Dean Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Dean Foods Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
21%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Dean Foods CEO Eric Beringause
Eric Beringause
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits, you can wear jeans everyday(in 43 reviews)

  • "It was your typical large company as far as fair pay and benefits(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Managers and Supervisors all work long hours to get their work done - it is expected of them; there is no 8 hour day(in 24 reviews)

  • "Unrealistic Expectations by Upper Management(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Order selector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dean Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good money . Money. Money .money money. That's about it

    Cons

    Long hours. Not organized . Small warehouse . No moving up . ...

    Dean Foods2019-08-20
  2. "Could pay more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Driver 

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You're your own boss on daily route

    Cons

    Low pay for more work

    Dean Foods2019-09-30
  3. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dean Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance when available

    Cons

    Older company, has not adapted newer benefits

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade systems

    Dean Foods2019-09-28
  4. "Was a great place to work but not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant 

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I had a 10+ year career at Dean Foods and enjoyed most of it. It was your typical large company as far as fair pay and benefits. I enjoyed working with the people at the local level. Decent work / life balance.

    Cons

    The Corporate team continues to centralize and outsource many functions and cuts costs by not investing in their plants.

    Dean Foods2019-09-27
  5. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in City of Industry, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with great people, a lot of opportunities to grow. Competitive salaries, good benefits with a bonus program.

    Cons

    I didn’t really see a downside for working for this company.

    Dean Foods2019-09-18
  6. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Filler Operator in Greeley, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are no pros.

    Cons

    Makes you work Ot. 13 hours a day. Local Management doesn’t care about employees time. Machinery breaks down everyday. Corporate doesn’t put money into fixing things.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They are the ones that are out on the production floor every day.

    Dean Foods2019-10-13
  7. "Big Trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASR in Franklin, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was given a company car with gas card

    Cons

    Went from a sales role to a customer service role.

    Dean Foods2019-10-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They are laying off stay away .."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dean Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is none literally you won't be working here long

    Cons

    They hire new drivers even though they know they are laying off and closing . :( It's horrible what they are doing to drivers.

    Dean Foods2019-10-01
  9. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture was great. People were great. Work life balance was manageable.

    Cons

    Management drove company into the ground. Good, tenured people left in mass droves. Company unlikely to turnaround financially.

    Dean Foods2019-09-08
  10. "Dean foods happy former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Engineer II in City of Industry, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dean Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hours great people let me run my show

    Cons

    Company is loosing revenue and cut backs started

    Advice to Management

    Rework deal with drivers and hold people accountable

    Dean Foods2019-08-19
Found 427 reviews