wants you to do more. The metrics you are required to meet are downright ridiculous that they force people to cheat the system. For instance, we were required to do at least 16 outreach calls a day, instead I just called phone numbers that weren't in service over and over. It doesn't really matter because management only cares about meeting numbers. Students aren't a priority at all, it's all about numbers. Speaking of management, what a bunch of incompetents. The people that run this company I wouldn't trust to run the 50 yard dash. They have two settings: bad decision and worse decision. And worse decision always wins. They implement a new system/way of doing things only to change it a week or two later. Or worse, they make a change, know everyone openly hates it and yet continue to keep that same process, which only created more work for everyone. My immediate supervisor was awesome, so was the one above him. However, once you got to upper management it was a alpha male contest everyday. They micromanage everything to the point where I thought they would schedule bathroom breaks. Yeah, it was that bad. Truthfully, I don't think they know how to be any other kind of managers but micromanagers. Overall the management is just awful which makes everyone at that company always looking for a new job. Also the layoffs are frequent, about every 3-6 months. Your job is never secure which creates a sense of anxiety. And I'm sure people feel even more anxious now with Cogswell College buying the company. When I left everyone was nervous there were going to mass layoffs, which probably will happen. The people that work there, not upper management included, deserve better. Also no chance for advancement. You're basically stuck where you are. And, the rumor was management purposely manipulate your numbers so they don't have to give you the raise you deserve. This was just a rumor but I don't doubt it happened. Again management was never happy about anything you did...you could always do more.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2018-02-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Professor in Remote, OR

    I worked at DeVry University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Student centric, outcome-based curriculum , structured course development environment, optional campus-based or online learning environments, progressive assessment system that can be tailored to the topics to be learned.

    Cons

    Course development turn-around in technical areas far too slow, process overbearingly cumbersome, too many personnel involved in the process. Seems that declining enrollment brought constant, relentless change in policies that no one could possibly adhere to.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2017-11-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Current Mathematics Visiting Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Visiting Professor in Addison, IL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DeVry University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Systems Support (learning management system, online shells, Course development) to support teaching. Initiatives to Improve Company and Student Focus; Becoming an international based firm; Attempting to rely more and leverage technology

    Cons

    Extreme Amount of Changes in Short Time; Reorganization has been constant for the last 2 years; Administrators are constantly changing roles; Part of this is downsizing due to lower enrollments; Part of it is due to initiatives to improve processes and organization.; Some course development efforts to improve have failed; Moral of full time staff is low due to constant change.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2017-08-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Was good at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DeVry University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment, not micro-managed, schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Several inconsistencies in pay structure, you are expected to perform at the same caliber as someone who has 20+ years of experience, and who is paid three times as much as you. There is no room for growth, the old days are gone where you are compensated based on your enrollment measure. So those who were not lucky to be in the industry prior to regulations are stuck with a minimal salary. Another issue is as a campus advisor the initial goal was to enroll students for the campus, and it was both encouraging and uplifting seeing the students walk the hall ways. However, now the model is pushing a primarily online program...so the campus presence is shrinking and nearly gone entirely. There seems be a disconnect with the overall direction of where the company wants to be, and what it takes to get there.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2017-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Be wary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DeVry University part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is good since the courses are accelerated and as adjuncts, we get paid per class.

    Cons

    You have to do a LOT of training and all of the training is on your time and unpaid. DeVry has been involved in some unethical behavior and it's reputation is declining. I've talked with a lot of full-time professors who feel that having DeVry on their resume is hurting their chances of getting hired elsewhere. Classes are frequently cancelled due to low enrollment, yet DeVry is still advertising to hire more adjuncts.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2017-06-20
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Adnissions Advisor/ Salesperson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Tinley Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DeVry University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary and benefits (Full 401k match, great insurance) The schedule (flexible) Paid days off

    Cons

    Favoritism Office student enrollment quotas Could be laid off at anytime Ripping students off who really want better

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2017-04-16
  9. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at DeVry University full-time

    Pros

    Took care of you. Compensated fairly.

    Cons

    Bad management decisions affected enrollment

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2016-08-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It was a wonderful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DeVry University

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great. I love the people I work with. The student body is one of my favorites.

    Cons

    The upper-level management makes decisions based solely on money rather than on academics or student care. Their inattention to academics has contributed to the continued plummeting student enrollment. The institution is dying.

    Continue reading
    DeVry University2016-08-16
Found 36 reviews