Debenhams Part-time Sales Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Part-time Sales Advisor

Debenhams Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
309 Ratings
  1. "good training and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Reviewer in Somerset, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great team, good pay i enjoyed it

    Cons

    none it was enjoyable

    Debenhams2019-07-17
  2. "Visual stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Stylist in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many shifts nice team friendly

    Cons

    No work life balance expect you to cover with very short notice

    Debenhams2019-06-18
  3. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Newry, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, varied work, not often boring

    Cons

    pay is extremely low, management are constantly flustered and push selling debt to people far far too much!

    Debenhams2019-01-20
  4. "Salees Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant and Home Department Floor Assistant in Newry, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and easy to get to from Ulsterbus Depot.

    Cons

    One "manager" made made my life hell on earth, he changed my rota THEN had audacity to do so IN FRONT OF A CUSTOMER.

    Advice to Management

    Fire that waste of space. What does he do anyway apart from harass members of staff.

    Debenhams2016-03-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Debenhams part-time

    Pros

    Culture and team and great work culture

    Cons

    ideas to fruition,sometimes management wants things to be done their way

    Advice to Management

    Management has to be proactive and not to stick to the pre determined goals

    Debenhams2014-01-30
  6. "Debenhams review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Ipswich, England

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were friendly, security were always great

    Cons

    Managers were a little over controlling

    Debenhams2019-12-11
  7. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training, Colleagues, Career progression. Package.

    Cons

    Non really, overall it was a very good place to work

    Advice to Management

    Management were always positive even in challenging times.

    Debenhams2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Christmas Sales Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Majority of the staff here are lovely with a real sense of friendship with the people you talk to. An hour lunch is also good. Good benefits if you know how to get them (I don’t know how to get them myself but I know it’s a good discount!). The job itself is relatively easy and managers will generally change your shift if requested (well most of the time). Customers are usually polite but you do get the occasional... few though this is true in any job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some supervisors are a pain and think they’re better than you and have favourites while others are the best. Just depends. Permanent staff can look down on you and it can be an us vs them situation. Staff turnover is high and it does feel like you’re dispensable. Training is poor too but it is a relatively simple job although some new temps don’t know what their doing (understandably) and so don’t do the work... properly and it is left up to staff who have been there a couple of weeks longer. There can be conflict between staff too as, with the amount of staff that there is, there’s a clash of personalities. Shift patterns are random too. A lot of staff have uni/college/sixth form on a Monday and are working until 10 on Sunday. There’s only so many times you can ask for it to be changed and I’ve only ever not been on a late once (and even that I requested!). That does depend on who is doing the rota...the supervisor that does ours doesn’t like me very much hence all the lates.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train staff! One staff member not being trained makes more work for everyone else. When staff are trained, sometimes new staff are trained before staff that have been there longer so maybe a bit of organisation is needed ? I feel there are also double standards as far as supervisors are concerned as some are quick to tell you off when you say hello to a colleague but they stand around and chat to favourites. This... being said, the majority of staff are wonderful and don’t get acknowledged enough! I’ve only ever had one supervisor say ‘Thank You’ to me while others barks orders and I’m pretty sure don’t know our names. Those that do their jobs well that often don’t get recognised or rewarded while those that don’t get all the attention from supervisors and managers and don’t get reprimanded because they are well liked amongst management.

    Show More
    Debenhams2019-12-08
  9. "Great fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Buyer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The old management were retailers at heart who knew what to do which was all spoilt by the new management put in place in 2018

    Cons

    The new management which didn’t understand UK retail was changing and didn’t have a strategy adequate to adapté.

    Advice to Management

    Change fast!

    Debenhams2019-12-08
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lovely work team, make good friends

    Cons

    - management can get angry about cards when out of hands

    Debenhams2019-12-08
Found 1477 reviews