Defense Contract Audit Agency Reviews | Glassdoor

Defense Contract Audit Agency Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Defense Contract Audit Agency CEO David L Norquist
David L Norquist
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Management doesn’t involve Auditors in decision making(in 30 reviews)

  • "My office doesn't do "audits", but CYA(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Auditor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, ongoing training

    Cons

    Intense learning Learning curves Advancement opportunities Nepotism

    Advice to Management

    Provide training when needed.

    Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency

    Pros

    Work/life balance Pay for certifications and degrees Telework Benefits Pensions/TSP Most of these pros can be found in other agencies as well.

    Cons

    DFW area Your experience depends on what Supervisor you get. This is the worst job I've ever had. They will try to throw you under the bus every chance they get. Management doesn't take responsibility for anything. They are the laziest I've ever seen. Most dont even want to be a supervisor but were forced into it, which makes it bad for everyone. The 'favorites' have a completely different set of rules than...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wise up before complaints get filed. Get out your office and more involved with your team. Be more supportive and allow us to help in the decision making. Stop backstabbing your auditor's and admit when you are wrong. Branch Managers stop allowing your supervisors to get away with murder. Right is right and wrong is wrong. Dont force people into supervision. Everyone doesn’t have that skillset.

    Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-06-15
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Auditor in Los Angeles, CA

      I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      There is a lot to learn and keep yourself busy.

      Cons

      Work can be tedious. Supervision is not always the best - there is room for improvement

      Advice to Management

      Focus on improving auditor skills by encouraging supervisors to work closely with auditors, everyday.

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-05-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Micromanaged"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flex schedule, pension, good vacation amount allotted

      Cons

      Micromanaged by higher management, dreary atmosphere

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-05-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Auditor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Auditor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, telework, growth, coworkers, training

      Cons

      Lack of work, technology, bonuses

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-05-05
    • "Job is great, leadership leaves some things to be desired"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Management Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers are great people, job is an awesome job!

      Cons

      Leadership does not help any non auditor grow professionally. Support staff are treated as "step children"

      Advice to Management

      Treat all employees the same with regards to professionalism and development

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not the most fun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Auditor in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Stable, work from home. Wonderful training and learning opportunities.

      Cons

      Can be slow or boring work depending on the office you work out of. Poor communication from management.

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-04-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Entry level"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Auditor in Grand Prairie, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Defense Contract Audit Agency

      Pros

      Job security, good nonmonetary benefits

      Cons

      Slow and outdated computer systems, micromanaged

      Advice to Management

      Upgrade IT systems, trust employees to do their jobs

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-03-28
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Office Automation Clerk in Alexandria, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team to work for friendly and welcoming. In between working you get to have a few laughs with your team. Pretty quiet office otherwise.

      Cons

      Traffic getting to work.

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-03-09
    • Helpful (4)

      "Lack of Transparency and Micromanagement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Officer 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Defense Contract Audit Agency full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I enjoyed the comradery with my team, Branch Chiefs, and the resident/non-resident faculty. At DCAI, the Director made great strides in improving the morale of the organization.

      Cons

      I believe that the lack of transparency with some hires, which created a lack of trust of the DCAA leadership. My supervisor was a micromanager...and she was more concerned with process than product. DCAA did not provide me with an opportunity to provide them feedback during my out processing, so I chose leave it here.

      Defense Contract Audit Agency2019-03-17
    Found 159 reviews