Decathlon Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Decathlon CEO Michel Aballea
Michel Aballea
655 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "working hours - not a healthy work life balance(in 37 reviews)

  • "Low salary, not having a good system(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RETAIL SUPPLIER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    entrepreneurial culture, freedom to innovate solutions

    Cons

    Nothing in particular , everything was super

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2020-03-14
  2. "Built territory from 5 million to 25"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in Westfield, IN
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Decathlon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have the best work ethic in any business

    Cons

    Sometime I care to much about my customers

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2020-03-10
  3. "Great benefits and pay but concerned for sustainabilit and ethics of product sourcing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Pay and Benefits are great

    Cons

    Unfamiliar with where all the cheap products come from.

    Decathlon2019-12-08
  4. "A good work culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager 

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young team Growth Potential Growing company and the retail job market is on boom

    Cons

    Difficult mentorship and no proper structue in india

    Decathlon2019-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "if you want to retire somewhere without pressure, then this is a good place to go"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pros: - doing sports together - employees can decide what to do "Pros"- you know what I meant: - you can make mistakes; you can miss deadlines; you can fail your missions - you can register the same training over and over again and no one cares - you always hear the good news even you see something going wrong - the easy way to get to the mgr position is to talk and challenge others - lots of meetings and people hug each other; what a warm and supportive group... and follow-ups,results ? who cares - this company must be loaded because they spent more time partying, travelling than doing

    Cons

    Allow me to use Decathlon way to comment " no cons... absolutely not. all positive "

    Decathlon2019-04-25
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Decathlon part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with

    Cons

    Can Improve their salary structure.

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-09-26
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Store leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time

    Pros

    Company culture Management based on human Future perspective Diversity of jobs

    Cons

    Salary Necessity to have the capacity to make the difference between personnal and professional life

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-08-13
  8. "IT support engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time

    Pros

    Colleague are nice to work with, young, energetic, willing to help others. You have big opportunity to lead something

    Cons

    The process is not very clear sometimes

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-07-17
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Unconcerned with realities of customer expectations, retail, and employment norms in the US."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Decathlon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some limited flexibility in setting own schedule. Employee discount makes the already great deals incredible.

    Cons

    Upper management is more concerned with self advancement than performing their roles adequately or even competently. Complete lack of team spirit among management with several of the members hustling to simply make themselves look good. English skills among upper management are middling to poor for a team spearheading a retail expansion to the US. This led to significant lost time due to inability to communicate clearly, and a feeling of inferiority American employees, as conversations among non native English speakers invariably defaulted to French or Spanish. Constant introduction of new top priorities created lack of focus and progress for the entire organization. All decision making is at the whim of the CEO who provides no context to his outlandish demands, nor will he speak with anyone but a handful of the expatriate management team. This is completely at odds with their often stated ideal of a "flat" organization, where everyone is supposed to feel empowered to take the actions they feel will make a difference.

    Continue reading
    Decathlon2018-07-03
  10. "Product Specialist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Decathlon part-time

    Pros

    1. Flexible schedule 2. large room to develop 3. Lots of opportunities

    Cons

    1. Low wages 2. The manager is not sympathetic 3. Sometimes, have to work to 12 am

    Decathlon2018-03-13
Found 961 reviews