Dealer Inspire Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Dealer Inspire CEO Joe Chura (no image)
Joe Chura
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great opportunity and fulfilling work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at dealer inspire has been the most fulfilling job I have ever had. I am lucky to have some perspective of being in the work force for 20+ years, and I can say this is a place that truly values its employees. I have had the pleasure of working with some amazing men and women who have taught me so much. There are 5 tenets on our walls that we work towards, and I believe in everyone of them. I feel they are embodied every day at work. I also hear stories from friends about bosses that expect something different then what they put out. I have honestly never seen my superiors work less than me, or offer assistance any time I needed it.

    Cons

    The con to me is not having down time. I feel like its hard to shut work off in the evenings and on the weekends. It is something I am challenging myself with, becuase there isn't a time when I asked for time off that I didn't receive it. Also I would say now that we have an OKR system, that can be challenging to understand the exact goal process, but it is a new system and every quarter I feel like its getting better.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-08-28

    Dealer Inspire Response

    September 5, 2019Director of People Operations

    Thank you for the candid and positive response. I'm happy to hear that you're feeling fulfilled in your role at Dealer Inspire! I appreciate the feedback as it relates to needing to shut down as well as allocating time doing things that will inspire innovation and creativity.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fine. Just fine."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Engineer in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are friendly enough.

    Cons

    Grew to fast, unclear direction.

    Dealer Inspire2020-05-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Unreasonable Expectations. Unfair Compensation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Copywriter in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Flexible hours. These are the only reasons to work here.

    Cons

    Unbelievable and unsustainable workload. Low pay. Fake transparency. You will be stretched past your limits 100% of the time. Writers are tasked with writing upwards of 200 pieces of content a month. That's not sustainable under any circumstance, let alone for laughable pay. If I could give a 0 out of 5 for work/life balance, I would.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2020-05-18
  4. "Great Place to work, awesome benefits and perks"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time

    Pros

    friendly culture, awesome teams, company events, in office snacks

    Cons

    no cons or concerns, need to be able to work and keep up with deadlines

    Dealer Inspire2020-04-26
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Was just okay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good experience - Work from home Friday's - Fun co-workers

    Cons

    - Overworked for no pay. A lot of the times you will have to work overtime in order to get everything you need to be completed. - Other teams responsibilities became yours. It seems no one really likes dealing with the dealers, so be prepared to have to reach out and basically do everything and also take the brunt of everything. - We had to wear all the hats. Strategy, Compliance, support, Billing. At a certain point between what is actually in our job description, it became too much to be on someone's plate and severe lack of training across all departments making things an absolute clutter. - Uses outdated methods/ processes. While the company is growing exponentially they haven't updated any of their internal processes making things incredibly difficult. Slack is one of them. Way too many employees to be communicating that way. Reporting is also something that has been worked on, but I don't understand why, as a huge company we are not using something like Adobe to get reliable data quickly and actually have a Marketing database. - PFM's as a whole is incredibly under-appreciated. - Inexperienced management - they don't pay well/treat PFMs great so they are losing a lot of talent in this area. A lot of people have no clue what they are doing and just try to survive each day. - Complete lack of TRANSPARENCY

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2020-02-13

    Dealer Inspire Response

    March 6, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Improving communication is a priority we know we need to address. Dealer Inspire has quickly become a leader in our industry, which means we are also quickly expanding. We are grateful to our hardworking employees who sees the challenge and delivers results. Sometimes, we’re so focused and driven to innovate, as well as meet demands, we miss opportunities to communicate effectively. We’re working very hard to change that and are always looking at how we can make improvements.

  6. Helpful (16)

    "Things to consider"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was with Dealer Inspire for 3 years. I recently got a job offer that I could not pass up and management visibly could see that I was checked out many months ago. Transparency is one of the 5 tenets that the company swears by so I am going to be very transparent in this review. If you are considering Dealer Inspire, please know that many employees love the company and you just might love it as well so don't let one review sway your decision. The pros are that they have good benefits and if you live in the suburbs of Chicago, the commute to the office is a breeze compared to hopping on the train everyday. The leadership for the client services team has really improved despite the insane client load pfms have to endure. The sales team has also stepped it up and I think the inside sales manager goes above and beyond to reward his team and really coach them.

    Cons

    The HR department has regressed significantly and the turnover highlights how poorly the department has been managed. The company has lost 4 incredible employees that were with the company from the start, within 3 months. The clients are always favored over the employees. During my time on the client services team, I personally experienced and witnessed other co workers being verbally abused by a handful of clients. But, thats the nature of the business they say Although benefits are a plus, the pay is very low for the amount of time employees spend on projects, review calls, preparation etc. If you have over 40 clients to manage, you should be compensated

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-09-11

    Dealer Inspire Response

    September 13, 2019Director of People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We are growing and our teams are undergoing significant positive change, in client services especially. We are adding employees not only to staff for growth, but to give bandwidth to employees to service their current clients in a more strategic and proactive way. Although on-boarding employees at a rapid rate we have not compromised our hiring practices and are always looking to ensure we have candidates that have the ability to succeed and add value within our teams.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing company, Leadership is approachable and open to listening and CEO has an open door policy. constantly looking for employee feedback.

    Cons

    New and growing company (not really a con) but employees should be open and ready for fast movement. Communication can’t always be perfect when moving at lightning speed. These are challenges for some people.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-08-26

    Dealer Inspire Response

    August 27, 2019Director of People Operations

    Thank you for your honest feedback about DI Happy to hear you're enjoying your time here and feel comfortable sharing feedback!

  8. Helpful (13)

    "Cliquey as can be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pros are the good insurance benefits and being to work from home Fridays, the events

    Cons

    The word culture tends to get thrown around alot but in my opinion (as well as others) there is none or more-so a lack there of. The cliquishness almost reminds me of high school, while certain employees can be on-time, poignant, work hard, and are yet to get a raise - others who are noticeably late, and whose work ethics should be questioned are promoted no doubt because they are a favorite. They spout we are supposed to be "a team" however fellow co-workers are shady, and some are even willingly to "throw you under the bus per say" to make themselves look good or perhaps it's to stay in management's good graces. Speaking of managers, i think that the leaders definitely need more training sometimes the favoritism can be blatantly obvious and while I am able to turn a blind eye to that, what I cannot turn a blind eye to is when an issue arises instead of handling professionally they will take the favorites side, or the issue get's brushed under the rug and you are dismissed. It's seems like the managers allow it and to an extent even encourages it. For the "little guys" our voice get's lost if you aren't in the IN crowd or one of the original's who were with the company when it first started long ago. Lastly, people are overworked and underpaid. I hear daily how people left because they weren't getting the raised they were expected or told they would receive, or the boatload of work just was equivalent to pay they were getting. Please do better! DI has so much potential and I've had some good times, however when the good outways the bad on a consistent bases is a problem, and I know when it's time to leave.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-08-09

    Dealer Inspire Response

    August 20, 2019Director of People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to review and share your thoughts. I always welcome constructive feedback with areas of improvement. Our group has been focused on management/leadership training over the last 18 months and additionally have started meeting more regularly as a leadership group. While I think it is important for employees to build relationships in the workplace based on common interest, it should not be to the detriment of the organization’s goals. As for your feedback related to management, no relationship should supersede the need to act in a professional and unbiased manner in the workplace when it comes to addressing work, challenges or otherwise. If you have a concern that this is happening, I’d encourage you to work with the People Operations team to explore further. I value feedback in reviews, but it is a challenge to solution without specific examples and feedback.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not a bad place but it could be much better."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer Inspire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a good amount of awesome people at the company who go out of their way to make your work better.

    Cons

    There is an uncomfortable disparity between what certain people are paid.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-07-26

    Dealer Inspire Response

    August 19, 2019Director of People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We’ve built our culture with our people and I love hearing that you feel that our team is supportive and helpful to one another! We care deeply about our team and I hope that was evident in our last townhall where we addressed questions sent in by employees. When it comes to pay, we work to define salary based on role, skills and experience. I am happy and available to have a deeper discussion if you’d like or if there are specific questions or concerns that can be addressed.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Worst Place I've Ever Worked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dealer Inspire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free booze. No dress code.

    Cons

    I've never worked for a company where so many Executives and Managers don't care about their direct reports along with no attempt to make their teams and individuals better with team-building exercises or classes that will push everyone to the next level. I've been reading a lot of reviews and talked to a lot of employees who had been there a while and it's the same story - low pay, mediocre insurance, no room to move up, inexperienced managers and executives, high-performing employees aren't recognized like they're supposed to and usually get treated poorly or let go for something that has nothing to do with the job. It's a problem that's been around for years now. It's safe to say that this is not a long-term company for anyone. Just a place to put on your resume.

    Continue reading
    Dealer Inspire2019-08-12

    Dealer Inspire Response

    August 20, 2019Director of People Operations

    It is difficult to respond effectively without knowing when you were an employee of Dealer Inspire and your experience here, but I can state that we are aware that our team and employees are our most valuable resources and we’re continuously looking at ways to improve the experience and provide growth opportunities. With the growth we’re experiencing the future is bright, it will take hard work to get us there.

Found 56 reviews