Dealer.com "ddc" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dealer.com Employee Reviews about "ddc"

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dealer.com CEO Wayne Pastore
Wayne Pastore
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Compensation could be better, Dealer really takes advantage of the fact that they are one of the only games in town(in 15 reviews)

  • "It used to 'be cool' to work at DDC, until they painted over those exact wors with some new corporate slogan(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ddc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place to begin SE journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Work/Life Balance Friendly, Caring and Helpful People

    Cons

    With Cox into picture DDC culture is changing

    Dealer.com2019-05-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with Awesome People, But Be Prepared to Grind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SEO Analyst in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Awesome Co-Workers (the one thing I miss about working at DDC. A real eclectic, fun-loving group of people) - Decent Benefits for BTV Market - Lots of Perks in the Burlington Office (On-Site Gym, Indoor Tennis Court/Basketball Court, Crossfit Equipment, Yoga Studio, Subsidized Local Food, Two Cafes, On-site Massages, etc.) - If you love cars, you get to live in the automotive industry day-in and day-out

    Cons

    - Workload was massive and the client-load was unmanageable. It was a constant grind. A 40 hr work week was unobtainable if all monthly deliverables were to be completed fully and on-time. Lower level management was understanding of the constraints and tried to help, which was appreciated, but at the end of the day, we were arguably the best SEO team in the industry, the Sales team was effective in increasing... business, and it was just a total grind trying to supply the demand. - Pay is low (especially in comparison to larger markets and given the workload) - Difficult to take PTO because of the workload. - Beginning to lose the culture/vibe that made DDC the best place to work in VT (transitioning from start-up/community vibe to corporate vibe at a quick pace) - Upper management didn't seem in-tune with the SEO department, beyond the sales and churn figures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    SEO Managers - Keep doing the great work you've been doing all along, but check-in and have candid conversations with team members. Many long-term, valued analysts are burnt out and looking for a way out. Not because they dislike the team or SEO, but because the workload is not sustainable. Managed Services Leadership - Take a serious interest in the SEO department and the work that they do. Actually shadow an... Analyst for a day to understand how they operate, interact with clients, the difference they make, and then find a way to budget for the hiring of more Analysts. Top-notch people are leaving MS and the organization because the workload is massive, the stress is high, and at the end of the day, the reward is just not there.

    Show More
    Dealer.com2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Shell of its former self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dealer.com full-time

    Pros

    Decent PTO amount if you can take advantage of it, but most tech companies are going to an unlimited model now anyway

    Cons

    Where to start...oh yeah, right when Cox came around. The passion is gone, and seeing Autotrader's financials pull DDC down along with it is demoralizing. Cox single handedly changed or destroyed everything that made DDC successful in the first place - the people and their sense of purpose. The single most important indicator of a failing company is when good people walk out the door, a regular occurrence now.... The product is stale, the Autotrader/KBB overlap is inefficient and pointless, and we're this massive city-ship that is going against smaller competitors with the willingness and BALLS to say 'yes' to the client. Wonder how many engineering teams or account reps could be hired with the money they spend on Autotrader NBA and NASCAR sponsorship. The soul is gone, and when that happens, there is no point to anything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Outside of the original founders buying it back, it's a lost cause. So long as Atlanta continues to make decisions from 40-story buildings, what was once a wonderful scrappy Vermont company is on borrowed time.

    Dealer.com2018-01-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Hit or miss, but mostly miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dealer.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dealer.com does great work in the community - from promoting local artists, locally sourcing food, and sponsoring community events, Dealer has been a great promoter of Vermont's economy & community. However, they just laid off the director of CSR, so who knows how long that will last.

    Cons

    As far as a place to work. Dealer.com is a fantastic fit for entry level bros who want to talk about cool cars, golf, and compare how entitled they are. For adult professionals who value working and living in the real world, this place is a garbage heap. Management does not value the hard work that people put in, or recognize those who go above and beyond. If you aren't prepared to drink the ddc koolaid and applaud... & cheer at company wide meetings where executives walk through the door to blasting rock "music" and yelling "CRUSHING IT," you won't advance here, period. Additionally, morale is just about completely depleted, and closing the cafe and skimping out on the few employee perks we had hasn't helped.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why bother? They won't listen unless you stroke their egos. Honesty is lost on this company, better to get out while there are still some jobs to be got in Burlington.

    Dealer.com2017-08-27
  5. Helpful (5)

    "It used to be cooler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer.com full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For folks in Burlington, it's a solid place to land a job. Good pay, perks and people. Lots of bright and talented individuals that make great friends in and out of the office. Open work stations and environment. If you like tennis, there's a full court that is always open. Free parking too!

    Cons

    It used to 'be cool' to work at DDC, until they painted over those exact wors with some new corporate slogan. Lots of good people recently cut that helped build the company and the culture it was founded on. After two acquisitions, we were all placed in a sandbox together with some of our direct competitors and told to play nicely. It's been an interesting integration process to say the least!

    Advice to Management

    Bring back some real excitement and motivation to the company! Mark Bonfigli (original CEO) and Dean Evans (CMO) used to bring the energy to a company meeting, we'd make the walls shake but that left with their departure. It's like we were all blowing up a HUGE team balloon but then management lost hold of it and it quietly deflated as founders departed and we were left to deal with the after-party comedown.... Management needs to step up and take over and get everyone to blow up that same team balloon in a concerted effort again.

    Show More
    Dealer.com2017-08-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Small Part of Huge Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer.com

    Pros

    DDC still has good benefits. Work with smart, generous, aggressive people.

    Cons

    Lots of challenges right now! Dealer.com's been acquired 2x since 2013. The founders of the company left and it’s now owned by the huge Atlanta based corporation Cox. But they clearly don’t understand or value the brand they bought. Turnover in customer service is crazy right now (also true with other departments). Pay is way below market value. Few ways to move up in your career. Some internal platforms are... broken and there's no one to fix them. It's hard to find someone to answer a question. It's hard to do everyday work. In my department - we’re understaffed, can’t keep interns, have no budget. When I hear from them, my managers seem overworked and powerless. There is basically no plan. NOT fun times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Teach your people managers how to manage people. Invest in retaining and developing your talent. Invest in DDC.

    Dealer.com2016-08-27
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Was great, now a corporate behemoth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, VT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Burlington VT is a great place to work/live, nice gym on site, can move fairly quickly within company but will still be hamstrung by middle management.

    Cons

    DDC has undergone two acquisitions, and it shows. We've lost almost all of the founders (they made it, can't blame them) and are left with a skeleton crew that many suspect to only be involved still as part of the acquisition contract. The workplace is more apt for someone who wants to play it safe and work in a slow-moving environment than someone seeking future growth and an innovative workplace. The impact of the... acquisitions may be lost on newer hires but is apparent to anyone who's been there for a couple of years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Protect the DDC culture as best you can.

    Dealer.com2016-06-25
  8. Helpful (4)

    "3.5/5.0 is very accurate, but more so 4.0 in the past and 3.0 today IMO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Advisor in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, open and tech savvy environment with fun young, coworkers. Gym, masseuse, chiropractor on site you name it. Organic cafes, beer fridays and community presence. If you are from VT you know DDC! Pay is on-par or higher end for BTV especially if you've been around a few years, may not be if you've just started but they do promote rather quickly. Business is booming, which means job security. Very... little micro-management or evaluation of KPI oddly enough while I was there, a good and a bad. Definitely the best middle-management I've worked with by far. Most coworkers crush it, we play sports together and they get the job done. Many still go above and beyond for you, and then you have a drink with them after. They treat people well and treat people like they should. Overall a fun environment!

    Show More

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? It's always been very chaotic and the work load insane however in more of it's startup days before the buy out everything was possible as long as you had a good idea or reasoning behind it. Employees had the freedom to excel and were incentivized for their hard work including quarterly and annual bonuses. Not so much anymore. Granted that it's no longer a 600 people company when I first... started, it's actually 1200 internally at DDC and more like 55000 with Cox Enterprises. Although visually it looks the same, the term people are afraid to acknowledge is "corporate" as DDC got bought out not once but twice recently, it's become increasingly so in its work function. There's become more "no"s than "yes". And it's when corporate policy or politics gets involved, hindering talented individuals from moving up, or doing a stellar job and being recognized, where good talents goes away. Not to mention burn out. We always had a high churn rate, but everyone moved on up internally, a win for DDC. Although DDC is still booming, we are starting to see more churn externally. The scalability is also a word of caution as the digital marketing business is booming, and there is money in auto. Just check out NADA. However car dealers are not the most rational or pleasant to work with and have unrealistic expectations. Without being able to manage the chaos, we may lose some big clients including OEMs. Clients see Cox as a all-in-one solution, which it really isn't, at least not this point in time, integration with other sister companies and new product development has always been slow for clients and everyone in software operates independently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire the best talent, you do have that option still, pay them well, train them well and let them crush it. Fix products first before rolling out others and work on a true full integration of cox auto products.

    Dealer.com2016-04-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good Software Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dealer.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    [Disclaimer: I have a job in "Engineering". I can't speak for life in other parts of the organization.] There are great opportunities and great people at DDC. It's a great place to land for a few years.

    Cons

    Compensation could be better, Dealer really takes advantage of the fact that they are one of the only games in town. The recruiting process was clumsy and nearly resulted in me passing on the offer and then leaving the company after discovering that the job wasn't what I was looking for.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people! I love my job, the people that I work with, and the company that I work for, but I always keep my eyes peeled for new opportunities as I know I could make 50% more if I moved out of town. Cost of living in BTV isn't low compared to many places that pay better.

    Dealer.com2016-03-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Just fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dealer.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's lots of opportunity to reframe your ideas about yourself professionally. Also, there's lots of opportunity to learn how to fit daily exercise and healthy eating habits into your life. Further, a wide variety of people work there and there are little cliques for everyone, just like any other employer of that size. A postive attitude and being honest with yourself will take you far at DDC as well as in any... other job you have.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to work a little harder to hear the signal in the noise and then double check that you understand it. There's a lot going on there and for people with stamina and resilience it can be intrinsically rewarding.

    Dealer.com2014-11-25
Found 15 reviews