Decisive Analytics Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Decisive Analytics Corporation Reviews

Updated December 3, 2016
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John S. Donnellon
24 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Most innovative company I have ever worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You are offered the opportunity to develop the most innovative technologies across many areas. Junior hires (and even interns) work on some of the most difficult problems from day one. The team is highly collaborative and multi-disciplinary. Employees owners have the opportunity to work on many projects and work on the most in-demand technology areas: cloud computing, big data analytics, natural language processing, and image/video processing. To stay on top of the latest in academia, the company regularly partners with some of the best universities and academics in the world. Employees owners are encouraged to submit their results to the best conferences (i.e., ACL, CVPR, CHI) and, if accepted, will pay for you to attend and present. Everyone is encouraged to generate new ideas and submit them through a proposal process to get funding to build solutions.

    In addition to the technical pros, the company has an "open-book" policy where the financial details of the company are shared with everyone. The CEO is frank and honest with employees and has an open door policy. Problems are dealt with head on.

    Cons

    You will be asked to split your time across more than one (sometimes several) projects at once. For those that desire to work on one big project this can be challenging. Due to the nature of the work, there is a nearly continuous proposal cycle although those that participate (and especially succeed) are rewarded. Because it is difficult to find the right people to do this work there are bursts where work-life balance is a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue streamlining processes- software development, proposal writing, collaboration, etc. As the company grows do not let the typical bureaucracies that plague large companies and stifle innovation creep in.


  2. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    I have been an employee for Decisive Analytics for several years. Working for Decisive Analytics has given me a lot of inspiration. I’ve been on jobs where I was searching for meaning, but from day one, Decisive Analytics has surrounded me with stress free environment and excelling opportunities, as a result, giving me great leadership and an occupation in which I can believe in. Furthermore, with the skill sets I possess, Decisive Analytics has given me the opportunity to make a difference with team leads who inspires me daily to communicate my visions and feedback. One of the greatest attributes of Decisive Analytics, the company takes a genuine interest in people as individuals. Leadership takes the time to talk to their employees about their hopes, dreams, and interests. Leadership will encourage employees to change jobs if they must or seek out positions within or outside the company that best suits their passion and skills.

    Cons

    I wish I lived closer to the company to decrease my commute time

    Advice to Management

    Increase Tuition Reimbursement

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for the great feedback! We are so glad you are inspired as a DAC employee and that you see that the company’s leadership is genuinely interested in employees as individuals! We are glad ... More


  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Decisive Analytics has maintained a great small company culture throughout it's 20 years. Management is dedicated to both customer and employee satisfaction while having some fun in the process!

    Cons

    When working for a government contractor, there is always a chance that you could lose a contract and therefore lose your position. However, we do a great job at trying to place employees in other roles.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback! You have perfectly captured how we do things ‘the DAC way” in your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, employee-owned, great atmosphere and environment.

    Cons

    Nothing specific comes to mind.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thanks for the positive feedback!


  6. "Best company I have ever worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Decisive Analytics is an amazing company to work for. They really care about their employees and it truly feels like a family. The benefits are amazing but it's all the other "little things" they do for their employees that make a huge difference.

    Cons

    There are really no cons.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    We are glad you enjoy being part of the DECISIVE ANALYTICS family!


  7. "Best company I've worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    DAC is the best company I've worked for. Their employees are smart, dedicated, and caring. The company is employee-owned and everyone is committed to helping each other succeed and work as a team. Work-life balance is great with flexible hours. There are several social events to celebrate our success and you feel valued as an employee. Because of the small size of the company, you're able to work on several projects in different areas allowing for variety as well as professional growth.

    Cons

    Typical woes of being a government contractor and having to rely on winning contracts for work. Nothing unusual for the industry. Also, because of the size of the company, there is little room for upward mobility unless someone above you moves on. You'll learn a lot in your job and be rewarded for your hard work, but it's not really suited for "climbing the ladder" if that's important to you

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in your employees and doing great work

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Wow, we are so glad to hear DECISIVE ANALYTICS Corporation is the best company you have ever worked for and that you feel valued as an employee! What a great compliment to our employee-owned ... More


  8. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great company to work for. Work is challenging and rewarding. Growing company, but has maintained small company feel.

    Cons

    As a growing small-medium size company, the industry can be challenging.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and for your long-term service! We are glad you like our small-company feeling, which we believe helps set us apart!


  9. "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, amazing benefits, phenomenal work-life balance program. Employees are treated very well and supported in nearly every way. All opinions are heard and considered and all books are open - and no questions remain unanswered.

    Cons

    The same thing that sometimes handicaps all smaller companies also exists at Decisive Analytics. While there are some advancement potential - many positions do not have additional ladders on the career ladder available - its not a con per se - but its just the nature of smaller organizations that do not require lots of management layers which limits upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Remap the plan to achieve the vision, better train and empower employees to make knowledgeable educated capture management decisions.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    We are happy to know you feel employees are treated very well and are supported at DECISIVE ANALYTICS! Small companies do face challenges regarding career ladders, and we aim to provide unique ... More


  10. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Decisive Analytics Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Decisive Analytics is a wonderful company to work for! Great people, atmosphere and team oriented environment. This really makes a huge difference!

    Cons

    It is harder to make your way up the ladder because it is a small but growing business.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We agree, DECISIVE ANALYTICS Corporation is a wonderful company and we are glad you are on our team! We understand your comment on it being harder to make your way up ... More


  11. "Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    One of the best companies I've worked for. Major pros: Annual Team Building Trips, where the company would pay for employee room and flights, provided allowances sometimes during our stay. Company annual holiday parties were always a blast. All around great environment between their values, how to treat their employees, etc.

    Cons

    I would say, maybe pay... but it's been a while since I've been with the company and this could have improved. They definitely made up for it with other perks, but I can't think of anything else.

    Decisive Analytics Corporation Response

    Oct 28, 2016 – Manager, Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to know that when you look back on your time with DECISIVE ANALYTICS, you consider it one of the best companies you have ever worked for!



Showing 29 of 31 reviews
Reset Filters