Debevoise & Plimpton "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Debevoise & Plimpton Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Debevoise & Plimpton Presiding Partner Michael Blair
Michael Blair
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "The firm values people more than most large law firms do and will cut on frills to avoid layoffs(in 9 reviews)

  • "Amazing, great people, amazing work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting work, everyone is generally pretty nice. I am happy with my choice.

    Cons

    Long hours (but that is biglaw for you)

    Debevoise & Plimpton2019-02-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "BD Coordinator Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of OT, but it is time and a half allowing for six figure job.

    Cons

    LONG hours, multiple assignments, tight deadlines, stressful.

    Debevoise & Plimpton2019-06-14
  3. "Excellent firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counsel in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Extremely smart attorneys, great client service, training at one of the world's best law firms

    Cons

    Difficult to make partner, very long hours

    Debevoise & Plimpton2019-02-20
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time

    Pros

    Intelligent lawyers, hardworking culture, great firm pride.

    Cons

    long hours, some odd-ball partners.

    Advice to Management

    Foster a more "fun" environment.

    Debevoise & Plimpton2017-11-16
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time

    Pros

    Great people; top-notch work and clients; great staff departments; good office location; plenty of training opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours (consistent with "Big Law"); inconsistent work flow at times

    Debevoise & Plimpton2017-11-03
  6. "Good for a law firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very intelligent and friendly people. Large office space for a NY firm.

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, and work under a lot of time pressure

    Debevoise & Plimpton2017-03-14
  7. "Better among big law firms in NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time

    Pros

    People are nice and pleasant to work with, generally respectful of your vacation/weekends, good mentoring efforts

    Cons

    It is a big NY law firm -- long hours, high stress, lots of doc review/due diligence

    Debevoise & Plimpton2016-03-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came in with experience but I did learn a few new things. Coworkers were nice and I did walk away with some new friends.

    Cons

    Not a great working environment, always short handed and long hours. management doesn't talk to anyone always behind closed doors in office comes out every hour to ask "any new bills any money $$!" Very impersonal and cold. Only nice to leaders. There is no HR for admin staff, no one cares about you. Always new people coming and going. Staff is unhappy and counting their days.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff not only when you need us. Make people feel secure in their jobs.

    Debevoise & Plimpton2015-09-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to begin your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, highly motivated people; great place to find mentors and learn from the best in the business; real emphasis on pro bono work; very collegial culture; great compensation

    Cons

    long hours and a challenging work/life balance; difficult path to partnership; not a place where people speak very openly and show a lot of personality.

    Advice to Management

    continue to try to recruit a diverse group, not just in terms of gender/race/ethnicity but in terms of experiences and backgrounds.

    Debevoise & Plimpton2015-03-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "it pays the bills...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative - Special Dept  in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debevoise & Plimpton

    Pros

    The culture if very welcoming at least in the department I was working in. Its very comfortable and the supervisor I had was the best. Dealing with HR was a pain, the work was easy and environment supportive for learning new tasks. our department was like a little family.

    Cons

    long hours, and when they brought in an "efficiency expert" & changed management, it was no good. Enforced a stricter code of hours and changed work responsibilities. many people left since. Ive heard the rep of the firm is white shoe.

    Advice to Management

    only to HR of staff: they are cold, dismissive and not engaging with employees. one wants to go in there and get out as quick as possible. personality? none. attitude? lots.

    Debevoise & Plimpton2008-09-29
Found 13 reviews